We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cajou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cajou
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in De Panne
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed for two nights bed and breakfast, room was clean the bathroom was very modern and nice but the frosted door was a bit weird as the other person can see you slightly, breakfast was very nice, but all continental, would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya-jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Returned to the Hotel Cajou for an over night stop. Being Winter, the hotel was a lot quieter than when we last July (2012). As previously said, the hotel rooms were spotlessly clean but looking a bit tired and in need of a refurb. Given the current recession it is understandable that that there may be a reluctance to invest heavily in refurbishment.
The inclusive breakfast is continental in style but there were boiled eggs, bacon and omelette available to supplement the array of cheese and cold meats. Being buffet style you could eat as much as you wanted. Coffee & Tea was served at the table and refills were available.
All staff were pleasant and welcoming and remembered us from our last visit.
Found a nice little restaurant on the main street called the Le President. Had a great steak there served with the customary frittes. Prices were good and the service exceptional.
De Panne is a very quiet place during winter but everywhere was open. Although some of the restaurants were closed up for the winter there were many establishments open to get a meal.
Will continue to return to Hotel Cajou when we

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in July whilst visiting the battlefields of France & Belgium. Bedroom furnishings were a bit dated but clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful and hotel was close to the beach for walking.
In general we found De Panne very clean and well maintained. Although a number of establishments could speak english at a push I found it easier to converse in French albeit with a little limited vocabulary.
The hotel has a residents car park which helps as in street parking is somewhat restricted during the summer time.
We only stayed B&B which we found sufficient and varied enough to start the day. There are many restaurants on the main street where mussels and frites appear to be the staple.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have stayed in better hotels but it was central and close to the beach.
It badly needed updating and was a bit shabby in places.It was not as clean as I would have liked. The staff were friendly and the best thing was the breakfast buffet which was adequate. We managed to park nearby with no problem.

Room Tip: Im not sure there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed with a school party from the Bishops Stortford High School, July 9th to 13th 2012. The first thing Peter, the manager said to us was, and I quote his words exactly;
'Treat this hotel as your home for the next few days.'
Now I have stayed in a few hotels in my time, from 1 star to 5 star, but I have never met such a warm and friendly staff as this. Peter was an excellent host and his staff were genuine and accomodating. We asked Peter if it would be possible to provide a birthday cake for one of the children who celebrated his 12th birthday, and he rustled up a cake for 66 people in no time at all - nothing was too much trouble. The beds were fine, the water nice and hot, the rooms a wee bit cramped perhaps but this is not a 'swanky' hotel. The food was really good and there was plenty of it. The staff smiled and engaged warmly with the pupils under our care (I can imagine a very different sort of response in other hotels).
So I have awarded five stars because of the friendliness of the staff, the courtesy shown to our pupils, and I would certainly stay there in a private capacity without hesitation (in fact I will stay for a break over the summer).
ThankYou,
John Pearson-Phillips.
The Bishops Stortford High School.

Room Tip: Use a ground floor room as the stairs adjacent to the lift are a little cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_pearsonphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here before but wont be staying again, your made to feel guilty asking for a room, and found lots of cigarette nuds in my room, bathroom light didnt work and the television didnt either, very poor

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dagenamfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

The hotel needs thorough upgrading and updating; the room we stayed in was old and manky. I thought I smelt stale urine, but was thinking I was imagining things, but sure enough I found our toilet leaking..... The actual bathroom was as old, just like we were back in the 80's. Room itself wasnt much better, with bright fluorescent lamp lighting to spicy up the cozy atmosphere. Horrific blue carpet and beds that never seen new matresses since the aforementioned 80's. No duvets but old fashioned blankets.....Best part of the room were the numerous tvchannels (can you actually mention this has a highlight?). We did have a nice dinner in the hotel one night, although we didnt have a choice, it was a set menu, take it or leave it. Breakfast was ok, but there seemed to be a shortage on eggs and the next morning after 40 minutes all croisants were gone, so if you came after 8.30 you neither had a change of an egg nor croisants, which we found very strange...
It could be a lovely hotel and the staff is very friendly, but regarding the above faults we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazaHello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Panne hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis De Panne
Hotel Ibis De Panne
#2 of 15 in De Panne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Donny
Hotel Donny
#1 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Select
Hotel Villa Select
#4 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ara Dune Hotel
Ara Dune Hotel
#3 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Escale
Hotel Escale
#7 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cajou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cajou

Property: Hotel Cajou
Address: Nieuwpoortlaan 42, De Panne 8660, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Panne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in De Panne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cajou 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cajou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing