We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise for families with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schloss Hornberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hornberg
Certificate of Excellence
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great surprise for families with kids”
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

This place was better than expected! The playground was good sized, and our son loved running through the castle grounds. The staff was friendly with children even in a seemingly upscale hotel. Definitely recommend for families with children. Just try to keep you kids quiet at night because the hotel building is old and therefore has thin walls.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank timu204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    39
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
47
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a great spot to see the Black Forest, it was quiet, peaceful and the views are amazing. We stayed one night during our road trip of Southern Germany. Beautiful views from the hotel, great food and very friendly owners who put on a great service. It is quite a treck up the hill so if you are not driving you will need to plan in advance getting up from the train station. The owner was very helpful and advised how we could see the Black Forest by train - there was a note in their hotel guide about arranging to be collected from the station by prior arrangement. We didn't use this service but again, if you don't have a car it would be worthwhile. Our room was nothing special but comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boston1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We had a great experience while staying in this hotels. Everyone was so nice and spoke English and gave me ideas on what to do on our vacation. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the views were spectular and we were sad that we had to leave. I would highly recommend this hotel. The free breakfast was very good.
Michelle Isaak
Lake Tahoe, Nevada U.S.A.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelleisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, OR
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2006

This was our worse experience during our 2 weeks in Europe. Our room while large and clean was spartan. It was on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator so had to request help getting our luggage to the room, it wasn't intially offered when we checked in. If you want a remote for the TV it was a 10 euro deposit even Motel 6 gives you a remote. We had a tower room that had a great view but there was a lingering smell we couldn't put our finger on, my wife thought it was a stale cooking smell. Even with the windows open it remained. Also, had to ask the desk for a hair dryer.

Our evening meal was quite good but ruined by the arrival of a large tour group so the noise level rose to rock band concert level with their arrival. Breakfast the next morning was fine.

The worse part of this stay was the paper thin walls we could hear everything going on in the rooms next to ours. The worse part is they were occupied by tour group folks and they had to leave by 6:30am so we were awoken early by them quite early.

  • Liked — Food I guess.
  • Disliked — The lingering smell in the room and the room noise level
  • Tips/Secrets — Find somewhere else
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ortravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornberg
2.3 mi away
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
#3 of 4 in Hornberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.4 mi away
Landhaus Lauble
Landhaus Lauble
#1 of 4 in Hornberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
5.6 mi away
Parkhotel Wehrle
Parkhotel Wehrle
#3 of 7 in Triberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
#1 of 7 in Wolfach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.5 mi away
Adler
Adler
#4 of 7 in Triberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Sonne
Hotel Gasthaus Sonne
#5 of 7 in Wolfach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Hornberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Hornberg Hotel

Property: Schloss Hornberg Hotel
Address: Auf dem Schlossberg 1, 78132 Hornberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hornberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hornberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Schloss Hornberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Schloss Hornberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing