We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schallstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My group of friends stayed in the apartment at 406 for 2 nights, and absolutely loved it.

Talk about rooms with a view! As we were on the highest floors, all the windows in the apartment opened out to beautiful views of rooftops of the surrounding small town and the hills beyond! The apartment was spacious, with a large living room and huge bathroom, the bedrooms upstairs were huge and the and beds were supremely comfortable.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night and were so full after that we felt like we needed to be rolled back to our room - be warned, their mains (which were all delicious) come in HUGE portions!! Even the "petite" portions were daunting!

We only wished that the apartment had a kitchenette, or at least some coffee/tea facilities (an electric kettle would have been perfect!). But all in all, an excellent choice if you're visiting the Freiburg area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solstice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    49
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
26
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel to visit the city of Freiburg.It wasn't in town but the location was good because the Schallstadt train station was only a few minutes away by foot and from there we could go to Freiburg by train in only 5 minutes. The room was very pretty,clean and comfortable. Breakfast was rich and delicious.Everything was nice,we would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We went with friends and we stayed in two rooms, rooms were well equipped and clean. The staff was very nice and the breakfast included was fresh and plentiful. I recommend this place to stay with friends. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Rooms are basic, but very clean and well maintained. The location is perfect if you want to see the area - Freiburg/Black Forest, Alsace, and the thermal baths. Breakfast is so fresh and plentiful. We stay frequently in the Black Forest and this is by far the best hotel yet - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were a party of 6 adults so we took 3 rooms; the rooms were well equipped and clean. The location is excellent for travellers that would like to explore the area of the black forest, the Rhein falls in Swaziland and Alsace-Lorraine.
There is a supermarket near on the way to the highway and Freiburg is 10 minutes away, grate and cheap city for shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tzilaeshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My family of four (two adults, two children ages 6 and 4) chose to stay at Hotel-Restaurant Zum Ochsen while visiting the Black Forest region, and we had a lovely visit! We had a large family room (one large bed, one bunk bed) that was very comfortable, and the bathroom was literally the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel. Truly spotless. The next morning, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast, far superior to any European included breakfast I've had before. Loads of different sausages, meats, and cheeses, homemade spreads, plenty of breads and cereals, multiple juices, coffee, and teas, and even scrambled eggs. The kids enjoyed playing on the small playground adjacent to the dining patio while my husband and I lingered over our coffee and enjoyed the atmosphere. And the price was more than reasonable. When we return to the Black Forest, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room not facing the street in advance. We sent an email a few weeks before our visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We was staying the 2nd time in the hotel "Zum Ochsen". There are small, but excellent rooms, very nice and clean. They have also bigger double rooms, you should tell while the reservation what room you like.
There is only one minus point: take care that you didn't get a room with the window to the street - it's very loud!
The restaurant is excellent too, they have an own butchers, great typical very fresh German food.
The breakfast buffet we enjoyed so much!
If you want to book a hotel very close to the Black forest - book "Zum Ochsen"!
We will come back.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conqueror13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schallstadt
2.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
#25 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
634 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Blume
Hotel Blume
#33 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
35 reviews
4.5 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
594 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Schloss Reinach
Hotel Schloss Reinach
#12 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
180 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Fre...
#16 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen

Property: Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen
Address: Basler Str. 50, 79227 Schallstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schallstadt
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schallstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel-Restaurant zum Ochsen ! We are a familiy-run Business since 1919 and our philosophy is: Do it as good as you want to have it ! We are well-situated near Freiburg, Black Forrest, Alscace and Switzerland, our house is a nice place to stay for business and vacation. All our rooms have WIFI, new bathrooms, Samsung-flatscreen TV's with international programmes, in the Restaurant you will find an englisch and french menu with regional and traditional food and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing