We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A house with heart”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oustaloun

General view of the outside, cottage upstairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
General view of the outside, cottage upstairs
External Courtyard Vaulted passage  leading to the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
General view of the outside, cottage upstairs
External Courtyard
Vaulted passage  leading to the courtyard
External entance of the cottage - Rue de la Juiverie
Ground Floor-Living room
Kitchen
Upper Floor-Double Bedroom
Staircases
Bathroom
Rue de la Juiverie
General view of the village
Castle
Outside view of of village
Typical atmosphere of the center
Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lourmarin, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
hughes249...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A house with heart”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

From the moment we saw the door which leads to this wonderfully warm, cosy little house, we fell in love. Small but perfectly formed, everything about this delightful bolthole in the most beautiful village in France is a treat. Communication from owner Tatiana is superb and although we didn't meet her, Cynthia who greeted us was a lovely and helpful host. The house itself is ridiculously cute - a staircase leads from the patio garden shared with another house straight into the kitchen and front room, both of which are sweetly decorated and full of charm. Another staircase (one you might not want to attempt after too much wine!) leads to the bedroom/bathroom, two rooms in one. Upstairs is mainly white and the window looks out on one of Lourmarin's twisting side roads. It is remarkably quiet, other than the gentle tolling of a bell on the hour. Because the house is so lovely - quirky, incredibly central, relaxing and inviting - we spent more time there than we'd expected to. I imagine in winter it would be wonderful to light the wood burner in the front room and read on the sofa (with hot chocolate and a selection of pastries from the bakery a stone's throw away - oh how we miss it now we're home!). Lourmarin and the surrounding area are, in a word, magical. And this little house is enchanting. We can't recommend it enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Dear Mr an Mrs Hughes,
I want here to tell you how much I'm touched to read all the beautiful things you wrote about l'Oustaloun. It is just the experience I expect my guests to live staying in this lovely house.
And what you say about how it may be in the winter is also exactly as you guess...
I saw couples happy in front of the fireplace with tea and pastries (just as you say) or glass of wine and "saucisson" plate; and....I just wanted to be there too!
Once again, I thank you for having translated in (so nice) words the magical atmosphere you found in Lourmarin and this old, but charming little house.
I regret no to have meeting you in person as I'm abroad for few weeks.
Maybe a next time if you miss the experience too much... I'd be very happy to meet you!
My very best regards,
Tatiana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick L
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice apartment ”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed 10 days in a very hot August
Loved this apartment so near the village for restaraunts and cafes Nice for walks
Apartment well appointed with everything you need and the owner Tatiana was very helpful
Plenty to do in the region plenty info in apartment
Really enjoyed will stay again if in the region

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming apartment in beautiful area”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I intended spending eight days in this bijou rental which has been tastefully furnished and decorated by the owner who clearly took trouble to coordinate everything in colour and style.
The seating in the living room was comfortable, with lots of local information on display, as well as a selection of books and a CD music system. One end of the room housed a kitchenette, with simple cooking facilities, fridge, kettle, toaster etc.
The bedroom is accessed via a narrow old spiral staircase which, though charming, would prove difficult for anybody with limited mobility.
Once upstairs, there is a comfortable double bed, chest of drawers, satellite TV at one end, and behind a partial screen at the other end a full-sized bath, washbasin and WC.
The owner, Tatiana was most helpful and friendly, ready with local advice and concerned that we should have everything that we needed.
Lourmarin is a compact small village with plenty of cafes, restaurants and small craft shops and galleries to explore. L'Ostaloun is right in the centre. The surrounding area is beautiful.
A family emergency caused us to curtail our holiday after only three days, much to our regret.
We very much hope to return at a happier time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine B
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect home base”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just spent three weeks at L'Oustaloun -- our second stay hosted by Tatiana. Lourmarin is an ideal home base for touring around the area, & we couldn't be happier with our accommodations. The apartment itself is well-equipped, comfortable, & (as a bonus) charmingly decorated. Tatiana (with the help of Nanou) is a font of information & advice. We wouldn't hesitate for a moment to recommend a stay in either L'Oustaloun or its sister apartment, La Bonbonniere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Dear Elaine and Alan,

I've realized that the message I wrote to you a while ago didn't went through!!
I'am note sure at all you received it.

Thank you so much for your very kind and positive review. It touches me a lot ant will contribute to help me for sure to increase my bookings!

Hope everything is fine since you are back to Canada!
Wish you both a wonderful end of year !
All the best,
Tatiana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muchohutc...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little paradise away from home”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at L'Oustaloun for a week during our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a lovelier place for two to stay. The two open-plan rooms (bedroom and bathroom upstairs, kitchen and lounge downstairs) were warm, cosy and welcoming, and perfect for two. The whole place was nestled out of the way through an archway from the street, and the owner's shop was right nearby for browsing lovely little knick-knacks. Lourmarin is a beautiful place, and our hostess was so helpful – recommending places for us to go, helping us practise our French, booking a special table at a local restaurant for us... We had a lovely time and we'd love to come back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyJ621...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Perfect Provence location!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful time in Lourmarin! And L'Oustaloun was the perfect apartment- comfortable, quite, great location and beautiful Provence-inspired decor. Tatania, the host, is a font of information about Lourmarin and the Provence area in general. This is definitely a place to return to- as often as possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfortable bed, quiet
Liked least: Nothing bad at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Dear Cathy,

Thank you so much for your very review on L'Oustaloun, it will contribute to new bookings for sure. I hope to have you back in one of my "maisonnette".

Wish you very a good week end!!
Best
Tatiana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley C
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic and perfect location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent a magical week in beautiful Lourmarin pondering in the village galleries, strolling to excellent local restaurants and exploring nearby villages. L'Oustaloun was a cosy hideaway to return to each night, charmingly decorated in Provence style. Tatiana is genuine, friendly and very helpful. Cherished memories of an authentic experience of village life.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing