We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schallstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We was staying the 2nd time in the hotel "Zum Ochsen". There are small, but excellent rooms, very nice and clean. They have also bigger double rooms, you should tell while the reservation what room you like.
There is only one minus point: take care that you didn't get a room with the window to the street - it's very loud!
The restaurant is excellent too, they have an own butchers, great typical very fresh German food.
The breakfast buffet we enjoyed so much!
If you want to book a hotel very close to the Black forest - book "Zum Ochsen"!
We will come back.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conqueror13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here while traveling around the area. Stayed only 1 night, room 103 which was facing the back of the property. Nice size room, clean, with balcony. The room had plenty of space to set luggage up and leave it open. It is not connected to the Restaurant, but it is just a quick walk across the parking lot. This place looks a little old and outdated, but everything was so clean, it didn't matter.
Comfortable bed, my only problem was that the duvet was a bit too thick and the pillow a bit too thin. I would get toasty warm to the extent of sweaty with the duvet, throw it off and get too cold. Did that all night. Good size bathroom also, with counter next to the sink to set toiletries. Nice shower with strong stream of water. Soft fluffy towels with a heater to hang them on.

The breakfast the next morning was fantastic. The dining area was the typical German wood look. Everything, again, was very clean and fresh looking. There was a wide variety of food to pick from and everything we tasted was delicious.

When it came time to pay, I was charged for the breakfast, when it was suppose to be gratis. I only noticed after we left and we were in the car. A lesson that I should check out the bill before I leave. With that said, we would stay at the Zum Ochsen again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Because this is an old lady hotel with some pleasant spots! First do not let the location and look fool you. Yes it is on a busy street, but ask for a room in the back. Traffic does die down. And do go and eat in the hotel. We had dinner and breakfast. Fresh flowers were in bloom and you would think that it was a floral shop. All kinds of great food to dose down with a Ganter beer.
Just around the corner from the vineyards, and the rooms are clean and bright. I loved it and would not hesitate to stay. good value for money. It is not a well ness hotel, no pool, no dancing. Just a great place to rest before you continue your travels. Enjoy...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ceedaworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: la partie ancienne est plus typique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Felix01000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schallstadt
2.1 mi away
Flair Hotel Alemannenhof
Flair Hotel Alemannenhof
#2 of 2 in Schallstadt
115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Fre...
#16 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
311 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Schloss Reinach
Hotel Schloss Reinach
#17 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
217 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Blume
Hotel Blume
#37 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen

Address: Basler Str. 50, 79227 Schallstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schallstadt
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schallstadt
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel-Restaurant zum Ochsen ! We are a familiy-run Business since 1919 and our philosophy is: Do it as good as you want to have it ! We are well-situated near Freiburg, Black Forrest, Alscace and Switzerland, our house is a nice place to stay for business and vacation. All our rooms have WIFI, new bathrooms, Samsung-flatscreen TV's with international programmes, in the Restaurant you will find an englisch and french menu with regional and traditional food and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing