We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The thick walls keep the bedroom cool, king size bed, with sitting area and open fire for the winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The thick walls keep the bedroom cool, king size bed, with sitting area and open fire for the winter
The charming Luberon village of Cucuron, view from the Castle grounds to the clock tower Le Point Front Door, at the end of a small lane in the Village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
The thick walls keep the bedroom cool, king size bed, with sitting area and open fire for the winter
The charming Luberon village of Cucuron, view from the Castle grounds to the clock tower
Le Point Front Door, at the end of a small lane in the Village
Downstairs fireplace and seating area, please note the steep stone steps to upper living area
Fireplace
Small bedroom with Mary Adshead murals
Upstairs Living area, with optional sofa bed
Upstairs kitchen area, well equiped for self catering
A good selection of reading material, fiction and non-fiction, and internet Radio
Le Point has a small sheltered terrace
Etang de la Bonde, a short drive from Le Point, somewhere to enjoy a swim
Etang de la Bonde
The pool (Etang) in the centre of the village - featured in the film A Good Year
The Market comes to the Etang on Tuesdays and during the Summer there are evening markets
Several cafes and restaurants in the village, a popular stop for visiting cyclists
The local co-operative Cave in the village has some good local wines
Village Fountain, close to Le Point
The village from the South, with the Luberon Hills in the background
From the castle ruins, just a few paces from Le Point, a lovely 360 degree view with places to sit
Le Point in the medieval village wall
Inside the village church
A stall in the Tuesday market
Cheese and bread in the market
Spices for all tastes!
More colour from the market
Another view from the castle
The village in Spring with the Luberon hills in the background
A Swallowtail up by the castle
View from a walk around the village
The Abbey of Senanque is a day trip to the North of the Luberon
The Colorado Provencal near Rustrel - about 45 minutes away by car
The Pont du Gard is a good day trip by car - but they don't let you walk along the top any more!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cucuron, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kathy C
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My daughter and I were looking for a quiet village as a base for exploring the Luberon region and Cucuron was a perfect location. We loved the village; it is small enough to be fairly peaceful but still had most of what we needed. Every morning we had coffee by the small pond before starting our travels, excepts market day when we simpy didn't want to leave the town. The pizza truck on the weekends is a must, and the owner especially charming.
The house was exactly as described and the owners provided us with all the information we needed before we arrived including directions, how everything worked, what was available in the town, and nearby attractions, which was very helpful.
We loved the little house and it quickly became our home away from home. It was cool for sleeping and there is a lovely breeze through the upstairs windows. The balcony does not have much of a view but it is very private and peaceful. The stairs are a bit of a challenge, but also added to the character. We loved having the wifi to keep in touch with family while we were away. All in all, it was a perfect vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veritas59
Centreville, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice little house in a nice little town"”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our week in early September in "Le Point". The house was honestly represented by the owner and we found no surprises. Both my wife and I are in our mid-70's and the well documented "stairs to the second level" were a challenge. I believe a sturdy, add-on railing on the open side of the stairs would not detract from the authentic look of the room and would provide a needed security for everyone, young and old. Cucuron is a nice little town, not over-run with tourists, with plenty of fun restaurants and all the necessities. A great base for side trips in Provence. Le Point is very reasonably priced and a good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice location of the house in the village
Liked least: The "treacherous" stairs to the second level.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladylawto...
Sydney, Australia
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a charming, peaceful place which met all our expectations”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was a restful hideaway that made us feel part of the village life rather than tourists.It was very well equipped,private and cosy.The evenings sitting out on the upstairs terrace with the view of the trees were idyllic.
All the shops needed were nearby.
We found it easier to park in the white parking areas beyond Spar and "The Etang" which avoids negotiating the narrow streets of the village.We ate at The Etang restaurant next to the hotel which I would recommend.
Iwould definitely stay here again.It is easy to visit all the interesting sites of the Luberon from Cucuron and this village has few tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy and tranquility
Liked least: the steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARINALB
Koper, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A SPECIAL PLACE WITH SOUL”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at le Point during 29th June and 6th July 2013. We are a family of four, my husband, two teenage daughters, and myself. Le Point is situated at the end of the impasse. Everything was so, as it was presented on the Internet.
The owner provided all necessary information prior to departure, including where to purchase food on the way from the airport to Cucuron late in the evening.
Not to exaggerate, but the house does have a soul, and does not leave you indifferent. There are all the appliancesavailable that you need to prepare meals in the kitchen. Everything is clean and tidy. The beds are comfortable, pillows were just right.
The bathroom is spacious and clean.
There are books and travel guides of Provence. There is everything you need for a pleasant stay on vacation. The stairs are really steep, but even these have their own charm and without those steep stairs the flat would not be what it is.
As for the two bells in the village - the first day or two is a bit disturbing, but you get used to it quickly and it does not bother you anymore. It is not as bad as we imagined before we came.
We parked the car every evening next to the tennis courts at the bottom of the village and we took a shortcut between streets and needed ca. 4 minutes to the flat.
Villages in Provence are unique, especially Lourmarin. Gorde is fine but far too many tourists. We encoutered the most beautiful lavender fields on isolated plateaus and hills, we got there driving on some very narrow roads, just exploring around. The commercialized lavender fields such as Abbaye Senanque were far less attractive and litterally packed with tourists.
We would definetely recommend the stay at le Point to anyone who has a bit of "good spirit" and enjoys life as it comes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Uniqueness of the place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creemore Canada
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vwrabbit
Memphis, TN
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unique cozy apartment in a quiet village”
Reviewed 16 August 2012 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

When we planned our trip to France in September 2011 our goal was to rent an interesting apartment in a small village, preferably a nice village that was not overrun with daytime tourists. Le Point in Cucuron was exactly what we were looking for.

The village of Cucuron is listed as a population of about 1,700. There is one road that circles the village and one that goes through it. The rest of the village is small alleyways. Most tourists who come to this area of the Luberon go to Loumarin. On this trip we realized that little reference in tourist’s books equals fewer tourists in town. Cucuron has become known as the town with a scene from the movie A Good Year, but other than that label it is very quiet with little traffic.

Le Point is a wonderful small apartment which is at the end of an alley, which is off of another alley. This lends itself to being extremely quiet. You enter the apartment into a large vaulted space which has been made into the main bedroom. A sitting area, kitchen, & patio are on the second level. To get to this second level it is a very steep climb up narrow stairs. The one drawback of this apartment is that it is not for anyone with any sort of mobility problems, and I think the owners have been clear in stating this in their property description.

There is a well equipped small kitchen which will allow you to buy food in town and prepare simple meals in the apartment. A patio is off of the kitchen area. Due to a high wall the only view from the patio is when you stand up or are seated on the small raised area. Both the kitchen & patio look to the southwest over the valley with a wonderful view. The sitting area has a small library & internet radio.

Tuesday is market day in Cucuron – the market being at the e’tang pond featured in the movie, all of a three minute walk from the apartment. The majority of the market is food – fresh vegetables & meats. Tuesday we were able to buy food from the market, ride our rented bikes through the vineyards, make a home cooked meal with fresh ingredients (how about a Southern style mac & cheese with fantastic French cheese!), go up to the highpoint of the town and watch the full moon rise in the valley below, then do a moonlight ride through the vineyards later that night. Cucuron & Le Point is a great place to spend a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Small village life, very unique apartment layout
Liked least: Really can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Reviewed 16 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing