We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schallstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We went with friends and we stayed in two rooms, rooms were well equipped and clean. The staff was very nice and the breakfast included was fresh and plentiful. I recommend this place to stay with friends. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    49
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
27
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Rooms are basic, but very clean and well maintained. The location is perfect if you want to see the area - Freiburg/Black Forest, Alsace, and the thermal baths. Breakfast is so fresh and plentiful. We stay frequently in the Black Forest and this is by far the best hotel yet - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were a party of 6 adults so we took 3 rooms; the rooms were well equipped and clean. The location is excellent for travellers that would like to explore the area of the black forest, the Rhein falls in Swaziland and Alsace-Lorraine.
There is a supermarket near on the way to the highway and Freiburg is 10 minutes away, grate and cheap city for shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tzilaeshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My family of four (two adults, two children ages 6 and 4) chose to stay at Hotel-Restaurant Zum Ochsen while visiting the Black Forest region, and we had a lovely visit! We had a large family room (one large bed, one bunk bed) that was very comfortable, and the bathroom was literally the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel. Truly spotless. The next morning, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast, far superior to any European included breakfast I've had before. Loads of different sausages, meats, and cheeses, homemade spreads, plenty of breads and cereals, multiple juices, coffee, and teas, and even scrambled eggs. The kids enjoyed playing on the small playground adjacent to the dining patio while my husband and I lingered over our coffee and enjoyed the atmosphere. And the price was more than reasonable. When we return to the Black Forest, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room not facing the street in advance. We sent an email a few weeks before our visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We was staying the 2nd time in the hotel "Zum Ochsen". There are small, but excellent rooms, very nice and clean. They have also bigger double rooms, you should tell while the reservation what room you like.
There is only one minus point: take care that you didn't get a room with the window to the street - it's very loud!
The restaurant is excellent too, they have an own butchers, great typical very fresh German food.
The breakfast buffet we enjoyed so much!
If you want to book a hotel very close to the Black forest - book "Zum Ochsen"!
We will come back.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conqueror13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here while traveling around the area. Stayed only 1 night, room 103 which was facing the back of the property. Nice size room, clean, with balcony. The room had plenty of space to set luggage up and leave it open. It is not connected to the Restaurant, but it is just a quick walk across the parking lot. This place looks a little old and outdated, but everything was so clean, it didn't matter.
Comfortable bed, my only problem was that the duvet was a bit too thick and the pillow a bit too thin. I would get toasty warm to the extent of sweaty with the duvet, throw it off and get too cold. Did that all night. Good size bathroom also, with counter next to the sink to set toiletries. Nice shower with strong stream of water. Soft fluffy towels with a heater to hang them on.

The breakfast the next morning was fantastic. The dining area was the typical German wood look. Everything, again, was very clean and fresh looking. There was a wide variety of food to pick from and everything we tasted was delicious.

When it came time to pay, I was charged for the breakfast, when it was suppose to be gratis. I only noticed after we left and we were in the car. A lesson that I should check out the bill before I leave. With that said, we would stay at the Zum Ochsen again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Because this is an old lady hotel with some pleasant spots! First do not let the location and look fool you. Yes it is on a busy street, but ask for a room in the back. Traffic does die down. And do go and eat in the hotel. We had dinner and breakfast. Fresh flowers were in bloom and you would think that it was a floral shop. All kinds of great food to dose down with a Ganter beer.
Just around the corner from the vineyards, and the rooms are clean and bright. I loved it and would not hesitate to stay. good value for money. It is not a well ness hotel, no pool, no dancing. Just a great place to rest before you continue your travels. Enjoy...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ceedaworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schallstadt
2.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
#25 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
641 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Blume
Hotel Blume
#33 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Flair Hotel Alemannenhof
Flair Hotel Alemannenhof
#2 of 2 in Schallstadt
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,632 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
235 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Schloss Reinach
Hotel Schloss Reinach
#12 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen

Property: Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen
Address: Basler Str. 50, 79227 Schallstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schallstadt
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schallstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel-Restaurant zum Ochsen ! We are a familiy-run Business since 1919 and our philosophy is: Do it as good as you want to have it ! We are well-situated near Freiburg, Black Forrest, Alscace and Switzerland, our house is a nice place to stay for business and vacation. All our rooms have WIFI, new bathrooms, Samsung-flatscreen TV's with international programmes, in the Restaurant you will find an englisch and french menu with regional and traditional food and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing