We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
204
16
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
16
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Our family of four stayed at Chateau de la Villaine for three nights last week (early August).

Our stay was wonderful. The house is comfortable, very pleasantly placed in the country-side, nicely decorated and our room was nicely outfitted (bathrooms were updated in the recent renovations.)

More important than the physical setting, though, was the gracious hospitality offered by Joke and Adrian (and their daughter, who was visiting). Our hosts were a font of helpful suggestions (e.g., visiting Chenonceau late in the day when the crowds had thinned, and touring Loches on Wednesday market day). Dinner (we ate with them twice) was a delight. Food was wonderfully and thoughtfully prepared by Joke, wines were carefully chosen by Adrian, and the conversation flowed easily. Much more like a dinner party at the house of some new friends (who, happily, live in a great old house in the Loire valley and can cook really well) than a meal at a restaurant, although the food was as good as that of the better restaurants we visited on the trip. Joke is a serious cook. Dinner one night featured duck confit she had prepared months ago, and breakfasts included confitures she had prepared, some using fruit from trees on the property.

This is a delightful place. Adrian and Joke run their bed and breakfast with a cheerful competence that makes it easy to relax and enjoy being in the Loire valley. Wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dashto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We spent 4 nights at the chateau in July, 2008. Joke and Adrian truly made us feel at home from the start. And we enjoyed our stay very much. Eight o'clock meals deserves special mentioning. Besides wonderful diner we very enjoyed company of chateau's hosts.
I think we will be back at some time.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank platontt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Date - June 2008
Patricia & I have just returned from our holiday in France which just had to start at this lovely Chateau with Adrian & Joke as simply the perfect hosts. We love it there as one feels immediately relaxed & "at home" in the peacful surroundings & in the well appointed and comfortable rooms. We especially enjoy eating with the other guests & with Adrian & Joke in the evening as it is always so relaxed and informal with excellent wines served by Adrian - and of course outstanding food prepared by Joke. We have no hesitation in recommending this place as a truly lovely place to stay with wonderful food & such friendly and helpful owners.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Having done plenty of research from Sydney Australia we (4 adults) decided on this Chateau. The homework was worth it The rooms were large, comfortable, warm and clean. The owner, Adrian, had gone to the expense of installing a heating system. Adrian's wife was away so we did not get the opportunity to sample her culinary skills that so many other guests had raved about. Adrian recommended two wonderful restaurants. He assisted in mapping out our itinerary for the area and convinced us of his love of the wines of the region. HIs hospitality, generosity and genuine interest in our trip made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bin407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Adrian & Joke's hospitality food and local knowledge are by far the best we have experienced in our travels through France. Joke's cooking is legendary along with Adrians choice of wine. We enjoyed places and experiences off the typical track thanks to their exellent knowledge of the local area. We wish them all the very best and thank them for a wonderful stay.
We would definatly recommend a stay with them and eating at their dinner table is a must.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NealMeisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews