We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The centre of Mersault”
Review of Hotel Du Centre

Hotel Du Centre
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Du Centre
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Meursault
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Parking near the hotel is a problem, but they have their own gated area about 150 yards from the hotel. There are also steps down and up to negotiate. I was introduced to the hotel by English friends who commented that their room was “small but adequate” but mine was a reasonable size, light and airy, with satisfactory central heating. A critique from an earlier report seems to be that the "electric" lavatory was outdated, but mine worked perfectly well and was better than not having the facility at all! The room, for single occupancy, 65 euro plus local taxes plus 8.50 euro for breakfast.

Dinner was good and copious. There was a menu at 18 euro, one at 28 and another at 34. I chose the one for 28 euro and began with Jambon persilé, followed it with Coq au vin and finished with Epoisses affiné au Marc. This was washed down with a bottle of Blagny (75 euro).

The reception and service was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonGavroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Positive reviews seem to come from persons who stayed in this place in the summer or not when it was cold. The old steam hear doesn't work. Rooms are small and haven't been renovated for decades. When did you last seen an "electric" toilet? You have the locals drinking wine all day in the adjoining café and along with them the proprietor of the hotel. When I checked in, he didn't bother to tell me that Alain Billard is now the chef of the hotel restaurant. So this cloud has a golden lining, but you don't have to stay in the hotel to eat in the restaurant.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Kothar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Wrote a review of this great little place about a year ago and have been back in Meursault recently. The same friendly staff were there still smiling and and happy to greet. The meals were just as good, and well priced - a bit more interesting than some hotels that are more inclined to serve the same "traditional" fare. We enjoyed having a coffee or a drink out the front on a balmy sunny afternoon after a day of strenuous cycling or walking. If the weather is nice then is ok to eat out the forint but if you are planning ahead then it's a lovely atmosphere in the courtyard but you will need to book if it's the busy season. Like many outdoor places these days - blankets are provided to keep warm if needed in the early autumn night air.

Room Tip: Book courtyard table
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Good Burgundian fare in pleasant rear outdoor eating area. Great wine list. Best thing though were he friendly, helpful waiters who stand out from the crowd. Great senses of humour & brilliant with the kids.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here for one night on our trip to Burgundy. From the outside, this Logis did not have much appeal but, he rooms were comfortable and clean and what you would expect for a building this age. However the meal in the restaurant in the evening was one of the best I have tasted in France. The set menu of 27 euros gave a good choice with 3 courses. Each one of us,at the table, had a different choice and all agreed the food was very good. The wine list was certainly substantive and very reasonable. The owner spoke very good English and our stay was very pleasant indeed! Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lornai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had dinner here every night of our stay in the Burgundy region. It is typical classic French cuisine and Chef Allain is a great guy! The service is very warm and friendly. It makes you want to return. Make sure to ask for a table in the garden in the back. A very nice place to have a nice dinner with a good glass of Burgundy wine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Vief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have eaten here several times before, and it used to be extremely welcoming with good food. It seems to have been done up, and maybe is under new management? That said the welcome was lukewarm to say the least, the food order was confused and little attempt was made to ensure that this was put right. Unfair to say that the level of service was bad, but with several other places to eat in the village I think it is safe to say we do not have to return to the Centre again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meursault
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Charmes
Hotel les Charmes
#2 of 5 in Meursault
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Hauts de Meursault
0.1 mi away
Le Chevreuil
Le Chevreuil
#4 of 9 in Meursault
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clos Saint Jacques
Clos Saint Jacques
#1 of 9 in Meursault
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Centre

Address: 4 rue du Mal de Lattre de Tassigny, 21190 Meursault, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Meursault
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Meursault
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Du Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing