We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly convivial, beautiful setting”
Review of La Roseraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Roseraie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here in July for two nights- on our way south ( Roussillon) and on our return journey. It was just the ideal distance from Cherbourg or Caen. We arrived in Cherbourg at lunchtime and it took us 5 hours to get to Neuville ( it's about 3 and a half from Caen)- just right to take advantage of the lovely pool and gardens before changing for dinner.We would highly recommend eating at the Roseraie, especially on your first night. Heather's food is fantastic and it was very convivial eating outside in the garden under the pergola with other guests. Everyone has a story to tell about places they have visited or are going to visit so it is very easy to make conversation. On each occasion, there was an even mix of French and English guests and it added even more interest to the exchanges. The rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, although quite small. It was very hot when we were there, and our only slightly negative comment is that we would have appreciated a fan in our room to sleep more comfortably. The bathrooms have clearly been modernized very recently and had state of the art showers and washing facilities. There are no facilities for making tea in the rooms but there is a small sitting room for guests to use. There is permanent hot water and a welcome addition would have been a small fridge containing fresh milk rather than the little pots of the not particularly pleasant long- life variety. Breakfast was good- lots of choice, good bread and croissants and home-made jam. We stayed on a Saturday on our return journey and left on Sunday to head to the ferry port. Sunday is a terrible day for finding restaurants in France- especially in August and in Normandy. Next year, we will make use of the market which takes place on Sunday mornings in Neuville and buy picnic food before we set off- there seemed to be a really good choice as we passed by and we regretted not stocking up when we struggled to find anywhere open ( all closed for the holiday!). An excellent place to unwind when undertaking a long journey- very conveniently situated- convivial, lovely location and the food is wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeJuBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for La Roseraie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful home. Michael & Heather are both warm & gracious hosts.
Michael gave us helpful directions in finding this little gem, tucked away in the French countryside.

Opt in for the four course home cooked dinner. It's great value & wonderfully prepared.

This is the perfect place to stay to explore the chateaus of the Loire Vallley.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulrampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We arrived exhausted after a long flight and 400Km drive and immediately enjoyed the comforts offered. A refreshing shower in a newly remodelled bathroom perked us up. Heather offered the menu for the evening which was delicious including fresh local produce. Breakfast was the perfect French experience, fresh crusty bread, home-made jams, "real" coffee and a chance to get to know our hosts. Michael and Heather made our stay really enjoyable, ably assisted by Bella and Barby, the Jack Russels. With their understated and casual way, it's easy to imagine you're spending time with friends. We highly recommend anyone enjoy the convivial and comfortable atmosphere at La Rosaraie. We imagine that it is even more enjoyable when the Summer pool season and the social atmosphere of Le Bistro and patios is in full swing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heatherlavender, Owner at La Roseraie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Thank you for choosing La Roseraie and for taking the time to write your review. In these busy times, it is much appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and I'm so glad that you like our 'posh' new bathrooms! We hope we will see you again sometime in the future, and in the meantime, we send our warmest wishes, Heather and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

La Roseraie has exactly the right mix of a gorgeous building, beautifully furnished and a lovely garden with a very inviting swimming pool. Heather cooks delicious meals and her homemade preserves for breakfast are scrumptious. We have stayed there many times and the high standard has been kept on every occasion.

Room Tip: They are all delightful.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed in La Roseraie for one night in september on our way to Cherbourg. We arrived late and very tired after driving all day to be welcomed by Michael and a delicious meal prepared by Heather which we enjoyed immensely in the company of the other guests.
Our room was very well appointed with garden view, breakfast was lovely with home prepared breads and jams.

We would certainly love to return for a longer stay next time to avail of the pool and explore the region.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank galwayfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have just enjoyed two very pleasant nights at this lovely Chambre d'hote. Heather and Michael were very friendly and the two girls helping out were also friendly and helpful.
We had the double room on the top floor with the twin room making the 'family' suite. Both have separate bathrooms, ideal if you have children as they are just next to you but you and they have their privacy. We ate in the first night and Heather went out of her way to accommodate our various likes and dislikes for the meal - which we thoroughly enjoyed.
The Bistro is a great idea with an 'honesty bar' TV and loads of DVDs etc, and a lovely breakfast served in there too. Also near the pool is a small WC/ changing area which is great so you dont have to walk back through the house to your room.
Also close by to Poitiers to visit the town and only 10/15 mins away from Futuroscope, where I took the boys on Monday and spent a most enjoyable day.
All in all a lovely place, thank you Heather and Michael

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

2 nights stay on way back to Calais. Not quite the favourite but close to it. Good value in beautiful place. Just a shame we couldn't do dinner both nights (the owners were having a day out with the family) as the dinner at a local hotel (le chevaux blanc) was very disappointing in comparison for food, service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuville de Poitou
13.9 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
565 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudi...
#7 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
408 reviews
5.1 mi away
Logis Auberge Du Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
5.7 mi away
Novotel Poitiers Site du Futuroscope
Novotel Poitiers Site du Futuros...
#6 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
1,055 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Le Bois De La Marche
Best Western Le Bois De La March...
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-le-Comte
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roseraie

Address: 78 rue Armand Caillard | Poitiers, Vienne., 86170 Neuville de Poitou, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Neuville de Poitou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Neuville de Poitou
Price Range: £61 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roseraie 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly recommended Bed & Breakfast (4 epis awarded by Gites de France; also selected by Sawdays Special Places to Stay and Michelin Guide). With two beautiful self-catering cottages in flower-filled gardens & parkland. Large heated salt water pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi, secure parking. Walking distance to village shops & restaurants (including a Michelin Star restaurant). 10 Minutes from A10 and Futuroscope and 15 minutes from Poitiers. Central for Poitiers, Loire Valley, La Rochelle and Ile de Re. Perfect for couples and families alike. A home from home for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing