We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay in a charming house”
Review of La Roseraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Roseraie
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay in a charming house”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed in La Roseraie for one night in september on our way to Cherbourg. We arrived late and very tired after driving all day to be welcomed by Michael and a delicious meal prepared by Heather which we enjoyed immensely in the company of the other guests.
Our room was very well appointed with garden view, breakfast was lovely with home prepared breads and jams.

We would certainly love to return for a longer stay next time to avail of the pool and explore the region.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galwayfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    40
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
107
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisieux, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have just enjoyed two very pleasant nights at this lovely Chambre d'hote. Heather and Michael were very friendly and the two girls helping out were also friendly and helpful.
We had the double room on the top floor with the twin room making the 'family' suite. Both have separate bathrooms, ideal if you have children as they are just next to you but you and they have their privacy. We ate in the first night and Heather went out of her way to accommodate our various likes and dislikes for the meal - which we thoroughly enjoyed.
The Bistro is a great idea with an 'honesty bar' TV and loads of DVDs etc, and a lovely breakfast served in there too. Also near the pool is a small WC/ changing area which is great so you dont have to walk back through the house to your room.
Also close by to Poitiers to visit the town and only 10/15 mins away from Futuroscope, where I took the boys on Monday and spent a most enjoyable day.
All in all a lovely place, thank you Heather and Michael

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

2 nights stay on way back to Calais. Not quite the favourite but close to it. Good value in beautiful place. Just a shame we couldn't do dinner both nights (the owners were having a day out with the family) as the dinner at a local hotel (le chevaux blanc) was very disappointing in comparison for food, service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way down to the South of France. Our hosts were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The pool was fantastic and the kids loved it after a day travelling in the car. We had dinner here and it was a wonderful three course meal with wine. I would recommend anyone to stay here - fantastic

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We absolutely loved our one night stay at La Roseraie.
A very warm welcome of both Heather and Michael in their beautiful home, an amazing garden/park with fruit trees and flowers everywhere.
Our room in the garden to the right was decorated with a very personal touch, beautiful furniture, fresh flowers in the bathroom and the most amazing disco shower head which we had great laughs about - never seen ever before.
Our room was next to the little shared area w/ nice Chesterfield sofas, tv and tea & coffee 24/7.
Breakfast was very good, great fresh brewed coffee, yummy baguettes,croissants, homemade jam of various kinds, cereal, fruit, juice etc.
We would recommend this to anybody for a shorter stay, totally relaxation or just for a night while driving around exploring the Loire Valley.
Heather & Michael are amazing & brave for creating this gem in a tiny town where not much is going on - but you where you will experience the real French life.Great for people who enjoy peace & the beauty France unfiltered.
We enjoyed it very much and will be back again next time we are in the Loire area!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PixiePoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heatherlavender, Owner at La Roseraie, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for your glowing review - we very much enjoyed your company in the short time that you stayed at La Roseraie. But we are not brave! We love what we do and the many interesting and charming guests that come through our door. Our region is centrally located and steeped in history, charm and interest, although this is difficult to appreciate if you are only with us for one night.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back, the next time you are in our region and send our warmest wishes to you both. Heather and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswood
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

What a delight to arrive at La Roseraie after a long journey and to be given such a warm welcome by Michael.
He showed us to our rooms which were lovely. Tastefully decorated with a good deal of thought given to ensure a good night's sleep in comfortable accomodation. Bathroom facilities were very good with the best shower I have had in two weeks.
We joined our fellow guests for a delicious dinner prepared and cooked by Michael's lovely wife Heather. My only criticism would be that the service was a little on the slow side - but as we were trying to improve our French with our table companions it was not too noticeable.

My only regret is that we were not able to spend more time at La Roseraie or to explore the village and local environment. A good excuse to return!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyKingswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Just stayed over night enroute to Calais. Warmly welcomed, beautiful building expertly made over into a hotel. Very comfortable rooms and even more importantly, comfortable beds and a good strong shower.

First class dinner, so good they have kindly sent me the recipe.

Cannot recommend too highly and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynBatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuville de Poitou
13.9 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
11.7 mi away
ACE Hotel Poitiers
ACE Hotel Poitiers
#3 of 36 in Poitiers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
16.1 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudi...
#7 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
6.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers Nord
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers No...
#5 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roseraie

Property: La Roseraie
Address: 78 rue Armand Caillard | Poitiers, Vienne., 86170 Neuville de Poitou, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Neuville de Poitou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Neuville de Poitou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roseraie 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly recommended Bed & Breakfast (4 epis awarded by Gites de France; also selected by Sawdays Special Places to Stay and Michelin Guide). With two beautiful self-catering cottages in flower-filled gardens & parkland. Large heated salt water pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi, secure parking. Walking distance to village shops & restaurants (including a Michelin Star restaurant). 10 Minutes from A10 and Futuroscope and 15 minutes from Poitiers. Central for Poitiers, Loire Valley, La Rochelle and Ile de Re. Perfect for couples and families alike. A home from home for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing