We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Greifen Post
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Feuchtwangen
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A romantic stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

On our trip through Europe we needed to find a hotel somewhere in the vicinity of Nürnberg. We considered staying in the more touristy towns like Dinkelsbühl or Rothenburg but ended up choosing Feuchtwangen. The town was extremely quiet when we were there !!! One of the reasons for choosing the town was that when we researched the internet we found Hotel Greifen-Post.

The hotel was everything we were hoping for - romantic, cosy, clean, quiet. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed the night we were there. We were given directions to another restaurant where we had a delicious dinner.

What made this hotel special were the little gifts - free home made "sherry" in the room and a little jam jar when we were leaving.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SORCEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    38
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
40
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manyana, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is an excellent hotel situated in a beautiful town. The staff were very welcoming and we were presented with a jar of jam on our departure as a token of their appreciation . The restaurant served beautifully presented food and we were very impressed with the waiting staff. The room was impressive; very old world with a canopy bed. Glass doors led out onto a terrace garden area so you could get some fresh air. The covered swimming pool in the basement area was wonderful and atmospheric ( apparently once the stables in this centuries old building). There was a sauna and spa also. The hotel was quiet with no street noise. This was one of the best hotels in our 5 week trip throughGermany and France.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrygirl8050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2006

A lovely hotel in a 600-year old building. Rooms were very comfortable. Staff was incredibly accomodating and breakfast was delicious.

The hotel is located in a small town along the Romantic Road, so it's the perfect stop along your way.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank latte4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2006

The Greifen-Post is one of the best hotels on the Romantic Road and is ideally located, right in the middle between Rothenburg, Dinkelsbühl and Nördlingen, in the charming medieval town Feuchtwangen which is an attraction in itsself. Within Feuchtwangen, the hotel is right on the marketplace, adjacent to the cathedral and the cloisters.
The Greifen-Post is a truly romantic hotel, consisting of two neighboring buildings which are 400+ years old. Expect old wood panelling, creaking floors and a lot of atmosphere.
The rooms are all beautifully decorated, but different in size. The range is from 100€ for a small double room over 130€ for a spacious room to 150€ for a suite. The bathrooms are small but modern, however in historical design. You will find a lot of amenities on the room, including bathrobes and each day a complimentray pitcher with sherry.
The hotel boasts a beautiful swimming-pool under the vaults of the old stables, a sauna and a steam room.
The restaurant is very good, with German fare, cooked in a light and innovative way. The chef uses a lot of organic produce from regional farms. On the menu, you find pike-perch, venison, lamb, duck, pork and angus beef. E.g. they serve the filet mignon from angus beef together with truffles baby leeks. The leg of lamb goes with marinated pumpkin. The pike-perch is served on a bed of chanterelle risotto. Main dishes are from 14€ thru 22€, and a six-course-menu is offered for 45€. The selection of regional beers is as good as the selection of wines. Try the hazelnut schnapps, too!
Breakfast is also good, with eggs cooked to order, Weisswurst, organic breads, cereals, four juices, homemade jams, homemade herb teas, and sparkling wine.
One word about the service: All the people in this house are just wonderful and add a personal touch. As a nice surprise on checking out, the proprietor gave us a 10% discout on the rates and a small gift as well.
All in all, a most romantic experience.

  • Liked — Location, historical charme, food, people, pool, sauna
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — If you can afford, do not book the cheapest room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, OR
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2006

This is a charming old world hotel where the floors creak in the oldest building. Our room was clean and comfortable except for the toilet room which made an airline toilet seem like Buckingham Palace. You have to park on the street near the hotel but we never had a problem finding a place within 25 feet or so of the hotel, parking is 3 euro.

As we booked half pension our dinner was included in the rate and they were great the 2 night we stayed there. Also, there is a great wine list. The staff were friendly and made you feel right at home. The breakfast buffet was average but who could eat alot after those wonderful meals the night before.

There is free wireless access in the library. When we checked out we were given a jar of fresh jam that brings back wonderful memories of our stay here.

  • Liked — The wonderful food and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The small toilet room
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat your evening meal there as they are great!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ortravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feuchtwangen
0.2 mi away
Gasthof-Pension Wilder Mann
Gasthof-Pension Wilder Mann
#3 of 6 in Feuchtwangen
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Landgasthof Walkmuhle
Landgasthof Walkmuhle
#2 of 6 in Feuchtwangen
15 reviews
7.0 mi away
Vital-Hotel Meiser
Vital-Hotel Meiser
#1 of 1 in Fichtenau
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Deutsches Haus
Deutsches Haus
#1 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Gasthof Lamm
#6 of 6 in Feuchtwangen
13 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hezelhof Hotel
Hezelhof Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Greifen Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Greifen Post

Property: Romantik Hotel Greifen Post
Address: Marktplatz 8, 91555 Feuchtwangen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Feuchtwangen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Feuchtwangen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Greifen Post 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Romantik Hotel Greifen Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Feuchtwangen
Romantik Hotel Greifen Post Feuchtwangen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing