We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schloss Hornberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hornberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

A brilliant first trip to germany

This was a late substitution for a planned car trip, But it was brilliant on top of a hill overlooking the village with views to die for. The rooms were clean.


The owners were very friendly and helpful, and even showed us the cellars. The evening meals were enjoyable. The breakfast was good from hot waffles ,eggs and a good selection of meats cheese , breads and jams to name but a few.


We would stay again with out hesitation with lots of villages nearby to visit, although we went further afield for the car museums

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view as room 115 has a roof for a view, with so many mountain views surronding th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowballrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Schloss Hornberg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just returned from an Easter stay at the Schloss Hornberg - and it was absolutely great! Good views from the hotel across the valleys - inspite of the scafholding all round due to the extensive renovations. Onging work was not a problem as the rooms had already been done and work was now on the exterior.

Room was excellent - a large corner room with a separate seating area ie a mini suite complete with toiletries and bathrobes. The small shower enclsure was OK but we are used to a large double shower so it was on the small side - good water pressure though. Whole hotel very attractively decorated and furnished to reflect its age and history - even has its own dungeons !

We were even given Tourist Passes at the hotel so we could travel free on the trains ! (even better than our bus passes).

Food choices varied and extensive even at breakfast ( unless you are expecting a Full English !). Its a family run hotel complete with owners children and dog and has a lovely atmosphere. Staff all helpful and friendly. We would certainly be happy to stay here again - and I should add that we were on a package coach tour which often means being treated as 'second class' guests. This certainly was not the case here.

Many thanks to the staff and owners for an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: 2nd floor corner rooms are good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBWCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The Schloss (or 'Slosh' as my husband called it) IS ONLY a THREE STAR hotel, after all. Anyone reviewing this propertly must keep that in mind. We were a little concerned ourselves with some of the reviews on this little family run hotel prior to our visit as we had six nights here. When we arrived, we still were not sure. However! It only got better and we had so many wonderful experiences here with our tour group, that averaging it out, it was a really terrific stay.

The rooms ARE a little outdated. But our double room (two single beds) was large enough and comfortable enough and it was clean - and that is what is most important to us. It had a lovely view across a valley but I understand not all rooms have the same outlook. The ensuites, clearly which have been added later to a corner of the room, are a very tight squeeze, but serviceable. This is not unusual when staying in old places in Europe. The only complaint was the rooms could become very hot and stuffy, but the windows are easily opened for cold, fresh air. Also as has been noted, there is no lift, and rooms go up to the third floor, but after all the food we ate we were not complaining about going up and down the stairs.

A girlfriend who was with us however, had a single room. And it was very small, but presumably it would be cheaper ... although on the Albatross tour we were on she had to pay a single supplement?? What? This is not the Schloss's issue though, I'm just sayin' ...

The Schloss is perched on a lovely hill, and it is not a difficult walk down to the town if you like a good walk. One pathway down the hill is easier than the other (out the front doors and find the path that veers down the hill to the right of the Schloss, not to the left). The village is pretty with a few pubs, restaurants and a couple of little shops. And a large loo factory where you can go visit the largest loo in creation and peer across the valley from the lip of its bowl ... I then referred to the town as 'Hornbog', no reflection on the standard of the town, though!

Free WiFi internet was accessible from the rooms and around the hotel and I don't think anyone had any problems accessing it or using it during our stay.

The highlight of our stay was most certainly the meals - the few lunches we had and all the dinners. Breakfasts were simple but adequate. However, on the other hand, the lunches and dinners were magnificent 4 to 5 course meals (we were there over Christmas), with beautifully set tables. Not what we expected on tour staying in a three star hotel. The meals weren't always everyone's cup of tea, as it was sometimes traditional food although interesting to learn about and try. We thought it was terrific and the trouble and effort the staff went to was commendable.

Generally, the staff was friendly, helpful and worked tirelessly thru every meal. On our last night we had a medieval banquet style dinner under the Schloss in their cellars. It was really well done, highly enjoyable and the main fellow or Jester (?) who entertained us was quite hilarious. It was a great end to our stay.

If you are out touring most of the day and are happy with clean and basic rooms, don't expect more than what a three star hotel offers, in a lovely location, with good meals, helpful staff and owners, (oh, did I mention the cozy bar?), you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. I had a single room which was roomy and had a glorious view out over the valley. The food was very good and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. We took a taxi down to the station and back and the cost was only E5.50 each way for six people. Walking down would have been difficult on the hillside path and a long way on the road. There is plenty of room to spread out in the public rooms after dinner and also a ballroom with a grand piano.

Room Tip: Ask for one on a low floor and with a view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My husband and I were with a tour and stayed 3 nights at this hotel. While the dining room was pleasant, the rooms needed refurbishment. Our room was bleak and stark. The two windows were extremely close to trees and bushes and no daylight could get into the room. There was no where to sit and I had to take a chair from the hallway.I asked to change rooms but was asked for more money which we did not pay so stayed where we were.
The breakfast was alright however the evening meals were only just passable.
The location is at the top of a steep hill, with good views over the surrounding area,however you have to walk round the pathways to get these views certainly not from our bedroom.
The whole place needs a complete renovation.
It may be alright for 1 night if you are passing through this area but not for any length of time.

Room Tip: If you do stay here ask for the rooms which face out to the front of the hotel.These rooms are large...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glamourous056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

High on a hill overlooking the town fine if you can walk up & down hills otherwise get a taxi ! excellent staff very helpful the only disappointment were the single rooms, more like a cupboard but the breakfast & dinners certainly made up for this.We stayed in May.& would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Well ok I am an honest reporter here.. so it is up to you if you wish to listen up. I was on a bus tour so straight away what i did learn in europe is that this means the lowest prices to be screwed out of hotels and hence the crappiest service one could wish for!! ok so for this hotel well on first sight the location is the one and only good thing about this place. As we booked in which was a hassle with 21 of us, we finally got our room on the first floor, it would have to be the tiniest room in the place, we looked at our neighbours and theirs was massive with big windows etc.. but they were all meant to be the same value.. wtf?? we complained and of course they didnt budge until our tour manager spoke to them in german then we got a better room, but ok better meant maybe in the 1980's which is when the room would have been modelled. The furniture was well worn and grubby and terrible it needed the skip.. the meals were unfortunately a set menu which was strict and boring and on most nights some of my tour companions couldnt eat a thing. The 'cook' is the owners husband and unfort that is the sort of food you get, cooks, not chefs.. Overall this place needed the UK's hotel inspector to come in and trash the hell out of this place. Ok and dont start me on the wifi that didnt work until she used the hotels specific one not the one for guests, and yeah, windows open to the stink of cigars and cigarettes yum NOT, and of course towels in rooms that would scratch the skin off of your body and are the size for an 8 year old! ok so lets see if they print this as I was very disappointed and couldnt wait to leave. Sorry people I paid a lot for this tour and they chose poorly on this place, good luck!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlcartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornberg
3.4 mi away
Landhaus Lauble
Landhaus Lauble
#1 of 4 in Hornberg
70 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
#3 of 4 in Hornberg
101 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
#1 of 7 in Wolfach
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Berghotel Tannenhof-Schwarzwaldblick Triberg
5.6 mi away
Parkhotel Wehrle
Parkhotel Wehrle
#3 of 7 in Triberg
180 reviews
9.2 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
#1 of 4 in Oberwolfach
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Hornberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Hornberg Hotel

Address: Auf dem Schlossberg 1, 78132 Hornberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hornberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hornberg
Price Range: £84 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schloss Hornberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Hotel.de and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Schloss Hornberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing