We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Beau Rivage
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant one night stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for an overnight stop on a walking tour. The staff member who checked us in and showed us to our room was friendly and helpful but spoke no English at all.

Or room was upstairs overlooking the fairly busy road. We weren’t bothered by the traffic noise with the window closed but I wouldn’t like to try to sleep with the window open. The room was basic, no frills, but clean and pleasant with a comfortable bed. The bathroom seemed quite new and well appointed. There were no English television channels. WiFi access was good.

We took a stroll around the town before dinner. The liveliest place seemed to be an oyster bar that was doing a roaring trade. If you planned to stay more than one night you would definitely need a car to get out and explore the local area.

Our accommodation package included dinner, which was enjoyable. Many of the restaurant guests arrived by car from the local area and it seemed to be a popular place to eat.

Breakfast was okay. We were offered the bread rolls we hadn’t eaten at the previous night’s dinner.

There was a lift not far from our room, which was handy when we had to take our luggage down to check out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    52
    25
    15
    16
See reviews for
38
91
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked this hotel having failed to find room at the other Logis in the town. While it met our essential needs, the room was small, the welcome adequate but without warmth and the restaurant rather disappointing. We found an alternative place to eat for the second evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had booked a room on line the night before as it was in the right area with parking. On arrival we were shown a small dark room at the front on the road. Apparently it was a smoking room which explained why it had a very strong nauseating smell of of a "Glade type" freshener. He then up sold us a bigger non smoking room at the back with a little balcony overlooking the "garden". The broken light bulb did not get fixed as promised and the manager left us waiting promising to show us where to lock our bikes. He did not return so we just got on with it and locked them where we decided we wanted to out of sight.He seemed very friendly but clearly spent quite a lot of time with certain guests.
The whole place felt dingy and tatty. Not Logis standard.
However the bed was comfortable and it was quiet at the back. It was clean.
There was a very tiny bar area with TV on. We did not like the ambience of the hotel and decided not to eat an evening meal or breakfast there.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter as the road can be busy with cars speeding along! We had room 201 in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueowl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stopped there for lunch on the spur of the moment. The owners were very gracious, giving us and our dog water immediately. (It was about 30 outside). We had the 20 Euro 3-course menu; delicious mackeral over a fresh vegetable salad. My husband had white meat of chicken and I had delicious, not-fatty-at-all salmon. The deserts were great: mine was the 4 kind of chocolate yummies and my husband had a strawberry mouse cake. The wine was excellent. 9 Euros for half a liter. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had a triple room, very roomy, clean , comfy &warm.
Not all staff can speak english, but all very helpful.
Great restaurant attatched, great food, very reasonable prices, although service is not great.
Breakfast good.
No english speaking tv channels

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

It's hard to write this review, because I have mixed emotions here. The owner was fantastic — super friendly and ultra helpful. It was clear that he wanted to take great care of his guests and give them a lot of attention. In a way, that might be one of the great weaknesses of this place. As the owner charms one set of guests, others are kept waiting ... and waiting.

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon as part of a self-guided walking tour around La Baie du Mont Saint-Michel. We were booked into it via a company that packages walking tours around France. We were on a budget and opted for the "standard" tour package — all hotels were "2-star" hotels.

A digression here. In France, hotels are rated by a star system set forth by the government. The stars are not an indication of quality, we came to realize, but an indicator of certain amenities. There's actually a good explanation of the French star system here: http://www.paris-eiffel-tower-news.com/editorials/hotel-rating.htm

Anyway, Beau Rivage is a 2-star hotel (out of 3 possible), which you might take as being very good, but the hotel is a bit ... dated. It's clean, and you'll get a good night's sleep, but if you're looking for a chic room, this isn't the place for you. It's very basic Motel 6, Econolodge type stuff.

Still, we had been walking all day, having hiked over from Mont Saint-Michel. We just wanted a good meal and a place to rest.

We did get a decent meal. The hotels in the Logis system, from what we experienced, had good food overall — with one or two exceptions. The meal wasn't THE BEST we had in France, but it was good. (How can mussels and oysters taken from the bay about a hundred yards away be bad?)

But the service on all fronts was slow. Checking in, we had to wait and ring the bell to get the owner's attention — he seemed to be preoccupied with a kitchen or bar issue. Once we washed up and went to eat dinner, we sat and waited for quite a while before we finally flagged down the owner's wife — who then FINALLY brought us menus. After that, we were shunted to a young waiter, who took forever to take our order. And so on, etc.

Check-out was the same. Waiting around for the owner to help us and take care of the paperwork.

As I said, the owner was very friendly. This seems like a small family business that's short-staffed, with the owner and his wife (and maybe a son?) doing too many jobs there at once. When you do get their attention, they're wonderful, but they are spread too thin.

Rooms are small, but we learned that this is generally the case in France. Whatever. We're New Yorkers and are used to it. But if any of you Americans out there are expecting a big room, be forewarned. Our room faced the main road. We were literally about 5 feet from the traffic lane. We wanted to keep the window open to get some fresh summer air, but it was just too creepy, what with the narrow sidewalk just outside and any ol' person walking by — not to mention the occasional car racing past. So we pulled down the shutter and locked ourselves in, thereby eliminating any natural light. If you can, request a room on the second floor.

The town itself is very, very sleepy. As others have mentioned, there's not much to do there, particularly at night, when it becomes a virtual ghost town. The hotel, in fact, is probably one of the few things opened in that area at night — and this was in summer, when I'd expect more activity at this seaside town.

It was a comfortable place to get some rest before hiking out the next day, but it's not a destination hotel in and of itself.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PommeDeGuerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

The room were we allocated, having prebooked and prepaid through Logis de France, was round the back in the garden area. Having looked round we then realized that neither the room nor the bathroom had any windows. The only light came through the half glazed door to the outside pathway which meant that the only choice for ventilation seemed to consist of leaving the door open at night (the weather was hot). Other rooms may be acceptable - avoid those in the garden area. We moved to the Hotel Bretagne down the road.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hommelbier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Vivier-sur-Mer
3.8 mi away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Saint-Benoit-des-Ondes
58 reviews
6.3 mi away
Maison Tirel-Guerin
Maison Tirel-Guerin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Meloir-des-Ondes
571 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Tertre
Hotel du Tertre
#1 of 1 in Mont-Dol
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
#2 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
785 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel de Bretagne
Hotel de Bretagne
#3 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
58 reviews
4.2 mi away
Akena City
Akena City
#1 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Beau Rivage

Property: Hotel Restaurant Beau Rivage
Address: 21 rue de la Mairie, 35960 Le Vivier-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Le Vivier-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Vivier-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Beau Rivage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Restaurant Beau Rivage Le Vivier-Sur-Mer, Brittany, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing