We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming larger room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Romantik Hotel Greifen Post
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Feuchtwangen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My single room is small and, to be honest, smells like the sewer is backed up, but the room my parents are in is really nice, a double with a couch and a desk, and it doesn't smell. My dinner was surprisingly disappointing because the menu made it sound so luscious, so I was expecting a great taste but instead the dish seemed salty and underwhelming. It was an avocado and cauliflower cous cous "tart" without any actual tart, and was supposed to have beet root hummus, but just had beets. I think something got lost in translation. But other than that, it's really nice, so far. The wi fi is working fine.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank MaryQU88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is half way along the 'Romantic Road' in Bavaria. Feuchwangen is perhaps not as pretty or well known as some of the other, larger towns but it's still an attractive place and easy to find. The Greifen Post is well situated in the Market Square with easy parking out the front, large, comfortable rooms and friendly service. Not too much English is spoken by non-management but it's out in the country so what do you expect! It's 2 buildings combined and rather rambling, and has a charming old-world feel about it. Dinner and Breakfast were both good (not too many other places for Dinner in Feuchwangen). As with many old buildings getting wifi in the rooms is a challenge, but this is only a minor inconvenience outweighed by the comfort and ambience of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nagorbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

A group of 5 of us spent 2 nights in 3 rooms at Greifen-Post. This is a lovely small hotel in a historic building in the very center of Feuchtwangen's old town, a very charming small town along the Romantic Road in Germany's lush countryside. The hotel is family-run and offers very friendly, upscale service, beautiful decor, charming rooms with modern amenities in what feels like (and probably is) an elegant old country home. The floors in the hallways creak, the halls are populated with objects from a bygone time (a wooden sled, for example), but the rooms themselves are cozy, quiet, clean and comfortable. The hotel offers a nice restaurant and a great breakfast buffet. This is a fantastic place to stay if you are driving the Romantic Road and prefer to stay in a beautiful, calm setting away from the crowds. It is quite close (20-25 minutes by car) to Rothenburg ob der Tauber, the big attraction in this region.

Room Tip: Just let them know your preferences! The 3 rooms we booked were all charming and perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I admit, Feuchtwangen was not my first choice; but Dinkelsbuehl was apparently full, and this charming small town turned out to be just as nice - thanks in large part to this fine old hotel and its excellent restaurant. It's located on the very picturesque market place (with outdoor seating) in a pair of quite old buildings full of antiques and character. Very friendly personnel, free wi-fi, and an ample breakfast. No on-site parking, however, so unless it's a weekend you may have to park some distance away.
The only real drawback, common to most German hotels, is that when it gets real warm (as it was on my visit), there’s little you can do, absent a/c or even fans, but leave the window open. In this case (I may have had a less expensive room), in lieu of a window there was just a door opening onto a small courtyard where other guests sometimes congregated - a little more privacy, as well as quiet, would have been nice (and would have meant a 5th "star").
Overall, however, a very pleasant stay: dinner was great, and while it didn't take long to walk around this small town, it was a pleasure to do so, with some picturesque streets, several nice small parks, and plenty of benches along the way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here on the recommendation of relatives who live in the area. We found the room very clean & comfortable. Our room was above a narrow one-way cobblestone road which had a surprising amount of traffic for such a small village so was noisy with the windows open. We spent 3 nights here but the restaurant was closed for 2 of those nights so we didn't get to try it plus we were taken to various other restaurants by our friends.
The breakfasts were very good with great service. The Wi-Fi didn't work in the room even though I could pick up the network I was unable to connect so needed to stand in the passage way or go downstairs. Staff were mostly very helpful considering the language difficulties. Parking the hire car in the street was no problem and I only had to pay for the parking on or last day which was a monday when parking restrictions applied.
We thought the complimentary sherry was a nice touch but weren't offered the jam that others have mentioned in their reviews.
Overall impression was very good & I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steveg050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We flew into Frankfurt and needed a place to stay that was halfway to Fussen. We had trouble finding a place in Dinklesbuhl and while searching came across the Romantik.

This hotel turned out to be on of the highlights of the trip! The entire hotel has tonnes of character, from the architecture to the paintings on the wall. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. We also enjoyed the seperate toilet room from the sink and shower. Our room opened up to a courtyard with chairs and a garden.

The pictures of the pool on their website do not do it justice!!! They have much more than a pool...two saunas, foot baths, very large pool. There is a beautiful sitting area and includes drinks and a burning incense. Make sure you leave yourself a couple of hours to enjoy!

The breakfast was delicious and classic German. There was a large selection of buns, bread, meats, fruit, eggs, etc. Also all of the cereal, nuts, muesli you could ask for. Juice and coffee was delicious and always served by a nice lady.

Do not think twice about the Romantik it was worth every penny!

(PS the only downfall was that there was no air conditioning and my husband found it uncomfortable to sleep as it was a hot night in August)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

On our trip through Europe we needed to find a hotel somewhere in the vicinity of Nürnberg. We considered staying in the more touristy towns like Dinkelsbühl or Rothenburg but ended up choosing Feuchtwangen. The town was extremely quiet when we were there !!! One of the reasons for choosing the town was that when we researched the internet we found Hotel Greifen-Post.

The hotel was everything we were hoping for - romantic, cosy, clean, quiet. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed the night we were there. We were given directions to another restaurant where we had a delicious dinner.

What made this hotel special were the little gifts - free home made "sherry" in the room and a little jam jar when we were leaving.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SORCEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feuchtwangen
1.0 mi away
Landgasthof Walkmuhle
Landgasthof Walkmuhle
#2 of 6 in Feuchtwangen
18 reviews
6.8 mi away
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
#10 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gasthof-Pension Wilder Mann
Gasthof-Pension Wilder Mann
#3 of 6 in Feuchtwangen
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#9 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
120 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Blauer Hecht
Hotel Blauer Hecht
#4 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
149 reviews
6.8 mi away
Deutsches Haus
Deutsches Haus
#1 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Greifen Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Greifen Post

Address: Marktplatz 8, 91555 Feuchtwangen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Feuchtwangen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Feuchtwangen
Price Range: £105 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Greifen Post 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Romantik Hotel Greifen Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Feuchtwangen
Romantik Hotel Greifen Post Feuchtwangen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing