We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villers-Bocage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Ferme du Pressoir
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at La Ferme du Pressoir in late May while visiting the Normandy area, D-Day beaches. This is about 20 minutes away from Bayeux and we thought it was worth the drive. First of all, Odile is completely charming. Her English is limited (our French even more limited), but she was so kind and amenable that it wasn't a barrier in any way. We stayed in one of the rooms in the gite, which was lovely, clean and comfortable. Comfortable beds. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful. See all the sites of Normandy and come back here to forget that you are a "tourist."

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyMinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I chose this because of the great reviews and its great location. It is perfectly situated if you want to tour the Normandy D-Day beaches, Bayeaux, Rouen, and Mont St. Michel. We drove in from Caen and had no trouble finding it. Odile gives great directions on her website and the roads are very easy to navigate. The farm is located in the quiet hamlet of Le Haut St Louet just outside of Villers Bocage. It is very charming and Odile is such a wonderful host. I can't say enough nice things about her. She made us feel very welcome even when we arrived much earlier than the normal check-in time. She gave us pastries and coffee and hot chocolate and had our room ready in no time. She understands more English than she can speak so we didn't have much trouble communicating. I tried to speak some French to her and I could tell that she appreciated that. Breakfasts were beyond amazing. There were wonderful pastries, local cheeses, cereal, omelets, fruits and yogurt. She lets you pack the leftovers to eat later too. You won't go hungry here!! She also has lots of brochures and suggestions of places to visit in the area. I suggest driving the Suisse Normandie route which is close by and is a gorgeous scenic drive. My husband and I plan to go back to Normandie soon and we will definitely stay with Odile again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This is the place to stay in Normandy. Convenient to all sites and with all the comforts of home - the proprietor Odille's home but she'll make you feel so welcome you'll feel like a member of the family. Large well appointed rooms, modern bathrooms, and the charm of a real French country farm house. Because, that is what it is. Did I mention the breakfast? Really a feast in the morning with flexible serving hours. If anything is left on the table, you are encouraged to take it with you while seeing the sites. The cost is but €80 per night not per person, but per room. Our room could have easily slept 4. This is a wonderful place to stay. You'll feel right at home in France!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

From the moment we arrived until our departure 4 days later, La Ferme was the perfect place for our home base in Normandie. Odile was the perfect hostess and a great historian of this beautiful farm. Our room (La Chambre Rose) was beautiful, with a great view of the property. The breakfasts and sack lunches were hearty and kept us full all day. Several evenings we cooked our own dinners in the small kitchen. It was hard to leave this lovely spot. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you are renting a car and traveling in the Normandy area, the perfect and serene setting lies outside the village of Villers-Bocage. La Ferme du Pressoir has old world charm on a quiet and peaceful farm setting. With free and secure parking, central attractions, such as Le Mont St-Michel, Honfleur, Bayeux, Beaches of Normandy, etc. are all with ease of daily travel. Return to the quiet setting in the evening and awake to a breakfast room that is filled with the smell of fresh coffee, home-made jellies, honey, breads, pastries, cereal, juice and the best and freshest omelette that has ever touched your palette. After the meal, the kind and generous hostess, Odile, offers you a bag so you can pack lunch for a picnic later. Odile is a bundle of energy and quite an expert with her materials on the Calvados area. Her French is charming, but she also comprehends English and with a good ear, you will be able to communicate. You will find departure difficult, for this experience will certainly touch your senses. Thank you, Odile, for your attention to our needs and comfort. We will spread the good news and return on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in September. There is nothing to complain about, but much to compliment. The location is central to many attractions: 30 minutes to Bayeaux, an hour to Le Mont St-Michel, an hour to Honfleur, 90 minutes to Etretat, 45 minutes to Longue-sur-mer. Odile, the proprietor, was welcoming, warm, and wonderful. We stayed in the Marine Room (as in maritime), with plenty of room to spread out and move in. It was very quiet throughout the night. Odile's breakfasts are almost overwhelming with the selection of fresh breads, pastries, home-made jams/jellies, local honey, cereal, and then she will offer to prepare an omelette with any combination of ham, onions, mushrooms, and cheese. Then she offers a bag so that you can put together your own picnic from the breakfast table overflow. It's wonderful. I would return without a second thought.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for our tour around Normandy. Odile is the perfect hostess--warm, generous, funny, helpful...the best! We stayed for 7 nights in the Marine Room and could not have been more comfortable. Breakfast every morning was delicious, and she provided sacks for us to pack up the leftovers for a midday picnic while out sight-seeing. From the farm, we easily visited Le Mont Saint Michel, Honfleur, Etretat, the D-Day sites, and Bayeux. All in all, we could not have been happier with our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverlylt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villers-Bocage
1.4 mi away
Manoir de la Riviere
Manoir de la Riviere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
16.4 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
13.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
13.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Au Vieux Puits
Hotel Au Vieux Puits
#2 of 3 in Villers-Bocage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme du Pressoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme du Pressoir

Property: La Ferme du Pressoir
Address: Le Haut St Louet, 14310 Villers-Bocage, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Villers-Bocage
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Villers-Bocage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer Bed and Breakfast rooms and /or a self catering cottage. Ideally situated for visiting the D-day beaches, Mont St Michel and Bayeux. Come and sample our home-made cider and Calvados and our very good breakfasts!!! We really try our best to ensure that you thoroughly enjoy your stay on our working farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Ferme Du Pressoir Hotel Villers-Bocage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing