We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Messageries
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arbois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a typical French traveller's rest stop, as many other reviews attest. Right in the centre of this small and very pretty town, with locked parking available at a very reasonable 6 euro extra. The rooms were fine (as advertised, this is a 3 star hotel), clean, and the beds comfortable. The staff were indeed very friendly and helpful. The one downside is the noise; don't be fooled, what looked like a sleepy and quiet French town when we strolled back from our excellent dinner at La Cauderie (op cit) turned into a reasonable approximation of the dungeons in Hades at about 4.30 AM with clanking chains as the bins were emptied in the street outside, banging doors and cars zooming around outside. Do try to get a room facing onto the courtyard. We didn't have the breakfast; better value to walk the 100 yards up the the centre and pop into a bar for a coffee and croissant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've been meaning to write a review about this hotel for a while, it was really so good.
We stayed right at the start of the tourist season so had the place to ourselves, but the owners still layer everything on for us (you should have seen the breakfast spreads!).
Really pleasant people, and really helpful. Getting a english-only speaking kiwi into one of the hardest to access french-only speaking wine cellars nearby- I don't know how you managed to persuade them to invite me in but I appreciated it so much!
It's not a polished modern hotel, its a lovely old one with character and soul, in a perfect spot in a perfect town.
And the dinner recommendations were always bang on- we ate SO well.
Great hospitality, merci.

Room Tip: I recommend to contact the hotel direct, they will bend over backwards for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights, and were extremely grateful to Thomas, the manager, who speaks good English and helped us book taxis for our dinner at Le Grapiot in nearby Pupillin, and to the train station in Mouchard. He is so helpful and pleasant - he really made our stay comfortable. The room was comfortable, the hotel was quiet, and the rate was very affordable.

There is also a laundry two doors down, where we were able to drop clothes for washing, and the owner brought them to the hotel for us when they were done, which was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandyBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked this hotel in advance after looking at some reviews and was really happy with the choice. The manager owner was very welcoming on arrival with good English for those whose French is poor. No restaurant in the hotel but a ten minute walk took us to a very good one there are others nearer but being a Monday night many were closed. Lovely rooms with great beds furnishings and en suites etc all very clean . Lock up secure garage is available for a small charge. Will sure go again.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view but might be a little noisier i am not sure though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billyelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is beautiful old Hotel on a corner in the centre of town, The bar has inside & out with character and warmth, well patronised and a central place to sit and share with others. Thomas the young manager has good English is really active and helpful and brings life to the whole place and will bend over backwards for you. The rooms are older style but very clean and functional and spacious with nice beds. I started in a shared bathroom situation, which still had a basin in the room and toilet down the hall, very reasonably priced.32E I think, I chose to move up to an ensuite room because still only 59Euros, Breakfast was great generous fresh and plentiful, free WiFi good and garage to secure, extra. I recommend this Hotel because it has great character, great value and great location. I spent 3 nights, and enjoyed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed one night in Arbois. The only room free was a economy class room with shared toilet and shared bathroom. The room was clean, charming though the age. The bed was fine, the staff friendly. It wasnt that much of an inconvinience to share facilities, when compared with the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We arrived a little late as walk in guests. We were made very welcome, Our room was comfortable and clean. We were driving through France to Italy and our car wass full of possessions. The hotel had a secure car park for 6 euros which we thought was good. Nice bar and free wi fi from the room so we could catch up with the family

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbois
7 mi away
Chateau De Germigney
Chateau De Germigney
#1 of 1 in Port-Lesney
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Cepages
Hotel Des Cepages
#2 of 3 in Arbois
109 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin Vallee Heureuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel des Deux Forts
Hotel des Deux Forts
#1 of 3 in Salins-les-Bains
94 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maison Zugno
Maison Zugno
#1 of 1 in Barretaine
24 reviews
9.9 mi away
Domaine du Revermont
Domaine du Revermont
#1 of 1 in Passenans
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Messageries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Messageries

Address: 2 rue de Courcelles, 39601 Arbois, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Jura > Arbois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arbois
Price Range: £47 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Messageries 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Messageries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing