We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why not, but!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine de Verchant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

In between 2 minds about this Hotel, had a very pleasant stay but something missing to reach that fifth star.
I think we expected this Hotel to be near the city without being too close but that s not so, as you are really near to traffic and planes landing.We were a little disappointed on arrival due to the location.

This apart the restaurant, service, and room were perfect.
We had lunch and dinner at the hotel and found great value for our money but the price of their rooms are much too expensive!!!!!!!!Normal that it was not full in the middle of August.
Would definetly go back if rooms prices revised.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verchant, Directeur général at Domaine de Verchant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comments about our services, our hotel and restaurant.

We are disappointed that you did not find the calm that our guests generally find in our property surrounded by our large park and vineyard.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Verchant and to propose our different rates and room categories from Deluxe room to Suite and also our different packages.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at the Domaine de Verchant as a special treat away from the kids and to celebrate a 40th Birthday party of a friend who lives in Montpellier. We arrived to find that we had been upgraded from a Deluxe room to a room with a terrace - which was great as it got the sun all day and good for people watching - although the place was so peaceful there werent many people to watch! The room was great - just big enough, huge comfortable bed, amazing shower and all the gadgets for turning on lights and remotely shutting curtains. We had dinner at the hotel for our first night - were free to choose our table and after 10 minutes of no service we were then asked to move as the table had been reserved. We then chose another table but were then not served drinks or even bread for a further 5 or so minutes. The service was a little amateur for a 5 star hotel. The waiter forgot our cutlery for the cheese course, we couldn't attract his attention and so shared one knife between us. The wine was not poured for us, so we had to do it ourselves. It was the small things that meant it didn't feel 5 star at all. The next morning at breakfast the service was even worse. We came down quite late and there was no cleared table for us and yet at least 8 tables had been vacated and not cleared or re-laid. The scrambled egg was runny and cold, bacon was round and there was very little choice and hardly any fruit. The coffee came in pots that were only half full and no milk offered. We asked for boiled eggs to be cooked for 5 minutes - they took 10 to arrive and were under cooked. It was kind of shambolic. The room service also wasn't great - they offer a turn down service - the restaurant opens at 8pm, they come round at 7pm when we were invariably getting ready or resting! We would ask them to come back and they didn't - this happened for two nights in a row. It is a very expensive hotel with our upgraded room being marketed for 500 Euros a night and breakfast 25 Euros EACH - the setting, the spa, the decor and the peace were all worth this price HOWEVER they let themselves down with the poor service and bad quality breakfasts. (and they do have a wasp problem!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We where not pleased with our stay here:
No poolside service
45 min before we had our drinks at dinner
No pool towels
We where not told about the spa, that we paid to use
To complex systems in the room regarding lights aircon sound etc
Really basic breakfast €24
Chaos at breakfast, no plates glasses napkins etc
Wasp infested
Forgot to put towels in our room
Scrabled eggs where from a prefab bottle
NO value for money
We spent €4000 in 4 days.
A suit was €700 and they carged €40 a night extra for a extra bed.
NO charm
Beautiful building

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank innagaddadavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verchant, Directeur général at Domaine de Verchant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to provide some details and specifics regarding your comment.

First, regarding your reservation, we received a call from the owner of a guesthouse in the region who sought emergency bedrooms for you because you were not satisfied with your stay and want to leave immediately. We have responded to your request for a suite and a deluxe room and were delighted to welcome you a few hours later.

The second day of your stay, you asked to change one of your bedrooms and we were able to accommodate your request.

However, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, that you were disappointed with your stay and that you found no charm at our property.

However, regarding the service pool throughout the season we have pool boys providing service from 9am to 8pm, 7 days a week. They use to set up the pool and the towels at 9am and they regularly change the towels from the pool to get new towels on the sunbeds available. We can not imagine that you did not find any pool towels during your stay.

On the spa, the fee to use the spa facilities without a treatment is totally free in July and August for all customers. None of our customers have been charged during that period, in contrast to your comment, you have not been charged for using the spa. Your invoice has been verified.

About the breakfast, two options are available, a basic one called the continental breakfast at 18 euros or the full buffet at 25 euros including a large variety of fruit juices and fresh fruit juice, a selections of teas and coffees, variety of breads and pastries, pancakes, cheese and sausage, bacon and eggs and egg-minute request ... etc ...
We do not use napkins but linen towel are on each table plus available at the buffet.
Plates are also available in different parts of the cold and hot buffet.

During the summer we had wasps on the outdoor terrace of the restaurant. If we managed to avoid discomfort around the pool, we have a large park and we are surrounded by our vineyards and nature. Caring for our environment and species around us, in spite of several but specifics treatments and avoiding planting plants such as lavender, it may be sometimes difficult to avoid totally the presence of wasps.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We arrived at this lovely looking hotel quite late in the day, as we had travelled for 6 hours from Burgundy! We were met by the porter who ran to the car park to welcome us, he quickly took our cases and showed us to the reception.

To our great surprise we were upgraded from a deluxe room to a junior suite. The room was amazing, and I wished we had been staying longer.

We ate in the hotel that night, and as it was warm enough we sat outside which was lovely. The food was faultless as were the wines, and we had an amazing experience.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsa46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

If you want luxury in a great location for exploring the Carmargue and Provence then this hotel will suit. Very comfortable bed- not so much the loungers. Loungers on our terrace had no cushions. Pool side it felt odd to be lounging amongst stylishly dressed diners and a conference table nearby. When the restaurant is busy you have no choice but to walk through the diners as they shut off the other doors to lay more tables. Would have liked to try the hydro pool in the spa but a further 20 euros fee is requested, although deducted if you book a spa treatment. I just fancied trying the pool and did not want to pay yet more. 300-500 euros a night ought to be enough! Nespresso coffee machine greatly publicised- but again 3 euros for each capsule which cost 30 pence when bought in bulk!! Breakfast good but not amazing for 25 euros. Some juices ran out, scrambled eggs were cold. Picky I know but just not good enough for that price.
Few niggles with housekeeping who will deliver 2 chocolates each day with a weather report but dirty glasses were left in the room and we had to ration our loo roll on returning late one night!! No hot water on two evenings which would be disappointing if you paid for one of the all singing all dancing showers!
All in all a very beautiful and classy establishment but they could work harder to be warmer and
make the place feel like a hotel and not a business. When we arrived, around 3pm we asked to sit for a drink and they were not keen as ironing the table cloths for dinner. There were armchairs but no umbrellas over these and it was scorching. We sat at a table and ordered some wine and asked for something to eat, assuming a snack menu would be forthcoming. No- a bowl of peanuts! After reading the manual later- we discovered a room service menu so were perplexed why we could not have a club sandwich downstairs. Ordering drinks poolside I felt like a nuisance as the bar and restaurant were flat out with a large party in the restaurant.
As I said, luxury in a great area but at that price they should work on their hospitality and ambience for a truly great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettybookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at Domaine de Verchant for our tenth wedding anniversary. We wanted seclusion, peace, good food and good wine, and it delivered on all counts. Our standard room was luxurious and comfortable, although the bed apart there was nowhere to sit. We noted the lack of vegetarian choices - although not an issue for us, it did seem strange. True, the hotel courts the corporate and events market, and is perhaps not the place to go if you see a lively, sociable stay. With a wedding on our first night and a function on our last, we had ample opportunity to people-watch - but service was at times slow.

The half-board option restricted our choice to whatever dish the chef chose to offer us - but we're not fussy eaters! The food in any case was delightful - beef on the first night, sea bass on the second, and guinea fowl to round off our stay. That day, however, we got the same starter at lunch and dinner. As it happened, we were more than happy as we loved the dish - but it does suggest a lack of care for detail. The place has its own vineyard, and we tried the wine tasting with lunch on day - followed by a long afternoon nap.

Breakfast was a splendid affair but beware - no classic fry-ups here. There were eggs cooked to order and an ample choice of fruits, cereals, cheeses and breads. The coffee was strong and plentiful.

The spa is terrific. My wife had the best massage she can remember, whilst I enjoyed the pool in splendid isolation - at only 15 meters in length that was probably a good thing! There was bottled water freely available, and an exciting array of tropical settings in the pool shower to cool down after a plunge in the balmy jacuzzi.

We encountered no problems with the staff's linguistic skills. I spent the three days resolutely sticking to my pidgin French, but all the staff were helpful, attentive and seemed comfortable with English. Maybe they've been on a course.

All in all, recommended for anyone after peace, quiet and a little bit of luxury.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are lovely, but have no seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I loved it. It was top notch, service was fabulous and the food and wine were excellent. the Spa was wonderful with a very accomadiating staff. You could not have asked for more. Unlike other reviewers I thought it was magical. Yes not all the staff spoke English, but you know what, I was in France. But if they did not, they tried. We had a wonderful room with a patio. We did a wine tasting with lunch and it was outstanding. They may not had a lot of selection, but they did a great tasting menu of the day. It was a great way to spend a birthday. I would go back in a heart beat. It was the end of trip to Italy in France and it was a great place to end it. So relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookieCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnau-le-Lez
2.1 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,302 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
#14 of 93 in Montpellier
478 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
#10 of 93 in Montpellier
597 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Verchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Verchant

Address: 1 boulevard Philippe Lamour, 34170 Castelnau-le-Lez, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier > Castelnau-le-Lez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castelnau-le-Lez
Price Range: £149 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Domaine de Verchant 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 hectare of vineyard surrounds The Domaine de Verchant hotel & spa composed of 16 exquisite rooms, junior suites and apartments. The decoration of the hotel was entrusted to the care of Raymond Morel, a renowned interior decorator who has reinvented and recreated a number of prestigious Parisian hotels. Elegant modernity is rendered by international designed furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Domaine de Verchant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Verchant Hotel Castelnau-Le-Lez
Domaine De Verchant France/Castelnau-Le-Lez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing