We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, wow, and wow.”
Review of Villa Saint Louis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lourmarin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Saint Louis
Ranked #10 of 12 Lourmarin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were recommended this place for our honeymoon by an owner of an amazing winery in the Yarra Valley in Australia. She'd been a few years earlier and told us that when she booked it, she looked at the price and thought "This is either the greatest deal ever, or we've just made the mistake of our lives". She ended up going there and absolutely fell in love, as did we upon taking her advice and visiting there recently. We only stayed for 1 night but it was just totally charming and so so French. Anyone who complains about it being past its use-by-date or not being clean must be the fussiest travellers ever. For us, imperfection and small quirks are what we love. It's so much more authentic than staying in somewhere shiny and new. We couldn't believe our luck, and would recommend it to anyone who loves vintage-feel hotels, antiques and the charm of yesteryear. Also right in town, great parking and an amazing pizza place a hop skip and jump away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank esselleesselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2010

What a fantastic place, so stylish, fantastic shared breakfast table with interesting conversation that delayed our planned departure most days.
Very good value considering the location.
Can't wait to return in 2011.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyBSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

An absolutely lovely villa in shades of pink (inside and out) and walled garden in the heart of charming Lourmarin. I traveled with two sisters who love this place and are loathe to report our experience, but who also agree they will never stay here again. First of all, we booked, far in advance, two of the largest rooms across the front of the house for two weeks. When we arrived all rooms were full except for one small bedroom (with one bed)-- and a tiny dark room in the attic with an almost vertical staircase and no windows except one that opened on the breakfast room (the light was on all night). The bed was on the floor. However, up in the attic, I wasn't bitten by bedbugs, and the two sisters, who shared the bed, woke up the first morning covered in itchy red welts. Both were miserable, but one was bitten so severely we took her to the hospital...twice. The owner first denied the problem, then when we insisted, blamed us for it, even when we pointed out the bloodstain trail of bedbugs on the linen. Apparently, all are in denial, including the pharmacies and hospitals that tried to treat the problem topically. We finally cut the trip short and returned to the US for treatment--immediately diagnosed--and treated with a course of steroids. We had to argue with the owner, even though these sisters have sent many guests to her) to get a refund on the rooms for which we'd put down a substantial down payment--and settled for a price reduction. Fortunately we had all purchased trip insurance which paid for hospitals, ticket change and cancellation charges and for suitcases that had to be thrown out.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
9  Thank threegirlsSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2009

Villa Louis is a lovely place with a magic admosphere, full of history, culture, charme, I never see in my life a place with such personality, Villa Louis is a special place for special people, unforgetttable experience for the mind end for ther soul.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatgentil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

My wife and I and two friends rented two rooms for four nights. Rates were amazingly reasonable, in part because we were there off-season. The location is superb -- an easy walk to all of Lourmarin's attractions and an easy drive to the Provence hill towns. The eclectic antique decor is charming, the rooms and bathrooms were attractively decorated and quite clean, and Mme. Lassallette is a delightful character. Once she knew I could get by in French, she would speak only French to me, which was fun, if challenging at times. Breakfast was simple, but featured some of the best bread we had on our three-week French trip. We enjoyed the freedom to use the garden for impromptu picnics, sharing leftovers with Doux-Doux, the resident bunny.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We selected Villa Saint Louis for a 5 nights accomodation. Situated in one of the most wonderful declared villages in France, Villa Saint Louis is a true relicve from old times...a great collection of old furnitures and art objects, a great garden but miserably conditioned over the time.....It is a pitty that such a gold wonderful villa with misterious old times flavours is let to die in such a pretended touristic "shabby chic" way. Under the perfect pretext of a "shabby chic" location, we found out one of the less pleasant location we ever stayed in. For us shabby chic means old times kept in a clean atmosphere....like a precious parfum kept in an old bottle.....and does not mean dirty rooms, with ex tourists nails on the floor, with a bathroom that were not ever touched by antibacterial solutions or 5 days with no cleaning at all ( not even the garbage was taken out...). Under the graceful smell of lavanda it was an unbearable smell of dust and dirty not clean for centuries maybe..... Breakfast is served on the beautiful terrace overlooking the garden and ...the "little lapinot", but again the entire romance is distroyed by the dirty table covers and questionable marmelade quality....the only thing that you might receive with bread and coffee....forget about french "croissant" or else..
One in one, I would love to have such a great old villa as it is indeed a historical treasure but I would never recomend somebody to use the actual one for a romantic holiday..
I am very much afraid that no advertising in all magazines and newspaper will be able to maintain the interest in such a poor touristical approach of the host.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DREAMERomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed for 3 nights - been to Lourmarin several times and this is a really peaceful spot with lovely rooms and a beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourmarin
0.1 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
3.9 mi away
Logis de l'Etang
Logis de l'Etang
#1 of 2 in Cucuron
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cote Lourmarin
Cote Lourmarin
#2 of 12 in Lourmarin
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancienne Maison des Gardes
Ancienne Maison des Gardes
#7 of 12 in Lourmarin
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison de la Place - Lourmarin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saint Louis

Address: 35, rue Henri de Savournin, 84160 Lourmarin, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Lourmarin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lourmarin
Price Range: £49 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an 18th Century Post House, Villa St Louis is nestled at the very heart of Lourmarin, classed one of the most picturesque villages in France. More than just a guest house, a stay at Villa St Louis draws you into a world steeped in history, where time almost seems to have stopped. If you're looking for authenticity and enjoy the little pleasures in life then this is the place for you. Practical information : Parking, small pets accepted . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Saint Louis Hotel Lourmarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing