We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Hotel Zuidwege

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zuidwege
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zedelgem
Giaveno, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The welcome is friendly and the hotel is very clean.

The cuisine of Angelo is the best in the area.
Excellent steak with green pepper sauce and beef tongue with green beans and mashed potatoes.

The breakfast is generous and complete.
A few steps away is the bus stop that takes you directly to Brugge, two banks, a petrol station and a supermarket open 24h/24h.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgiorgi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
6
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, Channel Islands UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

I came across this hotel as a total "lucky dip" hotel !! I turned up at the Eurotunnel a day earlier than planned on a lovely afternoon in May on my motorcycle.
I basically put a pin in the map of a rough destination to aim for and the Hotel Zuidwege in Zedelgem was where I ended up.
I was checked in by the very friendly and helpful receptionist.
The single room was clean and tidy with a good standard shower room and TV
Everything was nice and modern and comfortably.
The morning breakfast was very good and the overall price was reasonable.
Zedelgem is a nice little rural town just over an hour form Calais, with good and easy road connections to the rest of the Netherlands. Also looks liKe a great area for a cycle tour as all roads appear to have separate cycle paths to the side of them.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank stupot1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Hotel Zuidwege also has an excellent restaurant. The restaurant is only about 5 minutes from where we were staying with my aunt and cousin so we visited it a few times.
Belgians are famous for their passion for mussels and chips or Mosselen and Frites as they are called in Dutch.

Since that is a favourite of ours we went there for the Mosselen and Frites as they made them really good.

Of course the Spanish Coffee was really good as well.
And Angelo and his wife Edna were also the perfect host. Along with a great food menu they also have a good selection of wine and beer. If you are ever in the area stop by and enjoy a great meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcapulcoFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My family and I booked 4 rooms here for a Remembrance Day trip. We were only there 2 nights but the service could not have been better. The hotel is located about 30 minutes down the A10 from Ostend, and relatively easy to find on the main road on a large roundabout.

We arrived about 6pm on the Wednesday, were immediately given our rooms by the owner, Angelo, and told we could have dinner when we wanted. I shared a triple room (1 double, 1 single) which was fine for us. It had a TV and phone. There is no tea/coffee in the rooms but this is not unusual for a European hotel. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom and a decent sized wardrobe. The hotel is linked to the main bar/restaurant. We had the most fantastic meal in the restaurant, including a "free" starter. The service was efficient and polite, the beer is very good and there was lots of choice, as well as wine and soft drinks. The hotel cat made him/herself at home too! The room was comfortable and has an air con/heating unit on the wall to control temperature. It was quiet and there was no traffic noise, though I suspect we were there at a fairly quiet time of year. All the facilities worked fine; towels and bedding were clean.

We had breakfast the next morning in the breakfast room. It had the standard Euro-choice of breads, fruit, yoghurts, cereal, eggs, meat and cheese, plus tea/coffee/juice. All the food was fresh and tasty. Angelo came in to see us and chat and make sure he had what we needed. He even agreed to make us up a breakfast "take away" next day as we were leaving at 6am. Angelo said it is a family run hotel since 1997.

The next night the restaurant was closed as it was a national holiday but we were directed by Angelo to the brasserie opposite which offered a large menu and was very good too.

We were on a flying visit with limited time and did not explore the area or visit Bruges, which we were told was a short bus ride away. But we would highly recommend this hotel for it's excellent service and great food. It might be a nicer option than a hotel in Bruges if you don’t need to stay in the city. I can't comment on value for money as I did not personally pay for the rooms but I am assured it was well priced.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_AJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

I used this hotel as a base for exploring Bruges. It's about a 5-10 minute train ride into Bruges from Zedelgem, and was very convenient since parking in Bruges can be very difficult. The room was nice, and breakfast was very good each morning, and included.

What sets this hotel apart is the service. The guy that runs the hotel stopped by a couple times while I was sitting alone in the restaurant for quick chats a couple times. When my aunt and uncle showed up, he still would check in with us, and was very friendly, but not overbearing. After the bar was closed, he pulled a couple jokes on us, and told some stories that were very entertaining.

The next day, when we saw his interactions with other clients, I knew this was ordinary. He enjoyed talking to the people that stayed at the hotel, and liked what he was doing. That always makes a difference when it comes to service!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebonzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Have stayed here twice. The hotel is family run and set in a nice area. Rooms to a high standard and breakfast is included in room price. Buffet style breakfast with as much to eat as you need (hot and cold food) and plenty of strong Belgian coffee. It's maybe 10 mins by car to Brugge but there's also a bus stop outside the hotel that takes you into the city, 500 metres away is a railway station if you prefer. Hotel is situated on the main road between Brugge and Ghent which is convenient if touring around. If you need snacks there is a Delhaize supermarket next door and a SuperGB supermarket across the road. Staff always willing to help with any problems or queries and we found them to be very child friendly. Hotels just out of town are a lot better value than in the centre of Brugge, if you're motoring, give this on a try.

  • Liked — Great Value
  • Disliked — Can be noisy from the bar if you're on the ground floor
  • Stayed May 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoraceMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zedelgem
4.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
5.3 mi away
Hostellerie 't Gravenhof
5.9 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#26 of 97 in Bruges
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#1 of 3 in Zedelgem
97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Koornemoezen Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
't Huttenest
't Huttenest
#1 of 2 in Zedelgem
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zuidwege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zuidwege

Property: Hotel Zuidwege
Address: Torhoutsesteenweg 126, Zedelgem 8210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Zedelgem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zedelgem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zuidwege 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zuidwege is a modern family hotel*** that provides of 20 rooms, all fully equipped with en suite bathroom with shower or bath tub, toilet, washing table and hair drier. All double and tripple rooms have airconditionning. The cable TV lets you enjoy about 20 different channels and als a telephone is available. A FREE wifi-internet connection (hotspot) has been installed. Another important asset of our hotel is the vaste and spacious parking facilities, free of charge. Our central situation according to Brugge and the belgian coast makes the hotel an excellent starting point for exploring the environment. Several bycicle tours pass the hotel. From Mondays to Fridays you can enjoy a tasty meal or one of our beers (25 different brands) or other beverages in our cosy bar/restaurant. The kitchen in our restaurant is open from 12 till 14 H and from 18 till 21 H. In weekends and on public holidays, our bar/restaurant only opens on reservation (from 20 persons onward). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Zuidwege reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing