We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in a beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Donny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Donny
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in De Panne
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Nice brand new gymnasium, delicious food, we enjoyed our stay. I don't understand the review about the smal swimmingpool: is is a great swimmingpool with sauna, turkisch bath and a spa center. Really the place to be! We will come back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruppert_robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geert V, Manager at Hotel Donny, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We whish to thank you for your recent stay in Hotel Donny, as well as for sharing your opinion you had about it through this website.

All remarks are handled with the proper attention and care to aid our search for perfection and greater quality and service in Hotel Donny.

We hope to welcome you again in our family Hotel after the big changes and renovations we are about to start (of which also some in the pool and spa area), as your comparing opinions might be of great value to us.

Until next time.

Kindest regards,

The team of Hotel Donny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    96
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
66
136
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We came out of the swimming pool with a lot of chlorine in our bathing suit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hartog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geert V, Manager at Hotel Donny, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear,
Our pool is certified with the VLAREM-II conditions, which strongly indicate and stipulate the necessary amount of chlorine that has to be present. This amout is checked every day (also obliged by the same VLAREM-II). Reports of the ministry of public health Belgium (which you can request at all times and which are continiously shown in our pool) indicate optimal water quality.

We are sorry if this precisely calibrated and controled amount of chlorine felt/smelled/... as if it was too much for you. Nevertheless, hoping to welcome you once again in our hotel,

Greetings.
Geert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed at a dependance of hotel Donny, Villa Escale. Big rooms with hotel service and breakfast downstairs.
Right at the beach, superb views, jugendstil style house, great and clean big rooms, everything you need for a romantic getaway. You can use the facilities of the hotel at a 3 minute walk. Truely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuusWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrilenyo en centroeuropa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Great breakfast and dinner, proposed weekend packages are good. Great swimingpool, sauna and hamman. If you stay in the hotel the pics of the web are not the same of the room you will get, I was a little dissapointed on this one, but they are not bad either.
Beware of the drink prices you get if you have dinner there, they are abusive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

Stayed at The Donny for one night only in July as part of a quick trip to Belgium/France. It was a bit tricky to get to due to the one-way streets. Although we could see the sign on the roof getting to it was a bit of a problem.

Parking was not easy as although there were many spaces the hotel was obviously very busy.

The room was fine - very clean and quiet as it overlooked the side of the hotel and the town. But why no shower curtain or screen? Water all over the floor as a result.

We had to have dinner in the hotel as part of the terms for the booking but it was fine, although service was slow. Breakfast had plenty of choice. Being able to sit outside was very pleasant (this was during the warm weather at the end of July).

Overall we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akersloot
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

This hotel is located in De Panne (Belgium) nearby Plopsaland. Beatyfully located near the beach and with the tram in front of the door, without any noice from it ! Free parking facilities on ground and with a Sanocenter with small swimmingpool. Nice reception and both a good elevator and nice wide staircase. Restaurant works with package deal; a predefined 3-course meal for both parents and children. We stayed for two days and only the breakfast and the dessert was well. All first and second courses were served after being on a hotplate to long (dryed out, very salty and overcooked). Breakfast is very good; freshly baked bread, nice selection of cheese and meats, fresh fruit, yogurt, serials. a big contrast with the evening meals.

We had a familyroom with a separate room for the children with their own bathroom (actually two ajoining rooms with a door in between). Nice room, spacious on the 3rd floor of the building with balconies in the parentroom. Pro's: Very clean due to good cleaning staff. Nice beds and good television. Spacious. Well equiped bathroom. Con's: Strange mix of styles in the room (both modern and with some astec element). Shaving mirror had no light and was placed very high (>1,70 mtrs). shampoo in sachets that were very hard to open. Curtains had no stop and were a bit short, so daylight entered the room in th early morning. Room was a bit noisy from the hallway and neighboring rooms.

  • Liked — Location towards Plopsaland
  • Disliked — Dinner in the Restaurant (manditory in weekend with package)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Panne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis De Panne
Hotel Ibis De Panne
#2 of 15 in De Panne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ara Dune Hotel
Ara Dune Hotel
#3 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Select
Hotel Villa Select
#4 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Escale
Hotel Escale
#7 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel
Parkhotel
#10 of 15 in De Panne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donny

Property: Hotel Donny
Address: Donnylaan 17, De Panne 8660, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Panne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in De Panne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Donny 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Family-hotel close to the beach, swimming pool, Spa, Fitness-sauna-turkish Bath,cosy restaurant, Quietly located Lovely destination for a holiday at the Belgian Coast during which you can enjoy a relaxing massage as well as a delicious 3-courses menu, made from seasonal products from the region.With 4 meeting rooms, it's an ideal location for seminars and meetings.--Specialties Hospitality and Service, Wellness-Spa, Swimming pool-Sauna-Turkish Bath-Fitness, Restaurant, Relaxing, Seminars, Close to the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Donny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing