We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, good breakfast, bad servce re buffet dinner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mardin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mardin
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hoppegarten
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good breakfast, bad servce re buffet dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The rooms are nice with practical lockers. Breakfast is good - although Germans love to queue up for everything, e.g. a single piece of bread - that takes time..
But having a buffet dinner at this hotel is a bad experice. As there was not enough waiters it took half an hour from ordering a glas of beer before you got it. The service was bad from the barman. One does not seem to understand that at the end of the day, it is the custommers that pay their saleries and the Income of the hotel. Without custommers no hotel and no jobs.

The hotel lies in a Nice rural area. As to transports, if you are not together wit a group, it is not easy to go, on your own, to the city center of Berlin by Public transport; Our bus used more than 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose a quiet room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oivind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    51
    36
    34
    41
See reviews for
20
76
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

After reviewing some of the other reviews, I began to think I had made a big mistake and wasn't sure how things were going to turn out. However, there wasn't any reason that I needed to have worried. I was well aware that it wasn't in the centre of Berlin. I actually enjoyed the 15-20 minute stroll from the hotel to the Berkenstein station, followed by the 30 minute train ride into Berlin. I was on holiday, I didn't have a schedule that meant I must be at such and such at such a time. The room was clean, the bed comfy, the staff generally friendly and smiling. The sauna costs an extra 3 euros to use, but I didn't think that too unreasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I'm afraid I disagree with the many terrible reviews. The hotel is some distance from the centre of Berlin, but that should not come as a shock or be considered valid criticism. If you don't want to drive, take the bus or a train to the city, you literally have to pay the price for a more expensive hotel.

I believe the hotel was possibly established before the German unification and as such was not originally built according to Western standards. It seems to have been upgraded since then and I have no complaints. The staff have been very helpful, always smiling and politely greeting guests.

The room I had was quite nice. It was located on the first floor and faced inwards, overlooking the ground floor's sod roof and the small forest behind the hotel. I assume people facing the road were at an disadvantage. I slept very well at night as I never heard any traffic or noise. I enjoyed lots of sunlight from the large window, and while open I only heard the sound of birds chirping. The heavy blackout curtains worked properly at night. As hotel room carpets go it wasn't very unusual.

The beds were comfortable enough, the sheets and covers were clean. The bathroom facilities and shower cabinet were clean, somewhat modernized and adequate. Various cups, soaps and different paper towels, seat covers were provided etc.

The desk, small table and chairs met my needs. The TV offered various channels from around Europe. The Internet did not work at the beginning of the week, but I opted for one of the several commercial providers. These other Wifi options were fast and very affordable.

Breakfast is served in the welcoming and intimate restaurant area. The restaurant staff was friendly and efficient. When eating breakfast you may choose a table by the large glass windows facing the outside seating area.

The breakfast was very good and goes beyond the standard continental breakfast. The buffet consisted of breads, cereals, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, various cold meats, cheese, youghurts, some salad, fruit, cakes, various juices, coffee, tea and milk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 956AndH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I was travelling around Europe with my partner and happened to book this place through Travel Republic.
Everything was going great with flights on time and trains also. However when arriving at the train station near the hotel what a joke it turned out to be.
It is a good 30 minute walk to the hotel through some very unfriendly looking German villages. and with nothing nearby. Please note that the nearest shop is next to the train station so pop in before you head for the hotel.
When we arrived at the hotel we were 15 minutes early for check in so waited in reception at 2:30 we asked if it was ready. the receptionist simply said "NO IT NEEDS CLEANING YOU WILL WAIT" at this point a German family came in checked in no problems got a full run down of the hotel everything around and times for dinner etc.
We then asked for our room again and the lady didn't even say a word just threw the key over the desk at us. We found our own way to the room. Overall the room wasn't too bad it was clean and had what you would need. So i cant fault on that. I then asked at reception about breakfast etc and was told come back tomorrow we are busy to talk now. But then helped the next person who was not English.

I stand by previous reviews and thought it may just be people being over dramatic. However i now stand by the fact this place is so anti-English and unhelpful. I would not as anyone to stay at this place.

We checked out the next morning first thing and found a holiday inn right in the middle of Berlin for the same price with nice friendly people and enjoyed Berlin much more. If anybody wishes to ask me anything about this place please email me.
paulsouthport@live.co.uk

Enjoy your holidays. Just not here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoppegarten hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I just left from that hotel , well it's not in Berlin as with no car access you can't do anything . It took us 25 min to drive to the city centre , the location is terrible. The rooms were horrible , we had back pain from the beds. If you want to relax do NOT GO THERE.
The hotel was empty and I understand why , you also have to pay for Internet which not logic for a 4 star hotel . Moreover, the cleaning lady start talking loudly around 8am every day no consideration for the guests that are sleeping. The housekeeping also refuse to clean the room after 11h even if we ask for it .
In summary I advice every person with good sense not to go there .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radia1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This hotel is technically not in Berlin, but just outside of Berlin.
Terrible front desk service, bad beds, terrible pillows, no refrigerator in the room, and internet (only option 5 hours for 10 euro) does not work! (room 327)
I didn't get my money back after I was promised so.
Excellent breakfast however with a very pleasant and kind lady, who made sure everything was in order.
Shower is also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwyneth161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

had the worse experience of my life, we travel 3 friends btw age 23-25 for new year celebration 2012. the room were DISGUSTING, they stink, no air conditions, u can hear traffic from ur room, TOO FAR FROM CITY, nothing to eat, we slept hungry n checked out the 1st thing!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoppegarten
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Berlin Hoppegarten
2.6 mi away
HEP Hotel Berlin
HEP Hotel Berlin
#1 of 1 in Hoenow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Zum Grunen Tor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hoppegarten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel B1
Hotel B1
#399 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Mueggelsee Berlin
Hotel Mueggelsee Berlin
#283 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alte Muehle
Hotel Alte Muehle
#1 of 1 in Schoneiche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mardin

Property: Hotel Mardin
Address: Koepenicker Str. 1, 15366 Hoppegarten, Brandenburg, Germany (Formerly Hotel Berlin Hoppegarten)
Region: Germany > Brandenburg > Hoppegarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hoppegarten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mardin 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hotel Hoppegarten
Hoppegarten Berlin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing