We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Provencal haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lourmarin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stay in this hotel every year. We do this for a reason....it is a peaceful, relaxing, tasetful and quite chic boutique hotel in the middle of a most beautiful part of Provence. Lourmarin is a dream and is like a mini-Paris. The hotel is on the outskirts and has all the amenities you could need. The rooms are all individually decorated and are very attractive. All have air-con which is so difficult to find sometimes in that part of France. The pool is freezing (!) but does the job! Breakfast is generous and was served this year by one of the nicest people we have ever met in Provence. She is a real asset to the place..just wish I had gotten her name. This hotel is perfect and you will not be disappointed. We have stayed there annually since it opened and always base our trip around a few nights here.

Room Tip: make sure you get first floor room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrelandMariaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Hotel Bastide is located 200m walk from the centre of the village of Lourmarin. We were thrilled with our room, which was one of the 'Chambres Ambiance' rooms (our room was called 'de la Romantique' and when we are next back in Lourmarin, we will be asking for the same room - it was Brilliant). Our room was in very new condition, very clean, comfortable and about 30m2 in size (which is huge by French standards). While we did not dine at the hotel, as there are plenty of great restaurants to choose from in the village, the hotel did have a nice pool side bar. I am suprised that this hotel is only rated 3 stars. I would have thought 4 stars was more appropriate.

The hotel, and Lourmarin in particular, serves as a great base for exploring Provences picturesque Lubron Valley region. Some great nearby towns to explore, which are within 40 min drive of Lourmarin, include Gordes, Bonnieux, Roussllion. While we did spend time in these towns, Lourmarin was definently our favourite. It has a real village feel to it, but has a lot more to chose from by way of boutique shops, cafes and great restaurants (including a 2 star Michelion located 5 min outside the village).

The only downside to the hotel was that when they did our laundry service, they shrunk all my t-shirts! While this was annoying, it will not stop us from returning...we will just not be using their laundry service again.

All in all, Hotel Bastide offers great value for money, provides very comfortable, spacious rooms in picturesque surroundings and is located in what we consider to be the best village in Provence - Lourmarin. We highly recommend this hotel.

Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bleeker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

My husband and I stopped here for two nights during our honeymoon. We purchased the "Romantic escapade" package for the first night which included our room and dinner and drinks for two at their restaurant-lounge. The experience was very special. Each room has a different theme: Buddha, Coco, Serenity, Romantic, Artist's Studio, Oriental, 1950's, etc. (my translations of the room names). We stayed in the "Romantic" on the second floor. It was a small but evocative room with a 4 post bed covered with layers and layers of beautiful, soft, white linens. The feel of the decor was neither solely modern nor old farmhouse, but a mix of both with just a sprinkle of something slightly tropical (old Indonesian?). The room had a beautiful balcony with a view of the pool and castle in the distance. The restaurant-lounge is downstairs near the pool, romantically lit and lounge-y. When we walked in for our dinner, the owner/manager welcomed us and made us feel quite special asking if my husband was Ben Harper and I was Monica Bellucci!! We did feel like stars and Hotel Bastide looks like somewhere where you would imagine stars to stay when they vacation in Provence. After dinner we moved to the bar and chatted and shared bottles of excellent Rose with some fancy locals.

The location is walking distance (quite close) to the town center but at the same time is just enough outside so that it is very quiet and has its own parking. The pool area looks beautiful but when we went at the end of March it was still just a little too chilly to swim. We'll just have to go back when it's warmer! Because of curiosity, I don't usually stay in the same place twice, but this is one hotel I will definitely return to.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EkinOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

went there for a wedding in June. In a really nice region of France, owners have made this place a special one to stay for a fews days or more. Have not tried the restaurant, but they were in charge of catering for the wedding and this was just great and refreshing food. Home made Margarita got a great success too. All rooms have their own theme and set to a fairly high standard for a 3 star hotel. great Value for mony definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Agree with most of the opinions already noted. The hotel is well situated and the private parking is appreciated. Our room was called ``Orientale'' - very clean, decent size though lousy balcony view of parking lot. Shower was great with nice shower `pomme' and good water pressure. We stayed two nights and were on the `Escapade'' package which included one dinner and one breakfast. Restaurant is nicely set-up with soft lighting. Food: all the usual suspects -decent but won't blow you away. Bar area outside the restaurant has little ambiance and since it was raining we couldn't sit out by the pool for pre-dinner drinks so had to inhale smoke from neighbors. I think they were playing on the vagueries of whether the bar area was considered indoor or outdoor, though to me it was definitely an enclosed area. Breakfast buffet is 14 euros and like many hotel breakfasts, not worth it. Same old stuff - yogurt, ham, croissants, lame cereal, juice, etc. nothing hot. The breakfast room seems like an afterthought - totally lacking in charm -- and only one person serving coffee/cleaning tables for the whole room. During our visit, the room quickly filled up at once and the poor girl working it couldn't keep up with the grumpy and caffeine-deprived crowd. Would recommend just getting coffee (4 euros) and fetching some pain au chocolat in the village. Also worth noting that there is no one at reception to check you out until 8:30 a.m. To be fair, it was indicated in the hotel info, however, we hadn't bothered to read as have never had a problem with early hotel checkouts - especially at 8 a.m. Even then, the clerk didn't show up until 8:50 a.m. so it really put us behind in our travel plans for that day. For a 3-star, it is a nice hotel but the prices are getting close to the 4-star area. Overall it has potential but needs to work just a bit harder on some of the details.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chat-blanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lHotelBastide, Gérant at Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank vesadebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lHotelBastide, Gérant at Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourmarin
0.2 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
284 reviews
13.2 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
4.6 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
274 reviews
11.5 mi away
Le Domaine des Andeols
Le Domaine des Andeols
#1 of 2 in Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
257 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin

Address: Route de Cucuron, 84160 Lourmarin, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Lourmarin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lourmarin
Price Range: £78 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing