We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Esquis' as they say in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Lagon - CLOSED

Le Lagon
Price range: US$26 - US$54
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: What if we gave a moment jazzy and greedy to downtown Vernon? Elegant and friendly atmosphere, sleek setting and design, culinary variations around Norman products: restaurant Le Lagon delight the taste buds demanding gourmets.TRADITION & CREATIVITY - Here, classic French cuisine with passion are revisited, the products are fresh and seasonal. Cromesquis andouille de Vire camembert and apple confit with rosemary, seared foie gras macaroon or flank pigeon, chartreuse rabbit Burgundian way and mulled wine poached pear way to finish off.SPOT MODE - Terrace Lounge to relax, seminars and private events, this hip hangout has become indispensable.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'Esquis' as they say in France”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The meal I had at Le Lagon was quite simply first rate. Beautifully presented and prepared to perfection. A true gastronomic experience. I shall be returning there sans doute!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GilbertRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    43
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
292 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Presentation is everything.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After a wonderful morning at Monet's garden we headed to Le Lagon, due to the reviews on T/A. Despite our lack of French, the waitress was able to capably seat us & show us the variances of the menu. On offer a 3 course option for 21.90€, or 2 course for 19.00€, note there are only 2 choices per course. My husband chose the 3 course option, bruschetta with ratatouille, fresh & tasty, followed by pork with mustard sauce, very nice, then dessert, described as a meringue with ice cream & cream, however there was a lost in translation moment, but not to worry, it turned out to be what we describe as 2 flavours of sorbet, decorated with cream, surrounded by a raspberry coulis, this scored maximum points. I, being a delicate flower, have trouble, eating 3 courses at lunch, so opted for the scallops, from the a la carte menu, these were absolutely sensational, exquisitely plated, the taste to die for. All this washed down with a bottle of Chablis 34€.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foreverdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Go and discover a culinary delight”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

At first glance, Le Lagon is close to a small roundabout and appears a modern furnished and decorated restaurant. If you are in Vernon go in without delay. The cuisine is excellent starting with a delicious "Amuse Bouche" and followed, in our case, by s delicious 3 course dinner. The wine list is veryd good and provided a good choice. The cost of the meal and wine was not expensive relative to what was presented and have paid double elsewhere for similar quality. Very pleased we visited.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DBFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Went last Wednesday the 17/07/2013 with some friends. Staff very friendly, we speak French but the waiter was witty and wanted to practice his English! For starters we had the oeufs and the encornets, then our group followed up with the salmon, pork and tornedos. As someone said before, the fondant au chocolat is amazing. Get a table on the roof terrace and you feel like you are on holiday. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Smart, carefully assembled dishes - enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Arrived early but were greeted pleasantly. Ate from the set menu everything was nicely cooked if a little under seasoned. Poached eggs perfectly cooked. Main course very elegantly arranged - pork served rosé - plates and food could gave been hotter (despite a warning that plates were hot). Desserts were fabulous- a saint honore and a gateau de riz with rosemary creme anglaise. All good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank horacesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Lagon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing