We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place.”
Review of Les Olivettes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lourmarin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Olivettes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I just completed a 10 night stay at Les Olivettes and it was everything that we expected and more. Our room (Le Pastis) was spacious and the view from the terrace of the village and chateau was spectacular. Our room was adjacent to the common room where we could easily get the delicious espresso and croissants every morning. We used the town of Lourmarin (it is the prettiest of all the villages) as a central base to explore the many areas of interest in Provence and returned to Les Olivettes in the late afternoon so we could enjoy the comforts of the farmhouse and the beauty of the grounds. In the evening, it was a short five minute walk into the village where we had dinner at the many restaurants.

However, what really made Les Olivettes special was our hostess, Elizabeth. Unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to meet Joseph who was in the United States at the time. Elizabeth is a delightful person who is warm, charming, and gracious. She made us feel at home and was so kind to answer our many questions with keen insight of the places that we wanted to visit. She always went the extra mile to make sure that our stay at Les Olivettes would be a memorable one and she succeeded in doing so.

We look forward to our next trip to Provence and our next stay at Les Olivettes. We would not even think of staying anywhere else. Les Olivettes est magnifique!

Room Tip: The view of the village and chateau from Le Pastis is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our two couples stayed at Les Olivettes the last week in September. It was a wonderful experience. Elizabeth and Joseph were very welcoming and helpful. Our apartments were lovely and had everything one could want. The other travelers staying there were friendly ~ we gathered every evening for wine and stories of the day's adventures. The beautiful little town of Lourmarin is the perfect place to explore the Luberon area - it's big enough to have great restauants, stores and the weekly market, but small enough to walk easily and become familiar. I yearn to return!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovetotravelabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

3 months ago (July 2011) we vacationed in this lovely quaint place, and we're still talking about it. My husband, 6-year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this charming little piece of heaven. We had visions of finding a beautiful, unpretentious Provencal village- surrounded by olive trees, lavender, roses, with gentle rolling hills as the backdrop... At Les Olivettes, this is exactly what we got! Getting there was a little tricky for a first-timer (our rental car co. forgot to install the GPS). But once you arrive, you can be sure to relax and let your worries fade!

The owners, Joseph and Elisabeth, are warm and welcoming. They took the time to see how we were settling in, and readily answered any questions. The common room is a fun place to meet the other guests - many of whom are return visitors who have much passion for the region and can share lots of useful travel tips. Each day, we made trips to nearby villages - Bonnieux, Gordes, Rousillon... At the end of the day, it felt great to come "home" to Les Olivettes, enjoy a glass of wine, and plan our evening.

Lourmarin has many restaurants, patisseries, shops, a wine cave, and its local market is certainly one of the best. So you needn't worry about meals. We could shop for produce to bring back and cook in the apartment's kitchenette, or dine out. La Clairette studio was cozy with a beautiful terrace where you could sit outside to enjoy your morning coffee and fresh croissants (breads delivered to your door by Joseph and Elisabeth)! The coffee is self-serve in the common room. Plenty of soaps, toilet paper, light bulbs, etc. can be obtained from the common room to replenish your room, if needed. The only drawback was that the Wi-Fi was weak in La Clairette, as we were the farthest room. I believe the connection is fine in all the other rooms.

Just strolling around the property itself, is pleasant and calming. There is a pool to use and plenty of lounge chairs. I watched late in the evenings, Joseph carefully making his rounds, checking the property and closing up the shutters. I appreciate their hard work in keeping the property secure and beautiful for their guests. My daughter and I reminisce often our wonderful stay in this serene, special place. She especially loved our friendly hosts, sounds of nature and fountains, and the abundance of colorful flowers in full bloom. Thank you for the memories!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SD_gallivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Les Olivettes is the perfect accommodation in the picturesque village of Lourmarin. Our stay of one week was not enough and if it wasn't so far from Australia we'd be back there every year for a holiday. The standard of accommodation is excellent in this beautiful home and the warmth and hospitality of the owners is genuine. The breakfast delivered to the door every morning is not something we have experienced anywhere else and was fantastic. To sit on our private terrace each morning, looking at the village whilst devouring the croissants and pain au chocolat made for a brilliant start to each perfect day.

Room Tip: Le Genet is on the ground floor and has a great view of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

It is not possible to extol the, virtues of Les Olivettes more than the writers below. Just imagine staying at a near picture- perfect house in Provence, and you have Les Ollivettes with it's fruit and olive trees, lovely swimming pool and patio with a gas and charcoal barbeque, if you so have a mind, and a view of Lourmarin and the valley to die for.
Our unit Le Genet, was tastefully decorated and had a kitchenette. It has a tiny TV and an anachronistic cassette player. As stated, a fresh baguette and croissants are delivered to each of the six units each morning. Elizabeth is cordial and helpful. Where is Joseph?
Laundry and a larger kitchen are both off the main common area, which has a lap-top for all to use as well as Wi-Fi. Our room had a lovely patio with a breath taking view of
town a 1/4 mile away. However, this view comes at the expense on some road noise, which you can avoid by asking far a room facing the pool.
Quit bucolic and romantic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CMoss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We recently spent two weeks at the B&B Les Olivettes (late March/early April 2011). The house, with its six apartments, is situated in a very pleasant olive grove with a delightful view of Lourmarin, a five-minute walk away. Elizabeth gave us a warm welcome (Joe was away in the States at the time) and showed us around the house with its attractive and spacious common room, kitchen/laundry, and terraces. We stayed in "Le Voltaire" and found its well-equipped kitchenette very convenient and its comfortable bed very restful. Every morning a delicious basket of croissants and baguette appeared outside our door. Elizabeth's many kindnesses and extensive knowledge of the region, combined with the special ambiance of Les Olivettes, made us feel so relaxed and "at home" that we didn't want to leave when the time came. The village is well suited to please visitors, with many good eating establishments and attractive shops in addition to its traditional charms, Friday market, and year-round life. It is also conveniently located for day trips to many other villages and towns and for hiking. We have traveled many times to Europe and Les Olivettes is an outstanding accommodation. We plan to return at our first opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary271230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I spent a wonderful 5 days at this cute and well situated B&B (on the outskirts of Lourmarin-- easy walking distance to the village). My room was comfortable, with a little terrace perfect for breakfast and an extremely well equipped kitchenette. The pool was relaxing and clean (and there was a ping pong table that we never used, but looked fun). The owners were helpful with restaurant recommendations, etc. I definitely would return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy1961_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivettes_Provence, Owner at Les Olivettes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

We'd like to thank all our reviewers for the kind and positive words, and we hope you all come back to Les Olivettes soon! We enjoy meeting you, and have made many friends over the years, and we really appreciate the way that our guests seem to enjoy Les Olivettes, Lourmarin and Provence so much. Merci beaucoup, et à très bientôt! Joe & Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourmarin
0.3 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
0.8 mi away
Auberge La Feniere
Auberge La Feniere
#1 of 2 in Cadenet
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cote Lourmarin
Cote Lourmarin
#2 of 12 in Lourmarin
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ancienne Maison des Gardes
Ancienne Maison des Gardes
#8 of 12 in Lourmarin
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Luberonne
La Luberonne
#7 of 12 in Lourmarin
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Olivettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Olivettes

Address: Draille de Lautin | Avenue Henri Bosco, 84160 Lourmarin, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Lourmarin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lourmarin
Price Range: £112 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Olivettes is a converted Provencale Farmhouse offering luxury rentals of studio and one-bedroom apartments with unique and spectacular views. Located in the lively & charming village of Lourmarin, it's a great home-base for touring the Luberon and the other major attractions of Provence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Olivettes Hotel Lourmarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing