We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For those wanting a rustic Cypriot experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cyprus Villages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cyprus Villages
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“For those wanting a rustic Cypriot experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Tochni is an idyllic stone village midway between Larnaca and Limissol. When we arrived they didn't have the type of room we requested but the staff were quick to find an alternative. The staff were friendly and really care about making your vacation the best it can be. Cosy rooms, amazing scenery and excellent service. For a rustic, relaxing vacation this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texantraveler_009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    48
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
72
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have just come back from a week at cyprus village in TOCHNI. The village is very pretty, not far from the coast. It's not touristy, it's like living amongst the villagers. They are so friendly in the village. We would recommend this if you like to have a relaxed and less touristy holiday. There is a shop, cash machine, cafe and tavernas. It's easy access to the motorway to visit the larger towns and not far from the airport so a good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We visited Tochni after being upgraded by Cyprus villages having booked for Kalavasos,traveling
as a family group ageing from 50/65,we arrived at the the Cyprus villages reception, not knowing anything about our accommodation greeted by a very pleasant receptionist whom took some of our party on foot to Yiannis holiday villa .The villa was very quaint great views of village,on the slight downside we were all taken aback by all the stairs and steep slopes to be negotiated you need to be reasonably fit having said that it is a village built on the sides of a valley. After looking
over our accommodation for the night we set of back up to the taverna for lunch stunning views,
and food with village wine!!!!! . Probably a good thing as our villa was not very well equipped
for self catering nor was the kitchen area very clean.That aside every thing else was great,
my wife and myself stay long term in a modern villa in Cyprus and it was good to stay in very old and quaint accommodation .

Room Tip: You need to be reasonably fit .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights here between attending a wedding in Napa and going to one in Paphos. Tucked away in the hills, even the taxi driver had trouble locating it..!

Our villa was really cosy, with a large comfy bed, kitchenette and a balcony overlooking the pool and the mountains, which at sunset, are beautiful. My girlfriend summed up the place as "Very Mama Mia" and it was a nice change from the busy strip in Napa.

The village itself is tiny, with one little shop, a café, amazing old church and a small restaurant. It's so peaceful, you get a real sense of 'authentic Cyprus' whilst wandering around the tiny streets.

In the evenings we ate at the Taverna on site, and the food was easily the best we had in our 2 weeks in Cyprus. Whole roasted Seabass, delicious Beef Stifado, the best Calamari we've ever had and great mixed Souvlaki. The hosts are extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome and looked after.

They also have a few well behaved cats - my girlfriend took a particular shine to Madonna and Chaplin, the 2 kittens there!

If we we're to go again we'd hire a car as there isn't any real way to get to the beach, or explore the hills and nearby attractions without one. There is horse riding a few minutes away which my girlfriend enjoyed, and it was reasonably priced at €40 for 2hrs including drop off and pick up.

If you're looking for a taste of real Cyprus in a beautiful location with amazing views and traditional food then you can't go far wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMASteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent a week in an apartment of Cyprus Villages in Tochni. Our apartment 'Danaehouse no. 1' consisted of a kitchen, a living room with an extra bed, a bedroom with a large single mattress double bed and a small bathroom with shower. I would not have wanted to cook in the kitchen as all the utensils and cupboards were not very clean. As we had booked half-board this was not a problem though. Breakfast was self-service with mostly just the cook around. It was expected that you clear your table afterwards. On offer are cereals, fruits, bread, toppings like cheese, sausage, jam, honey as well as cucumber, tomatoes and olives. There was also each morning a different offer of warm eggs, sausage, bacon, beans and the likes. The tavern has tables on a really nice terrace with a view over Tochni village and in the distance a cement plant and the Mediterranean sea. In the evening we could choose a starter and main course from the tavern menu. There are also some vegetarian options. On 3 evenings we were offered set menus which consisted of a variety of starters and main courses. In the end we also got a dessert as well and Cyprus coffee was included. On our last night there was also live music at the tavern. The food was always plentiful and tastes really good but after a week I was longing for a bit more variety. The service at dinner depended on whether the owner was around. Some evenings the tables were nicely set with wine glasses and candles. Other evenings we got the cutlery and glasses when the drinks and food were served. One evening we had to remind the waitress to serve dessert and another time she forgot about my Cyprus coffee. The waiters and waitresses didn't seem professionals but were friendly enough. At the beginning of our stay we noticed that our toilet was leaking. We had to move to a different apartment that was smaller. We complained that it was smaller and could move back a day later into our original apartment after the toilet had been fixed. Towels were supposed to be changed ever 2 days. From Tuesday to Friday our towels were not changed which was 3 days. It would have been nice if a cloth to wipe the chair and table outside would have been provided and dish washing liquid. These are things you don't usually take with you on a flight vacation due to the weight restrictions of the luggage.

Room Tip: Danaehouse is a group of houses round a pool near the tavern. Danaehouse no. 1 is a very nice ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CowgirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

great hotel with amazing views and beaches with great walks and plenty of activities for all the family and amazing restaurants all over the island and plenty of waterparks for those who like to keep cool

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Perfect location for a peaceful stay in Cyprus. Rustic apartment with a very comfortable bed. We booked half-board & ate each evening in the Taverna, which was a couple of minutes walk from our apartment. It was lovely to eat the local cypriot meals in a beautiful setting overlooking the old village, with excellent service.
The pool was a bonus at the end of a hot day, although Governor's Beach is only a 10 minute drive.
A car is recommended as this is a village location, especially if you want to see some of the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment overlooking the village which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hjt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tochni
12.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
11.9 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
16.0 mi away
E Hotel Spa & Resort Cyprus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Traditional Village Houses
0.1 mi away
Filokypros Eveleos Country House
0.0 mi away
Danae Villas
Danae Villas
#3 of 8 in Tochni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyprus Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyprus Villages

Property: Cyprus Villages
Address: Mersinies Street, Tochni 7740, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Tochni
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Tochni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cyprus Villages 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing can quite compare with a holiday in the wholesome, serene environment of a village tucked in the hills of Cyprus. CYPRUS VILLAGES offers you the unique opportunity to live in a traditional stone-built village home... Stroll along the narrow cobbled paths to the village square.... Have a coffee in the local coffee shop... And settle into an easy-going Mediterranean lifestyle that respects and nurtures timeless traditions. Before you know, you will be a member of the local community, and will enjoy the generous Cypriot hospitality that can be summed up in a single word, "kopiaste"... Come and join us!CYPRUS VILLAGES was established in 1987 by Sofronis Potamitis, in an effort to revive rural communities and preserve the traditional houses of bygone days. With loving care, several abandoned family houses in the villages of Tochni, Kalavasos and Psematismenos were thoroughly renovated to provide comfort without sacrificing their original, rustic character and are all licensed by the Cyprus Tourism Organization. The villages are situated halfway between Larnaca and Lemesos towns and only 7km to the beach.CYPRUS VILLAGES offers you a choice of 1 and 2-bedroom fully furnished apartments with well equipped kitchens living room, bedroom with en-suite shower/wc and private balcony or patio. All our apartments have access to shared pool in the village within walking distance reserved exclusively for our guests and we have also selective villa complexes with pools shared by maximum 4-5 units. Notice the thick walls, small windows, stone or wooden staircases so typical of our island's architecture of yesteryear. On your veranda, in your patio or garden you can relax with a drink or a book any time of the day. Explore the remote corners of our island and discover its hidden beauty through activities that bring you face to face with the heart and soul of Cyprus. Whether on horseback or on a bike, whether you prefer a leisurely walk, a brisk hike or a morning jog, the choice is yours, including a series of activities and many more that are designed to lead you to the core of rural life in Cyprus. • Riding at our Drapia horse farm • Cycling on professional bikes and guided tours possible• Hiking and jogging on specially marked nature trails• Fishing with a local fisherman • Yoga & wellness spa Therapeutic massage/sports massage/relaxation massage• Watching how to make halloumi cheese and olive oil • Picking oranges and olives (December to February)• Visit the local archeological sites 'Tenta" and "Choirokoitia Neolithic site"Our guests have the opportunity to visit goat farms and watch the villagers prepare theisland's traditional 'halloumi' cheese, which is made from goat's milk. The traditional Cypriot breakfast is known to include fresh halloumi, olives, tomatoes, cucumber and homemade bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Cyprus Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyprus Villages Tochni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing