We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Normandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Normandy
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Lyon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

A old hotel, good food, good freakfast, people are nice.
Just the rooms are a bit old, but it add a little charm on jour staying.
Is the Average price for Vernon (a bit expensive, I don't understand why).
Location is excelent, with a lot of place to park the car and on the city center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccompagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    82
    66
    22
    6
See reviews for
30
86
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed as a group one night in September as was close to Monet's -Garden-beautiful old building -very characteristic-very pretty courtyard where we had our evening meal -rooms ok but needed a bit of tlc -bathrooms very clean -but it's the food and the appalling attitude of the staff that really let this place down . The evening meal was a shambles even though the group that we were traveling with had used the hotel several times before -we had been asked if we would stagger our mealtimes in order to give the staff a chance to catch up but even so it was very chaotic .Breakfast was very much the same -not enough food for everyone and once something was finished -the staff would not replenish it -they were surly -sullen and collectively could not manage a smile-wouldn't recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: Hotel on corner of a busy street-rooms on the side are marginally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chletenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

One night stay as part of a group found the facilities well up to standard but the restaurant, where the food was perfectly acceptable, was grossly understaffed - to the extent that one felt sorry for them. There is a comfortable bar - but it's British theming could best be described as a 'brave effort', probably by a Swede who'd spent one night in Canterbury in 1967 and owned a 1936 Baedeker guide to the Cotswolds. That aside I'd certainly stay here again quite happily. WiFi coverage excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at The Hotel Normandy and it was not as pleasant the second time around. At least the first time we stayed the room was bright and pleasant, it was very noisy overlooking an party and music hangout across the street. They partied til the very early hours and as it was stifling hot we couldn't close the windows. This time the room was shabby with hard beds , an outdated bathroom with worn towels and it overlooked the outdoor dining terrace which got bust about 8:30PM and went on for hours. This would have been OK as it was just dinner but again it was stifling hot, (30+) so we innocently left the windows open and as is common in France after dinner it seems every one lights up a cigarette and the smoke pours into our non-smoking room.
The breakfast was adequate although overpriced but the scrambled eggs were cold, they hadn't lit the warmers underneath the tray.
I feel this hotel should be a 2 star at beast, it is old and in dire need of updating and air-conditioning in the summer.

Room Tip: Overlooking the terrace is nice if you can take the cigarette smell. It isn't as noisy as the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Fawlty Towers has been reborn here - dreadful food and service. Rooms were dated, basic and have no air conditioning. A must in 30 degree temperatures. Rooms facing noisy road with loud music playing from bar opposite. Located centrally and near for Monet gardens but this is poor value for money -Avoid

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fryston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louet sur Vire, Normandy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and friendly, gave us the wifi codes, told us how to park in the underground car park and told us that we could get drinks in the lounge 24/7.

Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable, however, it was all pretty basic and in my opinion the 3 stars are for the lounge area and size of the room, not for anything else. I have stayed in 2 star hotels that are 20-25 euros per night cheaper with breakfast being 3-4 euros cheaper which are actually better. The cost of the room was 86 euros and it would have been an additional 21 euros had we chosen to have breakfast, making it over 100 euros per night and it certainy wasn't worth that.

After a long hot drive up from Burgundy we freshened up and headed off to the lounge area which looked extremely comfortable to sit and read our books and enjoy a drink.

We got downstairs at 6pm and as there was no one around my husband wandered into the bar to order a drink. H was told very abruptly that the bar did not open until 7pm and he could not have a drink until then. So much for 24/7, which I later discovered was only for soft drinks but the barman didn't even ask what we wanted. It was pouring with rain outside so we decided not to venture out but to sit and wait. The lounge slowly filled up with a coach party, also wanting drinks. At around 6.50 the receptionist then doubled up as a drinks waiter and came round taking orders, starting the other side of the room from us, although he had seen us sitting there since 6pm. My husband decided that if we waited for waiter service it would be an eternity for our parched throats to wait. So at 2 minutes to 7 he went into the bar again. Again the manager told him that the bar didn't open until 7 and that he must go into the lounge to order his drinks. This bar has doors onto the street and it advertised as a "pub" and is open to non-residents, the lounge isn't. So my husband said he would wait the two minutes until 7pm but would then like to be served in the bar. The barman refused. My husband in the end stood there and had to have the following conversation:

"is this a bar?"
"yes"
"Do you sell drinks?"
"Yes"
"can I please buy a drink?"
"No, you have to order from the lounge"
"Are you serving people from off the street?"
"Yes"
"Then I'm not moving until you serve me a drink......PLEASE"

He got his drinks but the barman refused to pour them himself and got a waitress, who was laying up tables to do it for him.

We later came back for dinner (only because the restaurant in town that I had booked had decided to close unexpectedly and ignore our booking!)

The restaurant was absolute mayhem with one waitress and one waiter trying to serve about 70 people. We waited 30 minutes for a menu - I would have walked out but by then it was 8.45, I was starving and I doubted we would find anywhere else. The couple at the next table were waiting for one dessert, the waitress had brought one, in one hand and then disappeared and they had to wait over 30 minutes for the 2nd dessert to be brought to the table.

We then decided to have the cheapest things on the menu because we had read bad reviews but in fairness, although the service was atrocious, the food was actually pretty good!

When I say the service was atrocious, the staff were friendly enough but I don't believe they could possibly have had the usual rigourous college training that French waiting staff usually have and they certainly needed more help, which I blame on the management, knowing that they had a coach party of some 60 Brits, as well as other hotel guests, they should perhaps have not allowed the restaurant to be open to non-residents as well. The manager, although much more amenable once dinner service had died down, had no organisational skills whatsoever.

It appears that these coach parties are a regular feature at this hotel so surely by now they should be able to cope a little better.

Something beyond the hotel's control but you may wish to bear in mind; it was a hot night with no AC so having a window open was vital. There was a loud karaoke bar across the street and the hotel is next to the hospital so there were a lot of sirens going too.

I would not stay here, or in fact in Vernon again, if I were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiaumerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Vernon is a small, unassuming town with not much to do, but provides a pleasant night's stay for visitors to Giverny nearby. The parish church is worth a visit. The Hotel Normandy is clean and convenient, and good value for money for visitors passing through. All the staff on the desk are pleasant and helpful and the hotel is very efficient. The downside is the hotel restaurant next door - service is appalling and the staff indifferent to customers. When we attempted to eat there, we were told very ordinary dishes such as tuna salad were 'off the menu' - with a shrug of the shoulders and a roll of eyes. We would recommend the Hotel Normandy, but eat somewhere else, or starve!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infinite__owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
2.5 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
#4 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#2 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Normandy

Property: Hotel Normandy
Address: 1 avenue Pierre Mendes France, 27200 Vernon, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Normandy 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Normandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Normandy Vernon
Hotel Normandy Vernon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing