We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel very well situated in the Belgian Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Soll Cress Koksijde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Soll Cress Koksijde
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Koksijde
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel very well situated in the Belgian Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is excellent. Well situated at 300 m from the beach, accesible by car or by the famous "Kusttram", the tramway of the Belgian Coast. The price is reasonable, the rooms are very comfortable, the indoor swimming pool is good; there is a cost free private car park and the service is very nice. Included in the room price, there is a typical "belgian" buffet: boiled eggs, bread, butter, confiture, ham and cheese.
The only suggestion I would make to the management is to put a hair dryer in the room. As for the rest, the hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: In spite that the tram stops at midnight, it is better to have a back room, not one on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lopezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    67
    22
    14
    11
See reviews for
30
85
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk. UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I really can't believe I've awarded 5 stars to this property.

My wife and I decided to take my daughter and granddaughter to Belgium for a couple of days, mainly to pick up a few bottles of wine and to visit Plopsaland. We were working on a budget and really didn't want to spend too much.

We've stayed in this area many times before and really quite enjoy Belgium. Koksyde is approximately a 45min easy drive from Calais. There are several hotels in the 3* range in this area and we decided on the Soll Cress on this occasion, as they offered a reasonable price for a two bedroom room for the four of us.

The hotel is easily found on the main road with ample car parking either in the main car park, in the garden or on the side of the road.

The hotel is rather strange, and it is difficult to put a finger on how to describe it. The entrance is peculiar, with an old piano in the entrance and lots of old memorabilia around in the entrance, in the bar areas and reception. You could really describe it as a mismatch.. The original building has had modern extensions added to it over the years.

What struck us as amazing was the amount of work done by the family owners. They were everywhere all the time. The older mother at reception on arrival, simply handing over the room key with no formality. We were shown to our room which was in a separate house at the back of the hotel by one of the daughters. We weren't expecting this, we naturally thought the rooms were to be in the hotel. However, they were very clean, with a modern bathroom.

The bar, again unusual, with no real seating area around it, but the other daughter , who certainly seems to be the boss and spoke good fluent English was there to serve drinks. IN fact, she was very helpful, selling us tram tickets and explaining how they work. There was a good wifi signal in the hotel bar, but I never did find the correct passwords for accessing it in the rooms!

A very nice swimming pool, not that big, but very clean and warm. No towels provided, use them from the room. There were a lot of people and children using this facility.

We didn't eat Dinner at the hotel, but there was a three course menu available at around 25E. In fact eating out in Belgium and the cost of living seems expensive. Generally speaking I would say a three course evening meal in a restaurant starts at around 20E, with a bottle of wine around 23E.

The tram stop is just outside the hotel with very simple access to either De Panne or Koksyde.

I took the granddaughter to Plopsaland. We went on the tram which stops just at the entrance. There were huge queues at the ticket offices and I was sorely tempted to go back home. It was 30E per person to get in which I considered to be expensive. I think every Belgian and his daughter must have been queuing to get in, but it was a nice day and we persevered. I am so glad we did. Again, although generally expensive (Ice Creams £3 and Hot Dogs 6E) it was clean, inviting and well organised. Lots of rides you just don't see elsewhere. We had a very enjoyable day.

Breakfast was disappointing in comparison to other hotels I have used in the area. Simply. a basket of fresh rolls on your table and a small table with fruit juices, boiled eggs, cereals and croissants and a fresh fruit salad and yogurts. Tea and coffee served to the tables.

I think the hotel was mostly full.

So, back to the hotel. Why would I give 5* to a hotel with a muddlesome entrance. With a small bar area, with a limited breakfast selection, with rooms in a annexe, with a swimming pool and spa without towels. With an annexe room with an uncomfortable hard mattress.

I can forgive all the misgivings I had, because the family who have been there 45 years work so hard. THe parents have obviously started this from scratch, are there most of the time and are in total control. They are friendly and helpful, and the impression I have walked away with is, this is the way they have done things for many years and this is the way they will continue. They have spent and invested in modernising and buying adjacent properties , and all credit to them.

If this was a corporate organisation there would be receptionists, Managers, Barpersons etc, but here they do it themselves!

Don't expect Hilton or De Vere etc, enjoy a typical family hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cruiserap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destelbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've stayed at few times at this well-recommend family-run hotel but we also keep coming back just to have dinner there. The restaurant is open to non-residents! They always serve a fixed menu fo just 25 euros but you can always order à la carte. Classic French-Belgian kitchen, exquisitely prepared by lady chef Hannelore. I would die for the 'steak André', a steak cooked to your liking and served with a smooth pepper sauce, salad and super-delicious handcut fries. But the rest of what's on offer will be equally tasty! (for example their terrines, mmmm).

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PascaldeMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huldenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This friendly family hotel is located about 200meters away from the sea beach of Koksijde. Easy reachable from the highway ( E40 ). Hotel has a lot of car parkplaces available. In front of the hotel there is a tram station. The tram is connecting Ostend , where you have the airport and main train station connecting Bruges / Ghent and finally Brussels. The hotel has a SPA and indoor swimmingpool. For bigger families or groups you can rent a villa.
Rooms are large and clean. very good sleep confort. Several rooms have a balcony . Badroom has rainshower, toilet and a washtable. Family rooms are available as well. Service is excellent despite the low season we went overthere (Nov 13) . Swimmingpool is available for the guest at any time of the day. Hotel includes a restuarant, which was closed (Mon.,Tues.)due to the low season . Breakfest ( partly already presented on the table and partly buffet, give you a lot of choice of different types of bread,coffee,thee, juice ... . As we were staying 3 nights we had the third day the opportunity to tast the restaurant of the hotel. Beside a large menu, the lady chef presents daily fresh plates ( fish or meat) ,vegables and very nice desserts. Hotel staff is very friendly, willing to help and responding in very positive way on all your questions and needs. Due to the place where the hotel is located is this hotel realy a very interresting hotel for families and ofcouurse as well for couples or singles. Room service and SPA part not used during or stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the backside. Frontside you could have some noice from the tram pending up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georges R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have stayed here a number of times at different times of the year, always on half board. Would agree with another review that the hotel is not the impersonal hotel you would get in a large chain of hotels.This is very much a family hotel and they work very hard to ensure that guests have an enjoyable stay. The rooms are very clean, reasonably priced, beds comfortable, food is good and if there is anything on the half board menu you don't like they are happy to provide an alternative. Children are welcome, the beach is only a five minute walk away and Plopsaland only a short tram ride away and there is always the swimming pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A really friendly family run hotel. Comfortable room in the annex on floor 1. Despite being on a busy crossroads, it was really quiet at night. Nice sunny balcony in the morning! The owners were really nice and very attentive hosts. Breakfast was excellent. Walking distance to town & beach and tram stop right outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinknChumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVHSC, Manager at Hotel Soll Cress Koksijde, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much, we are glad you apréciated .... See you soon. sofie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We have stayed before and were made very welcome both times.The family are extremely hard working and want you to enjoy your stay.Food is excellent and good value for money. I used the swimming pool early morning and was the only person there-bliss.All amenities are very clean and comfortable-rooms could probably do with a little up dating but a great place to stay.Tram stop outside and just over the road from the sea.
They have a lift to all floors and room suitable for disabled if required.Excellent location for seeing the coast.

Room Tip: corner rooms larger.book for evening meal to avoid disappointment.It is a family hotel so if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webstere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVHSC, Manager at Hotel Soll Cress Koksijde, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you very much. we are glad, you've apréciated. see you soon again. thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koksijde
1.0 mi away
Apostroff Hotel
Apostroff Hotel
#2 of 6 in Koksijde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casino Hotel
Casino Hotel
#1 of 6 in Koksijde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Carnac
Hotel Carnac
#5 of 6 in Koksijde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Donny
Hotel Donny
#1 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Escale
Hotel Escale
#7 of 15 in De Panne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alberthotel
Alberthotel
#2 of 5 in Oostduinkerke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soll Cress Koksijde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soll Cress Koksijde

Property: Hotel Soll Cress Koksijde
Address: Koninklijke Baan 225, Koksijde 8670, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Koksijde
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Koksijde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Soll Cress Koksijde 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Soll Cress Koksijde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing