We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most horrible hotel I've been staying the last 10j”
Review of Hotel Ifen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ifen
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wiesloch
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most horrible hotel I've been staying the last 10j”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I’ve been staying in this hotel for 1 week, then I decided to go away. Booked the 2 rooms apartment I’ve found it small, dirty and clairaudient. I can also absolutely NOT confirm positive feedback, contrary. The hotel is located middle in a cross of main streets. Who do not care of the traffic noise all night may be good there. The hotel is for me not the “typical hotel” but more an offices house with an hotel floor. I found on the 1st day an old Company ID card on the floor, back the drape. Are also the rooms carefully cleaned? It does not seems, so the room I’ve been staying. In details: the carpet is for my opinion dirty all over the apartment as it is almost more black instead of grey/blue. The apartment is with max. 20qm very small. Diverse accessories (e.g. the vases with plastic flours) are probably not been cleaned in the last months as there is 1 digit flour on. Very nice! You will probably find them (now) cleaned…. The furniture are very cheap so I cannot understand feedbacks saying “modern” (where are living those guys!??). Just say IKEA has high quality in comparison to. The hotel rooms are clairaudient due the fact the walls dividing from other guest rooms are made with cast. (clear…in a offices house you do not need real walls but more a baffle) The best: the kitchen utensils are so that grubby (!) that I got vomit seeing that, really!! I personally have decided even the fact I have booked the apartment due the kitchen to eat outside and having some dinner with sandwich. Showing that to the hotelier he said “oh….the cleaner has wash them not very good” (the lag had all around old/burned egg pieces….I should use that for cooking? Thanks NO!!!). Be happy that I do not upload the pictures. Last but not least the bill does not reflect the price I got over the phone as it came higher. But the crown overall is the hotelier itself that evict you when addressing claims, as I made. He told me if I don’t like as it is I can leave. What for an insolence! I spend 90% my time travelling so sleeping in hotels so I can very well distingue from a generous hotel and the opposite. Dear hotel, I am afraid this is my opinion, perhaps you should rethink your strategy . Thanks God that I do not have necessary to stay in such hotels wasting my time! Just that you have an idea, I’ve been sleeping for almost the same price in other hotels like the Waldschlößel Hotel and the BonneSuite Boardinghouse. Both WONDERFUL in relation of price, service and peoples. I can also fully recommend them to you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2008-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ifen, Owner at Hotel Ifen, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

You may be certain that we will check your complain.
I am sorry, for your disagreeableness.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
4
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I would definitely vouch for this hotel, for the location, proximity to many supermarkets, ATM, bus stops and for the tasty croissants. I stayed in the hotel for 2.5 months and I wouldn't complain at all.
Peter, the manager, is very accommodating and helpful. Though the breakfast was becoming a boring menu after a month, but one cannot complain, if the stay is shorter. My room had a balcony, which had a great view of the main street. The hotel staff were courteous and warm all the time. The Kitchen was equipped with sufficient utensils and appliances. On the whole, the hotel had given me good memories and would recommend this to any one, be it a business trip or a vacation.

Always check for the availability well in advance as the hotel is cheaper than many in Wisloch-Walldorf and almost full in all seasons.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhuAndBalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ifen, Inhaber at Hotel Ifen, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback.We are glad about reviews from our international guests.
All the best for your!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

It was a bit hard to find the Hotel Ifen as it is located on the second floor of a building above a retail extablishment. You must take the elevator up just to find the lobby. However, the accommodations were suprisingly nice, the breakfast buffet was excellent and the price was very reasonable.

The rooms were spacious and much larger than typical European hotel rooms. Our room even had a small balcony overlooking the back street. Everything was spotlessly clean and modern. The staff was friendly and courteous but unavalable after 9PM. You had a key to enter the front door. They provided free indoor parking.

The breakfast buffet provided the usual assortment of coffee, juice, rolls, breads, lunchmeats and cheeses, plus yogurt, breakfast cereals, fruits, pastries, and omlettes made to order. I thought it was one of the nicest buffet breakfast spreads that we found in any German hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAtouristcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

I'm staying at the Hotel Ifen now. The rooms in the hotel are modern and nice, and the breakfast is not great, but okay. Wiesloch (not too far away) is a nice little town, and it's well-situated for people visiting the local companies.

However, there are a few downsides to note:

* They claim to have WiFi and "in-room internet", but that translates into T-Mobile at 18 euros/day. The room has a phone with an ISDN line, but you have to bring your own modem/adapter (unfortunately, I left mine back in 1995) and I presume you'd be hit with phone charges. There's a PC in the lobby with a net connection for guests to use, but it's kept turned off; to use it, you have to get the manager to turn in on and log you in. Had we known about this (we need better connectivity than that, since I'm a consultant working in the room while my wife is off at the job that brought us here) we would have stayed somewhere else. We in fact made arrangements to check out early and move to another, better connected hotel, but were told here at the Ifen that they would charge us for our full week's stay if we did. Sigh.

* There are no on-site laundry facilities; I guess I shouldn't have been surprised by this, but we've stayed in other business-type hotels that have had coin-op machines in the basement. They'll send out a bag of laundry for 4 euros and get it back to you in two days.

* The staff is competent but, well, a little cranky (and no, it's not just a language matter). Not quite to Basil Fawlty levels, but even simple requests seem like a burden. I'm glad I haven't had to ask them for help on a serious matter.

So, I dunno. It's not a bad place, but there's nothing here to make me want to stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank jrm_tadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wiesloch hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiesloch
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Palatin Kongress Hotel
2.2 mi away
Ringhotel Winzerhof
Ringhotel Winzerhof
#1 of 4 in Rauenberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vorfelder
Hotel Vorfelder
#1 of 16 in Walldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Freihof
Hotel Restaurant Freihof
#3 of 6 in Wiesloch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ambiente
Hotel Ambiente
#3 of 16 in Walldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ifen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ifen

Property: Hotel Ifen
Address: Schwetzinger Str. 131, 69168 Wiesloch, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Wiesloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wiesloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ifen 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers modern rooms and apartments and it is located 900 far from the centre of Wiesloch.Each rooms has tea and coffee facilities and some rooms have balconies/loggia. Wi-Fi is available througout the building.Private parking is free.Heidelberg Castle and the Hockenheim Race Track are 20-minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ifen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing