We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
204
16
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
16
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Good base-point for my Chateau hopping travels. Only stayed 2 nights because of my poor planning I did not stay longer. Recommend to pay for the dinner here for 2 reasons 1) Food is good and 2)Not too many places to eat around the area. When we stayed, there were 2 other parties staying and they were repeat guests from past good experiences. Didn't get to explore the grounds too much as unfortunately the rainy weather was a factor.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank awong99124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Although this chateau is small, the rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast was superb each morning. Adrian and Joke were very warm and welcoming to us. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. Our two night stay was one of the highlights of our entire visit to France. Adrian offered us tips of different places to visit and the best times to arrive at different venues. He even called and made reservations for dinner on our first night stay. This quaint property is a jewel of a find and we will definitely plan to stay again on our next visit to the Loire Valley.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Empire Room. It was large room with all that we needed. We loved the fact that it was on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MikeFernEtta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We arrived on a rainy windy day to the Chateau. Adrian and Joke welcomed us warmly into their lovely chateau. We stayed in the Marquise room with a wonderful view of the estate out on the terrace. The private new bathroom includes a nice shower. A tree had blown down a day earlier and was cleaned up and removed the very next day. Our hosts gave us maps of the Loire valley, brochures for the Chateaux to visit, and their best recommendations. We ate breakfast each morning in the dining room with everything waiting for us when we came downstairs. The jams are homemade by Joke and were delicious. We did not have dinner at the Chateau, which I now believe was a mistake.The restaurant that Adrian recommended was excellent though. I'd recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Veniece G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We stayed at Chateau de la Villaine for a couple of nights in September where we were hosted by Adriaan and Joke. We were made very welcome on arrival and shown to our rather splendid 'Empire' room before being offered tea on the terrace. In the evening, after pre-prandial drinks, we enjoyed a four course meal cooked by Joke, accompanied by interesting wines selected by Adriaan. We, our two friends, two other guests and our hosts ate together and enjoyed the food, wines and conversation. Breakfast was excellent - elegantly served by Adriaan and with a wide range of good things on offer. We discussed how we might spend our day and he made helpful suggestions and provided a useful map. He suggested a visit to Loches which really was worth seeing - it greatly benefits from being somewhat off the tourist route. Dinner on our second night (arranged, I think, specially for the four of us) was also very enjoyable. Again both the food and wine were excellent.
All in all a very enjoyable stay. Adriaan and Joke work hard to make their guests welcome and deserve high praise for their efforts. We'd recommend a stay at Chateau de la Villaine.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

A small chateau, lovely accomodations, a husband-wife team whose hospitality was par excellent (not to mention Joke's culinary artistry) and whose home delivered a fin de siècle grace which transported us back to a quieter, more relaxed era. Adriaan was very helpful in guiding us to some of the more interesting sights in the Loire Valley, and even to a local dentist on short notice to repair a broken front tooth.

Room Tip: Ask for L'Empire room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LostNationTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews