We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of alcohol prices!!!”

Cafe de la Fontaine
Ranked #21 of 25 Restaurants in Lourmarin
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware of alcohol prices!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

After several weeks wine tasting in France we were craving a martini and a manhattan and spotted Bombay Sapphire Gin and Makers Mark Bourbon so we thought we could get a drink. Not so easy. Long story short, they let my husband make our drinks and then charged us €61 for the two drinks! We did not stay to try the food but wanted to alert others to our pricey lesson learned!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patolsen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    17
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Salad Nicoise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We arrived after our flight into Marseilles and were hungry and immediately stopped here for a late lunch. Three of us ordered Salad Nicoise, which were very good! The forth order was the Andoullie sausage, a rustic, lumpy looking thing which he enjoyed, even though he was expecting something like a Cajun type sausage. Very different. A nice shaded courtyard along the main street, wonderful to watch people go by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
266 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great for coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The outside doesn't look particularly impressive when compared to some other restaurants but the interior is a real gem. Be ready to be transported in time and feel like Hemingway in Paris in this cozy, comfortable caffé that offers great coffee and the usual French treats.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReyVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
“Worst ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Food practically indelible and impossible to cut the entrecôte. Avoid at all costs, and it cost a lot considering the food and poor wine selection.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fuzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
363 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Window on Lourmarin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Recommended by travelers, Sharon & Stephen, as one of their favorite restaurants in Lourmarin, we tried it out on our last night in town. Cafe seating on the main street across from the restaurant. We tried the tomate gazpacho with mint; a steak ribeye oakwood grilled and their specialty Baron D'Agneau. All accompanied by potate, grillled tomate & peppers and salade verte....and a first for us a Corsican red wine, Domaine de la Punta(35 euros).

Excellent meal. Great value at 97 euros total - portions were generous - we skipped dessert for a stroll around town.

A great place to watch the world go by.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de la Fontaine also viewed

 
Lourmarin, Luberon
 

Been to Cafe de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing