We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chateau, Lovely Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esvres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de la Villaine
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chateau de la Villaine. Adrian and Joke are natural hosts and try hard to ensure their guests are comfortable. Do not miss Joke's meals, they are very special. Her cooking is excellent and Adrian chooses quality local wines to pair with the food. The two meals we had at the Chateau were highlights of our trip, and the company was great.

We stayed in the Marquis room, which was very large and had a sitting room that opened up to a terrace with a nice view of the valley. The bed was comfortable and both the room and bathroom were very well kept.

Adrian recommended several good local wineries as well as sights in the area. The Chateau is located within about 20 minutes of many attractions.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2008

We had a great time here! Very nice people- our room was beautiful (we stayed in the Empire room) We had dinner with the owners and guests one evening - great food, great company.

The location was central to all we wanted to see in the area.

Go for it!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blablaOrangeCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Chateau de la Villaine tremendously! We were just spending one night on the way from Bordeaux back to Paris. Adrian and Joke were such warm and charming hosts. Joke's fabulous dinner was the best of our trip to France (and a bargain!). Far better than a hotel, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We stayed for three nights in September during a two week trip to France staying in various chateaus and this was by far the best expereince of our holiday.

Adrian and Joke are such lovely people as was Joke's twin sister Doke who was also staying. We had a great dinner with some friendly Aussie's and the atmosphere was relaxed and good humoured, not at all pompous or uncomfortable and this owes much to the wonderful hosts.

The dinner was great, a deliciously tasty confit of duck was one of the best things I ate in France and I did plenty of eating in great restaurants. The rooms are authentic, the house is beautiful and the village charming. Having stayed at five star hotels and venues around the world this was an utterly memorable experience that lives up to anything else we've done and one that I will undoubtedly repeat.

Frank and Magda
London

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FrankieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

I have always wanted to visit the Loire Valley and stay in a Chateau and so chose Chateau de la Villaine purely on the basis of the exceptional reviews of the property on Trip Advisor. After corresponding with Adrian and Joke via email and telephone we were sure this would be a special three days, and it was.
We were made to feel welcome and at ease immediately - more like houseguests. The dinners we had at the Chateau were so memorable and the beauty, comfort and style of the interior was charming, enhanced by Adrian and Joke's legendary Dutch attention to detail and comfort for the guests. The grounds are lovely and peaceful and the whole place has a slightly faded, lived in feeling.

Adrian helped us plan our days each morning after breakfast, giving us directions to the chateaux via beautiful, quiet roads.

We enjoyed ourselves so much, we stayed an extra night. Having only been back home in Australia only two days , the memory is still fresh. I definitely want to go back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kerry51Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

By the end of September this year, three separate groups from our family spanning three generations have stayed with Adrian & Joke at Chateau de la Villaine. And none of us wanted to leave.

Stay here for the warmest of welcomes, superb atmosphere, delicious food & wine, generously shared local knowledge................ it is our family's home away from home in the Loire!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheBugThatTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

This is such a beautiful place! The photos look beautiful, and when you arrive, you find the property and the indoors just as beautiful if not more. My boyfriend and I went to France for a romantic vacation and stayed here in the beginning of our trip. This place was an excellent start, setting the mood and the expectations for a trip filled with beautiful views and enormous quantities of flowers all along.

The host of the house, Adrien welcomed us when we arrived, and instead of sending us straight to our room he insisted to shows us around the house, which made us feel welcome and at ease. Our room was very big, comfortable and very clean. It is all antique or at least antique-looking – in style. For a big room, there was not a lot of furniture, but it was very spacious and very comfortable, with gorgeous views.

The hosts are offering a home-made dinner based on advanced notice and for additional cost. We have learned about it form their web-site and decided to have the dinner the first night. What a wonderful experience!

Adrien invited us to come to the living room some time before the dinner hour for a wine and little chat with the other guests who attend the dinner that night. The guests dressed up a little, and how could you not, when going to dine in such a beautiful dining room dressed up in great taste with flowers, antique statues, tall candle-holders, dinnerware and the rest of the proper set-up!

The hosts of the house dinned with us, which made it so much more personal, created a feeling of visiting old friends rather than being just a client at another B&B. The hosts are very interesting people and had many curious stories to tell about themselves and the local life and customs. It was also interesting to learn the stories of other guests. It was a lovely dinner.

The meal deserves a paragraph of its own! Joke, the woman of the house, prepared all courses herself, except for the cheese. It was a 5-star dining experience. Joke takes pride in her cooking skills and for a good reason, the meal was outstanding. The dinner is prepared fresh that day, of course, and from the local produce that the hosts buy that day – that’s why the advanced notice is required. Adrien, an excellent host, made sure no one’s glass stays empty of wine or water. He paired wines excellently with each course.

If I ever travel in this part of Europe again, I will definitely want to come back to this house. I would highly recommend it to all of my friends and family with confidence that they will have a great experience.

I think this chateau is great for any kind of vacation – honeymoon, family vacation with or without kids, you will have a good time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrinaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esvres
4.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
4.7 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
503 reviews
13.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
595 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
#1 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
325 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Tours Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Villaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Villaine

Address: La Villaine, 37320 Esvres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Esvres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Esvres
Price Range: £94 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Chateau de la Villaine (4 rooms) is located in the Loire Valley within half an hour drive from Chenonceau, Amboise, Tours, Villandry, Azay le Rideau, Langeais and Loches. Within one hour you can reach Chambord, Cheverny, Blois, Chaumont, Ussay, Saumur, Fontevrau and Chinon. You won't find a more central location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Villaine Hotel Esvres
Chateau De La Villaine France/Esvres, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing