We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay in the Heart of the Black Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hornberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We found this hotel by accident. We were going to stay in the nearby town of Triberg but found that too 'touristy' so drove on a little further and saw a sign for 'Schone Aussicht'. We were attracted by the name 'beautiful view'.

We were not disappointed! It's an absolutely gorgeous hotel/spa complex, hidden away in the forest. Prices were surprisingly reasonable considering the quality of the rooms and facilities.

We stayed for two nights and wished we could have had longer. We had no time to use the pool or spa facilities. Our room was large, very clean, with a balcony and modern bathroom with a very powerful shower. There was a large flat screen TV (we didn't watch it!) and a mini bar. The view from the balcony was right across the rolling hills of the Black Forest.

Very popular with walkers and dog owners. Dog friendly. Lovely sunny terrace area and rolling fields with benches to relax on.

The restaurant was large and typically German. Great choices on the menu and well cooked and presented food. Typically large portions! Service was excellent, especially by a young French waitress (who spoke perfect German). On one evening we chose a dish to share - Weitmann's Teller ('Huntsmans Platter'). It was a big 'paella' pan full of different meats (venison, wild boar, rabbit) and Spatzle (a local home made pasta), with delicious sauces. There was enough to feed at least four greedy people!!! All finished off on a table burner at the table.

Breakfast was buffet style and there was a huge choice of cheeses, sausage, conserves, cereals, yoghurts, fruits, rolls, speciality breads etc.

We had no room for cake but there was a chill cabinet with the largest gateaux I have ever seen!!!

We would love to go back and spend more time at this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel get the morning sun. Rooms at the front do not have such a great view...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Schoene Aussicht
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

I am so happy I booked to stay here with my wife, the location is stunning. This is a perfect place to get away from everything and stay up in the Schwarzwald hills. The hotel is tucked away up a mile or so of narrow road, which in itself is lovely. You have to pass waterfalls and stunning views to find Schoene Aussicht, but it's worth it. Despite the location the hotel feels modern and yet local.
Food is excellent as is the service, you even have your own personalised family table to eat at for each meal. Most of the staff speak some English and all the waiting staff spoke very good english to us. The menu is also available in English.

Add to the peace and tranquility, the very good spa facilities and this hotel is outstanding. There is a pool, jacuzzi, sauna an steam room which are free to use.

This hotel is almost worth travelling to just to visit.

5 stars from me :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Guru_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is situated off the beaten trail in a wonderful location. There are many hiking trails to walk in the summer months and the back of the hotel has a wonderful sledding area and the sleds are provided. The staff, however, seem moody and unwilling to accommodate simple requests such as changing 20 Euro for two tens or decaf coffee instead of regular. For people in the hotel business they don't seem at all hospitable. The food ranges from tasty to tasteless and you never know which you will get - it's a total crap shoot. I will say, however that the breakfast was always fantastic. The facility itself is nice with an indoor pool, saunas, hot tub and gym. The maid service was also spotty: some days the room was very clean and some days the rugs went unvacuumed or the sinks unwashed. The maids tend to leave the windows wide open even in the middle of winter so you often return to a freezing room. All-in-all this is not a terrible place, but the staff and the atmosphere in general seem quite unfriendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

WE just stay one night at this hotel, but we return! Clean rooms, lovely swimming pool, little sauna. When you like the abslolutly silence, you can find here!
Big breakfast, good meals!

Room Tip: Ask a room in the 'Gastenhaus'
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maartenbbossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Visited during the summer. Room all look brand new and nice baths. No a/c, but big windows. During a heat wave, you can beg a stein of ice from the bar staff. Meals were nice. Beautiful view and great terrace. During the World Cup, they set up a big screen tv in the basement. Spa services, steam rooms, massage, etc. I imagine it is beautiful also during the winter.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

This hotel is a wonderful, hidden gem of 4 star quality. Several different categories of rooms are offered - we stayed in the two highest categories and found all to be superior. The cleanliness, quality and comfort of furnishings were incomparable. Superior professionalism and friendliness of staff, as well as the top rate gourmet 4 course menus make this hotel a repeat - if you can get a reservation! The half board option is a real bargain! The hotel amenities on this site lists no free parking, but that is false - ample free parking is directly available. The hotel's indoor spa and swimming pool are amazing. They even offer beauty and wellness services in house. This hotel is secluded and you will need a car, but the trade off is falling asleep to the sound of crickets and not traffic! At approx. a 20 minute drive away from Triberg, this is the place to stay when visiting Germany's highest waterfalls!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kellym314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornberg
4.9 mi away
Parkhotel Wehrle
Parkhotel Wehrle
#3 of 7 in Triberg
180 reviews
5.7 mi away
Landhaus Lauble
Landhaus Lauble
#1 of 4 in Hornberg
70 reviews
2.3 mi away
Schloss Hornberg Hotel
Schloss Hornberg Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hornberg
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
241 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Schwarzwald Residenz
3.8 mi away
Berghotel Schiller
Berghotel Schiller
#1 of 4 in Schonach
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoene Aussicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoene Aussicht

Address: Schoene Aussicht 1, 78132 Hornberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hornberg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hornberg
Price Range: £87 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schoene Aussicht 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Schoene Aussicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing