We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice spatious rooms”
Review of Hostellerie Le Fox

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Panne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostellerie Le Fox
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice spatious rooms”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is very well equipped. Slippers, bathrobe, even a nice manicureset, soap... The coorridor to the room and elevator are small an dthe rooms are with carpet. But we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: As I could see all rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night.which was more then enough. It's located very close to the beach and the rooms are spacious and have nice washrooms. Good detail was an umbrella in the room and lots of information about the town.
However for a hotel that claims to be at a four star level there were lots of down points. Like the very tiny garage boxes, an elevator that is so small you feel like you're in a closet, no airconditioning in the rooms.
But the worst of all was the service. Very uninterested staff that did absolutely nothing to make our stay pleasant . The restaurant was all reserved and when we asked if they could recommend any other places, they hardly even answered. When we checked out in the morning, nobody bothered to even ask if we had a pleasant stay, even a Goodmorning seemed to much trouble.
I won't recommend this place , there are lots of hotels in this town that you can choose from and it won't be difficult to find one with a more friendly staff ;)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked one night and dinner for two here during the Easter Holidays in 2012.
The room was large with a bouble bed and very comfortable. Bath room luxurious with plenty of room for two people (2 sinks). It is located a side street between the main (coast) road and beach. Cars can be parked underneath the boulevard at special garages owned by the hotel.
(you must get a key card to access the underground parking.
Don't get confused with the Bruges location!! De Panne is 40 miles(60 km) away from Brugge.

We booked a dinner as a package deal and the 5 course menu, which comes with wines and a glass of bubbles to start with. The service was excellent they were there at the right time without being intrusive. Food was great, the chef does show his talents in preparing the dishes and using top notch ingredients. The wines were great and included in the deal. More surprisingly even the still water Spa bottles were included (nice detail, as many restaurants charge a fortune for water). We especially liked the Texel lamb dish adn the langustine in bacon.
Sure worth a revisit during summer.

Room Tip: Although there is an elevator, the stairs to the bed rooms are steep and narrow. Also the velevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Super7NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaventem, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel part of Hostellerie Le Fox (for the ** restaurant: see our review over there) claims to be at 4 star level. But it's hard to keep up appearances! The elevator is tiny and has the looks of some museum item. The bathroom supplies are small, not very luxurious as one would expect in this hotel category, and it's hardly readable on the bottles to see which is which. The hairdryer is almost useless. The flatscreen TV should easily be twice the size. And breakfast is not up to the ** standards of the restaurant.
On the plus side there's the location, the terrace/balcony with a beautiful (be it lateral) seaview, the closed underground parking (although in tiny boxes leaving you with hardly enough space to open one door), the spacy bedroom and lots of nice details (an umbrella, some goodies from the chef,...).
Overall it's not the kind of hotel you'd choose for staying two weeks in the summer holiday, but for a weekend stay at the Belgian coast and a wonderful dinner without having to worry about a glass of wine too much, it's highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leysfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel is situated just a few metres from the sea front, between the beach and the main street, so access is great. We took the option 'Charme et Gastronomie' so the underground parking was included, otherwise at €10 per night it's very reasonable, and conveniently close.

Staff are very friendly and professional, all spoke good French with us however the English wasn't great. The restaurant is the main selling point of this place, with 2 starred chef Stéphane Buyens providing great 'package' options. Ours, along with most other guests it seemed, was the 5 course 'menu dégustation' includung aperitif and wines ith the meal.

The food was exceptional, the wines well matched, and the service great. hat was unexpected in such an establishment, however, was the size of the portions - massive!! Breakfast was also very good, with some top quality charcuterie, although the cheeses werent a patch on those served the nght before...

The rooms are comfy and spacious, however my one complaint, if you can call it that, is that the double room actually has two single beds (with single sheet and duvets, therefore nothing to hold them together) pushed together in the centre of the room. At these prices, this shouldnt happen. If it is unavoidable, it should at least be pointed out at reception.

Otherwise, I wholeheartedly recommend this as a luxury dining experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller-bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Panne hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis De Panne
Hotel Ibis De Panne
#2 of 15 in De Panne
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Select
Hotel Villa Select
#3 of 15 in De Panne
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Donny
Hotel Donny
#1 of 15 in De Panne
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 15 in De Panne
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Escale
Hotel Escale
#9 of 15 in De Panne
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cajou
Hotel Cajou
#7 of 15 in De Panne
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Le Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Fox

Property: Hostellerie Le Fox
Address: Walckierstraat 2, De Panne 8660, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Panne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in De Panne
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Le Fox 4*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing