We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Hideaway in Provence”
Review of Les Remparts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Remparts
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Serene Hideaway in Provence”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you want to visually illustrate the words “charming,” “stylish” and “welcoming,” simply sharing a collection of photos taken at Les Remparts would do the trick. This small maison d’hôtes is tucked away at the edge of the quaint village of Beaumes-de-Venise in the Dentelles de Montmirail region of Provence. While Les Remparts doesn’t offer a spectacular view, nor is it positioned on a bucolic town square, it captivates nonetheless. It is a true gem and its own inherent views – its rooms and courtyard – are captivating. Plus, Provençal views and small town conviviality can be found around every corner in this area, so you won’t lack for them.

Les Remparts takes its name – and much of its allure – from the ancient fortified village ramparts on which it is built. The guest house has been lovingly and meticulously restored. Be sure to search out the book in the maison’s living room which shows before and after photos. The restoration strikes the right balance between preserving the original dwelling’s elements – medieval stone, wood beams and other touches – and incorporating modern updates. It truly evokes Provence and southern France, which is exactly what we were seeking.

Each of the five rooms at Les Remparts is unique. Our air-conditioned, top-floor chambre, “Perle de Coton,” was sublime. Decorated in a tranquil white and ecru palette, it featured a whitewashed wood-panel ceiling, exposed beams and stone walls and floors. There was a small anteroom, with a sofa and several tables, which led to a large bedroom with a comfortable bed. The sunken bathroom offered twin pedestal vanities, a claw foot tub and a separate, stone-tiled shower. Since the room was on the top floor under the eaves, the windows in the room were somewhat smallish. However, the room was surprisingly light-filled. The bathroom had two nice windows, while the bedroom included a well-placed sunlight with a retractable shade, in addition to its windows.

Les Remparts’ public spaces are incredibly welcoming. A comfortable living room showcases a stone fireplace (which we didn’t use because the weather was delightful). The striking, updated kitchen welcomes guests to use its well-stocked facilities, which include modern stainless steel appliances. The centerpiece of the house is its garden courtyard, which is a veritable oasis. It proffers an elevated infinity edge pool, a stone fountain, lush plants and flowers, sun recliners and outdoor lounge furniture. There is also a dining glass-topped table where petit déjeuner is served each morning, weather permitting.

The petit déjeuner – breakfast – was simple, generous and delectable. It included fresh breads and croissants with butter and homemade preserves, fresh fruits, fromage blanc (similar to Greek yogurt), fresh-squeezed juice, coffee-to-order, and muesli and cereal. It was presented casually – spread across the large communal table – which allowed you to eat quickly or linger leisurely.

The director of Les Remparts, Ludivine Rivallin, is a treasure. She is warm, and helpful in every way – from providing directions, booking dinner reservations, assisting with luggage, making other useful suggestions, and organizing the scrumptious breakfast. She is the heart and soul of this wonderful, little property. (Plus, her daughter has the most adorable dog – a long-haired Chihuahua named Hermione, who we did our best to steal – and I am not a small dog person.)

I would unflinchingly recommend Les Remparts to anyone seeking an intimate, Provençal hideaway. It is an idyllic combination of warmth, tradition, modernity, luxury and escape. It is an ideal base to discover the many treasures of the Vaucluse region – from Rhone Valley vineyards, to soaring mountains, to an array of fairytale Provençal villages. There also is enviable variety of tempting dining options within a short, scenic drive of Les Remparts. Showcasing the ridiculously fresh provisions from the region (this area is a produce mecca), they include Michelin-starred gastronomic restaurants, quaint brasseries and bistros with tree-shaded terraces.

Visit Les Remparts. You will not be disappointed, and like us, you will be plotting your return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but some are on higher floors. Since the maison has no elevator, if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanStrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine R, Directeur général at Les Remparts, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice review. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you next time.
Sincerely
Ludivine RIVALLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A comfortable and tastefully decorated B&B In a historic building formed in the ramparts of the historic village core. Faultless breakfast around large shared dining table in the courtyard garden. Historic and generous rooms equipped with mod-cons, wi-fi etc. The tinkle of water from the pool is lovely but it is small and un-heated. Not ideally suited for children - although they are welcomed - as conciencious parents we were worried about disturbing other guests - noises being magnified by the small enclosed central courtyard. Rates are quite steep, but you get what you pay for, and its pretty perfect. Peaceful, relaxed and Ideal for couples

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine R, Directeur général at Les Remparts, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I 'm delighted that your stay went smoothly.
Sincerely
Ludivine RIVALLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Very charming B&B, tastefully furnished located in the upper part of the little City of Beaumes-de-Venise. Modern large kitchen for use by the guests. For € 20 per pers. they organize a catered dinner, ready for warming up. Ideal if you are fed up of always eating out. Parking can be a hassle but you will always find a spot. Lovely court and pool but it lacks view and space, which is normal for an old city dwelling. Excellent breakfast, much better and wider choice than what you get in good Hotels. To get to top floor you need to climb 4 stairs, but it's well worth it. . For security reasons we recommend installation of handrails. Very comfortable shower and bathtub. Ludivine’s welcome makes you feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludivine R, Directeur général at Les Remparts, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks for your review and I carefully noted your comments.
Sincerely
Ludivine RIVALLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Remparts is a very nice little B&B Hotel in the old town of Beaumes-de-Venise. It has been renevated with a lot of charme and has a very cosy and comfortable atmosphere. We stayed two nights there and enjoyed every minute of the hotel, the pool and the surrounding area. If you are looking for a good place to stay in a quiet village in Provence this is where to go to! It is quite pricey for a B&B but makes up for it with a lot of details and lovely staff.

we stayed at Terre Safran which is more than enough and fits up to three persons. The breakfast was very nice and much more than you can expect in France. I would definitely return at my next vacation in France!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorianL20723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
228 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

What an absolutely charming and lovely place to relax and unwind. The drive to Baumes de Venise already sets you in the mood (except for trying to find the b&b, make sure you pay attention to the brown signs once you’re in the village). We actually had to call the owner as our GPS went crazy trying to locate the street and she had to drive to us and show us the way.

No doubt the owner, Ludivine, is a huge part of this place’s success. Helpful, warm and welcoming from the time I made the booking, she provided multiple restaurant and day trip suggestions beforehand, she remembered that I preferred another room if it became available and I got it since there was a cancellation. Every single little detail in the building is chosen and arranged with care, the rooms are distinctively decorated and all are beautiful in their own way. We got to have the first breakfast of the year on the patio and we loved everything served, fresh, local and delicious. If only the pool was heated...and I understand the beds need to be twin and joined if someone wants a double, but the mattresses and the hole between them are a disappointment. Really something to upgrade.

Despite the bed, the only thing that we didn’t like is that we couldn’t stay forever ! Mille fois merci, Ludivine, on espere vous revoir un jour!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NATinCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed three nights in the room "Terre Safran", which was actually spacious enough to fit three persons. Ludivine is an excellent and helpful hostess, who provided valuable tips and suggestions for restaurants, local markets, sightseeing etc. The breakfast was wonderful and homemade from local products. Would definitely go there again if we were visiting the Provence region.

Room Tip: Dinner at L'Oustalet in Gigondas and Dolium in Beaumes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjacDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Lovely comfortable boutique hotel in this charming little town. A bit too shabby chic for me but the ladies love it. Interesting rooms with nice views. The Lady host was very good, nothing too much trouble all food was lovely, she made the home made jams and yogurts. The little pool was cute to look at but you would have to breath in to get in.

Two nights here would get you a bacon sandwich in front of the TV watching the F1 all season.

Room Tip: Choose your room from the wonderful choice, I think they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumes-de-Venise
0.2 mi away
Le Relais des Dentelles
Le Relais des Dentelles
#2 of 2 in Beaumes-de-Venise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau Juvenal
Chateau Juvenal
#1 of 1 in Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel le Pradet
Hotel le Pradet
#1 of 1 in Vacqueyras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Montmirail
Hotel Montmirail
#2 of 2 in Gigondas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Clos Saint Saourde
Le Clos Saint Saourde
#1 of 9 in Beaumes-de-Venise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Remparts

Property: Les Remparts
Address: 74 cours Louis Pasteur, 84190, Beaumes-de-Venise, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Beaumes-de-Venise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beaumes-de-Venise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the old fortified walls in the heart of the village of Beaumes de Venise in Provence, Les Remparts is a guest house of character with a delicious charm (5 rooms). On the Route des Côtes du Rhône, at the foot of Dentelles de Montmirail and within walking distance from Mont Ventoux, it is the ideal place to discover the art of living in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing