We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halblech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Jackson
Ranked #1 of 7 Halblech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Unfortunately, we only had a short time at B&B Jackson...but it was a wonderful experience. The house is a lovingly restored home dating from Medieval times. Every room has been tastefully decorated and the hosts, Colin and Renata, were great hosts. After coming back from dinner, we met up with them in the piano room to listen to Renata sing while I played the piano. It was a lovely evening all around. The homemade breakfast was delicious and the conversation was just as delightful. I couldn't recommend B&B Jackson more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakestatn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

This place is really beautiful, and so tastefully renovated/decorated. Everything is in the details...

We stayed in the Lord Byron room and we found everything we needed : from bathrobe to coffee/tea facilities, even a music player with classical music! The breakfast was gorgeous, we could not ask for more and Colin & Renata are really lovely hosts.

The only thing that prevents me to give it a five stars is the road where the house sits... It gets really noisy between 6:30 & 7am, which woke us up (and I had earplugs). Maybe the other room does not face the main street... I would highly recommand the place, but not to light sleepers like me.

Room Tip: Lord Byron room faces the mainstreet and is pretty busy early morning. If you are a light sleeper, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SigiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A charming old farmhouse located in the small village of Berghof/Halblech about 9klms from King Ludwig's Castle Neuschwanstein at the foot of the Bavarian alps. The award winning home has been sympathetically restored, retaining most of its original character. Hosts John and Renata are most welcoming and a source of valuable local knowledge and suggestions for day trips around the area. Breakfasts were great and the old stable/barn area has been renovated to provide a cosy library area in which to relax and enjoy a wine after a day's touring. We stayed 5 nights and found it a good base from which to take day tours. Munich is about an hour away and we took a day trip parking at a park and ride station about 5 stops from central Munich for Euro 1.50 for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you don't have this Bed & Breakfast on your "Bucket List" of things to see or do before you die, I strongly suggest you add it today. From the moment we were greeted at the front door by Colin with a warm friendly hello to our last day, Colin and Renate made us feel as if Bed & Breakfast Jackson was truly our Bavarian home away from home. I truly had to chuckled inside when Colin handed us our own key to the front door. Wow!!! What a fabulous and memorable experience, staying in this beautifully decorated and restored old barn. Today it is impossible to see anything that resembles an old barn, instead it looks like a charming country cottage surrounded by beautiful gardens, which is located in a quiet village just one minute from the Romantic Road. Our room was clean, charming, spacious and quiet. A scrumptious breakfast was served daily in the sunny breakfast room. The table, set lovingly with fine china, silver, linens and a bouquet of fresh flowers. Breakfast consisting of fresh made rolls, German breads, homemade jellies/jams, choice meats, German cheeses, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, dry cereals, hot coffee or tea was obtained by Renate daily from local merchants. Truly a wonderful way to start your day. During our stay I celebrated a birthday. That morning when we arrived in the breakfast room Renate had scattered flower pedals around the table top and placed a delicious chocolate bar (which was gone within two days) and birthday card next to my place setting. What an unexpected extra special touch.
Centrally located close to many charming villages, the Iconic Schloss Neuschwanstein and Schloss Hohenschwagau Castles, restaurants, grocery stores, gas, a large lake, alpine meadows and snow covered alp's. Who wouldn't want to visit here? This Bavarian vacations was a dream come true. I would return tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

B&B Jackson was a fantastic surprise in the countryside of Bavaria. Our room had a direct view of Schloss Neuschwanstein and Schloss Hohenschwangau in the distance, just a ten minute drive from the B&B. The charming town of Fussen is just a little bit further down the road where you can take meals and enjoy the well-preserved old town.

Colin and Renate were hospitable, friendly and generously shared knowledge about the region and sights. Breakfast, which is included in the very reasonable price, was served on antique china with hotel silver, and in generous portions. There's a bio (organic) market just next to the B&B with a wide assortment of natural and bio foods.

The B&B is loaded with rustic charm and comfort, with maze-like passageways of old solid timber and rustic tiles. It's easy to find, just a kilometer off the main road, with parking behind the house. We were there in shoulder-season, so booking could not have been easier. Two email exchanges with Colin and we were set. No deposits, no hassle, no dealing with bank transfers. (By the way, payment is cash only.)

This was a great exploration base that added an authentic Bavarian touch to our holiday. I highly recommend B&B Jackson for couples who want a relaxed, friendly and cozy stay while visiting the area.

Room Tip: There are just two rooms so you can't go wrong. The "Lord Byron" room is on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobF850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is the best bed and breakfast experience we've ever had. The restored old barn/house is beautiful, charming and furnished with antique furniture. It is fastidiously kept. Our room was immaculate. Renate and Colin made a sumptious breakfast the next day, and joined us at the table for a lovely chat. Colin's extensive knowledge of Bavarian history is truly impressive. We wished we had more time to get to know them. Our stay here is one of the highlights of our trip in Germany.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieN310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Colin and Renate were amazing hosts! The property is absolutely beautiful and the rooms were cozy, warm and spacious. We were there in December so it was very snowy and cold which just added to the magical atmosphere. It was very, very dark when we arrived and Colin was nice enough to stand outside and wait for us so that we wouldn't miss the turn. The following morning Renate made the most beautiful breakfast which was the perfect finale to our visit. I highly recommend visiting Bed and Breakfast Jackson and look forward to returning myself!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halblech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Berghof
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bannwaldsee
Hotel Bannwaldsee
#2 of 2 in Halblech
85 reviews
1 mi away
Alpengasthof Geiselstein
Alpengasthof Geiselstein
#6 of 7 in Halblech
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Gaestehaus Alpenland
#7 of 7 in Halblech
5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sonnenbichl
Hotel Sonnenbichl
#3 of 7 in Halblech
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Jackson

Address: Illasbergstr. 21, 87642 Halblech, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Landhaus Jackson)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Halblech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Halblech
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The core of the house is medieval and the house name Lippergüt’l originates from this period. Approximately 200 years ago the house was enlarged. We completely renovated the property where after it was listed as a building of historic interest. We won two prestigious awards for the restoration work and today the house offers some 450 qm. of living space wherein guests can enjoy an atmosphere of magical country elegance. Each room speaks for itself. The former barn is particularly impressive having retained it's former height and spaciousness where the elegant antique furnishings are shown to their best advantage. There is a library with a large selection of books also a piano for the musically inclined.On the ground floor of the barn is a conservatory style area where guests can breakfast, drink tea or simply sit and chat and enjoy a glass of wine. Here also are lovely views of the garden and surrounding countryside.However, words alone do not do the house justice. you must experience it for yourself! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing