We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb chateau with great food! We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chateau de Montvillargenne
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gouvieux
Louvilliers les Perche
1 review
“Superb chateau with great food! We loved it!”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

A great chateau hotel with good facilities in an excellent location. The main building is very historical. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which helped us to enjoy our stay even more. It is a nice hotel in a beautiful surrounding. Reception, bar & restaurant service was very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Excellent facilities and clean. Our room was nicely decorated with beautiful furnitures. I would recommend to everyone but it will be a costly stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekap_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    258
    185
    136
    63
See reviews for
87
464
6
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

After looking at the great pictures of the Chateau, we decided it looked really nice. Don't be fooled. Although the Chateau looks impressive - it is the only things that is!!! We arrived very tired late in the afternoon - nobody around to help us with our baggage, several staff walked straight passed us and just ignored us. Their attitude was very arrogant and ignorant! Our room was pleasant enough but no air conditioning which was really needed. Finally got ourelves to our room and decided to have a drink in the bar area downstairs. After waiting for about half an hour, nobody came so we had to go and seek out the staff ourselves! This went on all evening - as the staff did not seem to acknowlege their guests in anyway, shape or form. There seemed to be a lot of 'parties' staying at the hotel. Nothing wrong with this but this is just what the hotel seemed to be aiming its main business at. There was no regard for the single customers! The restuarant was in a lovely room but again the service was slow, the menu limited and expensive and definitely not worth the money.
Very odd atmosphere in the whole hotel.
Just to add insult to injury, on the Friday night we stayed there, they had a party in one of the function rooms downstairs. This was fine and it was pretty lively all evening. We had a drink in the bar and then went to bed about 1130pm. By 1:30am the music was still blaring out (bearing in mind we were on the third floor) but I thought it would stop very soon. At 3:30am it was still going on and people were yelling and carrying on in the garden!!!! We rang reception at this time and told them that we had no intention of paying for this nights stay as we had had no sleep whatsoever - they did not apologise - just said they would get Guest Relations to ring us in the morning - they never did! On checking out, we were presented with a full bill, including the last nights stay. We told them we had no intention of paying for the last nights room and they were aghast to think that we had been disturbed. Again no apology, very arrogant attitude - they wanted to charge us 50% but we just stood our ground as pretty fed up by now.

If you want a Chateau holiday - do not stay here. If you want good service, attention to detail and value for money this is not the hotel for you. If you want to stay at a bizarre holiday camp run by arrogant rude people - please go ahead.

Very very frustrated couple!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Red_1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gouvieux hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Beautiful property. I really liked the landscaping and the gardens. Just gourgeous.
Unluckily most of the property is not air conditioned and during my stay the weather was extremely hot. Furthermore it really shows its age.

It is mostly used as a corporate retreat location and the meeting facilities are very nice.

The room I was assigned was not that nice. Basically in a basement.

Room Tip: Definitely do not get a room in the 500s. They are below ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malatestiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotogrande , Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed three nights to take in the horse racing in Chantilly and generally chill out. The hotel reception area was OK and we got an OK reception but beyond that we have to say everything was less than OK.

The buffet style breakfasts were pretty forgettable, our room was dark and produced a strange noise early morning ( 5.00 a.m. ), which we put down to the plumbing.

Another disappointment was that the indoor pool was closed and the leisure centre resembled the main deck on the Marie Celeste.

I think this is advertised as four star, but the facilities and service were not. I would recommend using smaller and better boutique hotels in the area, unless you are desperate to use the gym and have a swim, ( if its open that is ).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SotoWindMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We booked 1 night with the Chateaux after getting a Groupon deal- we were worried that they might treat us differently because of this but it was not the case! The Chateau was lovely, both inside and out. We knew we'd be in the annex- the rooms weren't amazing or anything but definitely ok, and we barely spent time in there anyways.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was absolutely delicious and service impeccable (although definitely pricey). We were amazed at the big portions and the quality of everything we ate.

The next day they were kind enough to let us check out at noon but use all their facilities until whenever we wanted, so we played tennis, laid by the pool, and my boyfriend used the gym and hammam.

The breakfast was varied and yummy as well- I really can't complain about anything, we had a truly wonderful, romantic stay- and just 5 minutes (by car) from the Chateau de Chantilly and everything there was to see there!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meli242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We were hoping for a quiet hideaway in the forest of Chantilly but it didn't turn out that way. The hotel was bustling and although we arrived at 17:00, our room wasn't ready. The room was very disappointing and didn't look at all like the standard room advertised when we booked. The photographs were very misleading. The room was small and shabby, with no air conditioning. Very overpriced for what you got. We checked out early.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Romantic situation and ambience, not easy to find and I confirm, you need a car to get there. Perfect location for first or last night in Paris - only 20min from CDG airport. Picturesque setting, superb façade, warm hospitality, wellness center with massage and pool that allowd us to relax and unwind. We really appreciated our stay in a superior room located in the main building.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriel_lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvieux
2.5 mi away
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
#1 of 6 in Chantilly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tiara Chateau Hotel Mont Royal Chantilly
Tiara Chateau Hotel Mont Royal C...
#1 of 1 in La Chapelle-en-Serval
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Chateau de la Tour
Le Chateau de la Tour
#1 of 2 in Gouvieux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Du Parc
9.3 mi away
Chateau Saint Just
Chateau Saint Just
#1 of 1 in Belle Eglise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Relais d'Aumale
Le Relais d'Aumale
#1 of 2 in Orry-la-Ville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau de Montvillargenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau de Montvillargenne

Property: Hotel Chateau de Montvillargenne
Address: 6 avenue Francois Mathet, 60270 Gouvieux, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Gouvieux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gouvieux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau de Montvillargenne 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chateau de Montvillargenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Montvillargenne Gouvieux
Chateau De Montvillargenne Hotel Gouvieux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing