We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Vernon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have never been so comfortable - in my own home or a family member's home - as I was in Ariane and Alain's beautiful home. Writing in my journal while seated at a breakfast table full of croissants, fruit, cheeses, coffee, juice and yogurt while a perfectly formed, coral-colored rose greeted me on the other side of lace-covered curtains...I could simply dissolve into this place and never resurface!
For one like me who enjoys discovery by foot, the location is perfect. Situated halfway along the footpath between Vernon and Giverny, either direction will deliver important and enjoyable cultural, aesthetic and historically significant encounters. Ariane and Alain were generous with their knowledge and affection for the region, and recommended an inconspicuous restaurant in Vernon where I ate divinely! The history of their home and their loving attention to its restoration is evident in the hospitality and respect that they show to travelers who are likewise attracted to the area. I cannot say enough about my wonderful experience, and I hope to return again and again.

Room Tip: The only available room was The Birds, which is far too big for a single traveler, but was PERFECT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights to visit Monet's garden & house in May. The experience was most enjoyable. This is a beautiful old house, being restored. (This did not impede on us at all) Our hosts Alain & Ariane were delightful & nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were excellent, having better amenities than some 4 star hotels we have stayed in. There was such an attention to detail in the 2 rooms we occupied. Each was different but lovely. The breakfasts were huge & varied - a feast to start the day.
It was close to the gardens, which were delightful to visit. This is a lovely part of France. The only downfall was that the restaurants were closed when we arrived on a Monday, but the hotels were not, so no real problems.
I would thoroughly recommend this delightful B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCSC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

If you are going to visit the Monet gardens, I would thoroughly recommend making it an overnight trip and staying here. This is a beautiful property and the hosts, Alain and Ariane are lovely people who go above and beyond to accommodate you and make you feel welcome. The town of Vernon itself is pretty and worth a wander round. Make sure you ask Alain about the history of the house; when you know how much effort has gone into restoring it, it becomes even more impressive. I intend to go back and spend some more happy hours sipping wine in the garden!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefnymulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed 2 lovely nights at The Hermitage in late October. Although the weather could have been better we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful country B & B. It was an easy short train ride from Paris and just a 30 minute walk to the house.The beautiful property is ideally situated half way between Vernon and Giverny, an enjoyablee walking distance to both. The Bird Room is big, fun and beautiful. The breakfasts were fantastic and Alain and Ariane were the most wonderful hosts.
Staying at The Hermitage was a highlight of our 3 week trip. We'd love to return sometime and highly recommend this beautiful B&B as a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimnpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this beautiful and serene B&B mid-way between the town of Vernon and the village of Giverny at the beginning of September. It is located on the main road from Vernon to Giverny. Just like dozens of other houses located on the main road, it is built on a slope, with a path running parallel to the road right at the back. It’s a very beautiful path, great for walking and cycling with numerous opportunities for taking pictures.

The Hermitage is a big manor made of stone and wood, set in a very large garden with numerous trees and flowers. The owners, Alain and his wife Ariane, offer two rooms for their B&B service in a structure attached to the main building.

We had the bigger “Birds” room downstairs (the smaller “Flowers” room was upstairs). With a double bed, a single bed and a baby’s cot, the room could accommodate three adults or a family with two kids. It was a very spacious room with a dining table, a sofa and coffee table, plus a very big bathroom complete with bathtub and bidet. The furniture and decoration was very traditional and tasteful, and evoked a country feeling.

Alain was a very nice guy and gave us a lot of advise on visiting Giverny and Monet’s house and garden. Ariane brought us a fabulous breakfast the next morning (see pictures).

While we were completely happy with the Hermitage, we evidently picked the wrong day to visit, a Sunday. Vernon was so quiet on a Sunday. The shuttle bus between Vernon and Giverny would not stop at the Hermitage for us, and there was no taxi to be seen around the train station in the afternoon. After waiting fruitlessly for almost half an hour, and finding no help at the train station at all, we decided to walk to town centre where there was a tourist office. Following the sign outside the train station, we went through the parking lot on the northwest side of the train station building, and then scaled the elevated road that crossed the rail tracks. After walking for well over 20 minutes all by ourselves in the sizzling sun (there was literally no one walking around, all the people we saw were in cars) we were quite lost. Luckily, a taxi suddenly appeared out of nowhere, and we were taken to the Hermitage in about 10 minutes. This was of course not the owners' fault, but one would need to plan one's arrival carefully.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allanng2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We found the Hermitage on Trip Advisor. We have not been disappointed. Alain and Ariane have lovingly restored this house to its former glory. The rooms are rustic with 18C charm. Everything you could possibly need they have thought of. Breakfast served in the room was beautiful with home made jam and fresh fruit from the garden. Ideal hosts and well located for visiting Monets Garden. Would highly recommend the Hermitage and would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have just enjoyed a fantastic break at L'Hermitage. The location is ideal for Monet's Garden and the B&B itself is a classic old farmhouse with an authentic feel and plenty of space. Alain & Arianne are excellent hosts, anticipate the needs of their guests very well and are an outstanding source of information about the region. Breakfast delivered to your room with the windows open and the birds singing is a lovely start to the day!
Would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Birds Room is the largest and best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 38 route de Giverny, 27200 Vernon, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast Vernon, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing