We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible experience with Halbersbacher”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“terrible experience with Halbersbacher”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a hotel, located about 10km (6 miles) from Frankfurt International Airport - and it advertises itself as an airport hotel. We parked outside, got a room and caught a flight to Sweden. But when we returned on Sunday and called - as we were told - for the hotel shuttle, we were told it wasn't running.

Then the desk person told us to take the bus. Well, on a Sunday, that wasn't going to work. So we had to get a taxi. Well the taxi ride starts out OK, but we get caught in a traffic jam that didn't move an inch for 30 minutes, all the time the taxi meter is ticking up more money.

Eventually, we just got out and walked with our luggage down the road 3 km to find our car, my 30 kilo bag cutting into my shoulder the whole time. You people suck! I'm going to post this here and on other web sites to warn people what kind of rotten service you provide.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Dines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin K, social media beauftragte at Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Dear deon keyser.

We apologize for you bad experience in our Hotel. Be sure that this doesn´t belong to our standard. We are still working to improve our service and would be thankful to have the opportunity to show that you that we can be much better.


Kind regards

Maika Ehring
reputation manager
halbersbacher privathotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    17
    18
    11
    17
See reviews for
12
16
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Other reviewers have been correct about this place: it's not an airport hotel that caters to working people. In addition, things that are normally included in hotels are not. Breakfast, shuttle, Internet, even coffee -- none of these things are included in the price. There is a nice restaurant close by, Avocado, where I had a good meal and excellent service. There is a bus that goes once an hour that takes you to the S-Bahn just a couple minutes' walk from the hotel. But if you want convenience and things that are normally included, don't come here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin K, social media beauftragte at Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Dear Kathy

thank you very much that you spent your time by evaluate us. We are still improving our service. Since March 2014 we belong to halbersbacher privathotels and have been already changed a lot.

we would be glad to show you that we do much better

Kind regards
Maika Ehring
reputation manager
halbersbacher privathotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morfelden-Walldorf hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I am currently in this hotel. I have spend more than 150 days in hotels this year.

All hotels are booked in the city so I had no choice other than pick this hotel. I am paying $716 for 4 nights. That's $179-00 per night and it has no mini bar or refrigeration, no restaurant, no parking, no coffee, no drinking 3water in the room and nothing close by.

This hotel is 10km from the airport terminal and a taxi ride will cost you 25-30 euros.
(This little neighborhood has no access to the airport. You have to drive out of it, get on the A5 freeway going north and then turn off at the airport). Not your typical "Airport" hotel that has a walkway to check-in or has a shuttle.

Furthermore, there is no access to the Frankfurt transportation system. The closest S-Bahn station is 1 mile (1.6 km) away and goes to the Airport first. You are 14 miles (22 km) away from Frankfurt's main train station.

Expedia has pre-paid me and after check-in, there is no posibility of getting the unsed days creditted. Once in, you stay in.

The hotel shuttle is expensive (16 euros one way, 20 both ways) and internet is another 9 Euros (but you may be able to get it for free).

Internet connection is too slow for conference calls. Do not plan to work from this hotel at all.

1x Bad Italian "eating place" (this cannot be a restaurant) and an Imbiss (trailer selling food) in walking distance.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay if you want to work remote. This location has no redemption at all! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deon-keyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaventem, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

All hotels booked in the city so I had no choice other than pick a hotel near the airport.
This hotel however is 10km from the airport terminal and a taxi ride can cost you up to 30 euros. The hotel shuttle is also expensive (16 euros one way, 20 both ways) and internet is another 9 Euros. All this said, add 29 euros to your room rate and select another hotel with free shuttle and internet if you can!
The 2 major issues I've encountered besides the above mentioned points;
- The room smells bad.
- Internet connection did not work in my room, got a refund but could not work.
Nearest train station is 1.6km away so you are far away from reliable transportation other than the hotel expensive shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabrice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin K, social media beauftragte at Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Dear Fabrice

We apologize that we couldn´t saticfy you. Be sure that we are always working to improve our service. We would be happy to welcome you soon again

kind regards

Maika Ehring
reputation manager
halbersbacher privathotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you need a reasonably priced, clean hotel near Frankfurt Airport, this is the place to stay. Our room was large and very clean. The hotel is within walking distance of a large shopping center with several restaurants. Breakfast was adequate and there was parking available for a fee. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjfralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin K, social media beauftragte at Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Dear Mjfralia

thank you very much for your positive evaluation. we are very happy to welcome you soon again

kind regards

Maika Ehring
reputation manager
halbersbacher privathotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Found this on trip Advisor. Great room space with mini kitchen. Kids had adjoining room very safe and secure. Coffee and hot chocolate machine a real hit. Good breakfast buffet choice. Very laid back atmosphere. We liked it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin K, social media beauftragte at Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Dear TLH 65

Thank you so much for your positive evaluation. We are glad to see that you spent a lovely time in our hotel and would be happy to welcome you soon again

Kind regards

Maika Ehring
reputation manager
halbersbacher privathotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Rooms were very spacious but basic. Could best be described as functional. Bathrooms were small but did the job. The rooms had no character whatsoever. Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. I would rate it more as a guest house than a hotel. Staff were pleasant enough but could not be described as friendly. We paid for ‘private parking’ at €8 a night, however there was NO car park, and it was not secure, it was basically just a case of squeezing in with 6 other cars in the space outside the hotel door. On departure they tried to charge us extra for breakfast and parking until we showed the special online rate on a printout.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a mini-kitchen, including fridge ask for one if you feel you might use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turasoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin K, social media beauftragte at Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Dear Turasoir 1

We apologize that we couldn´t saticfy you. Be sure that this doesn´t belong to our high standard.
We would be happy to show you that we can do much better

Kind regards

Maika Ehring
reputation manager
halbersbacher privathotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morfelden-Walldorf
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walldorf
Hotel Walldorf
#7 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Global
Hotel Global
#4 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#46 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.0 mi away
NH Frankfurt Airport
NH Frankfurt Airport
#1 of 8 in Kelsterbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt

Property: Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Address: Nordendstr. 4a, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Morfelden-Walldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Morfelden-Walldorf
Hotel Class:3 star — Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right at the gates of Frankfurt, the halbersbacher airport hotel offers quiet and comfortable rooms with excellent service. Conveniently located our hotel is found close to all major highways of the Rhein –Main Area and close to the biggest airport in Germany. Take advantage of our convenient airport transfer for your arrival and departure.The hotel offers great connections to the Frankfurt Trade Fair as well as downtown Frankfurt. For this purpose, we will gladly arrange for your shuttle service enabling fast transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Domizil Frankfurt
Halbersbacher Airport Hotel Frankfurt Germany/Morfelden-Walldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing