We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather stay at Hilton garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I'd rather stay at Hilton garden”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

1- never try to take the train to this place. it is far out. you need to take the train from frankfurt hbf to morfelden (20 mins max) on S7. then you need to take a bus from morfelden, then drop off somewhere far then cross the woods (20 mins walk) to get to this place. MIDDLE OF NO WHERE LITERALLY.

2- lady on duty in the evening of 26 feb was a little racially discriminating. it is observed that she dislikes asians. on 2 separate occasions on that night within a 3 hour time frame, i saw her being sarcastic towards 2 asians. not to mention, when i called her to asked her if there was wifi in the room, she scoffed that there wasnt. no big deal in telling me there wasnt wifi WITHOUT cable in the room, she didnt have to scoff. lucky for her cause she didnt work in the USA as i would easily have gotten family friend to get rid of her on her job. racial discrimination is not a joke

3- bar tender was nice & friendly though. gave him a 60% tip.

4- light sleepers will get to wake up at 6am without alarm as the walls are thin as ice. people are moving from their room to go to the airport or wherever.

5- there is no dinner restaurant for this place. bar has pizza, thats about it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissabenedicte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Melissabenedicte,

Thank you for taking your time to submit your travel review and let other users know about your stay experience. It looks like we haven't been the right place for you.

I am sorry to see that you attempted to come from Moerfelden train station to the hotel. This is something we do not recommend. As mentioned on our hotel website, please use the trains to Frankfurt Flughafen (airport) instead and use the hotel shuttle outside Terminal 1A arrivals.

Thank you very much for tipping our bar tender for a great service received! Good that you have received outstanding service. Actually tip is being collected and spread amongst the entire team regularly.

Holiday Inn Express hotels do actually not have restaurants (Hilton Garden Inn hotels niether). Alternatively there are two restaurants located opposite of our hotel which are well enjoyed by our guests.

Your concern about racism is taken very seriously. I am sorry that you felt that way. From my point of view I can say that almost the entire team is multinational and more than 75% of our guests come from abroad. We are not tolerating racism and are getting into tough talks with our staff once we find out that there is impolite behaviour for racial reasons.

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager

PS Hilton Garden Inns are actually nice hotel products, but most of the time they sell far higher room rates than we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    291
    186
    53
    44
See reviews for
164
168
84
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Nothing much, pretty decent hotel equipped with basic facilities. Typical german breakfast. Would only recommend if you're staying for a night or two when you're having stopover. Quiet surrounding and location. There's a hidden lake behind the hotel. If you're looking for dinner, cross over the main road and 10 mins walk, there are some restaurants or bars with a countryside setting.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank aqilahjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your good review!
We are happy to see that you had a good stay.

Thanks for advising other travellers about the nice lake and the restaurant facilities.
Indeed, most of our customers will only stay for a night or so, quiet typical for a hotel close to the airport.

Hope to be able to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Unfortunately we didn't realise this was so far from Frankfurt, it was surrounded by paddocks. The 'complimentary shuttle bus' took ages to arrive at the airport BUT you had to pay to get back to the airport. Felt sorry for the person in reception, her grasp of the English language was poor so it took for ages to get a room. There were signs all over the place telling you to be careful of your belongings because of the undesirables in the area. Had to cross a busy motoway to eat although breakfast was complimentary.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking your time to submit a review of your travel experience.
We are happy to see that it was ok for your to stay with us.

Although or local language is German, we are happy to assist our guests in English, as well as reply to review in English, which remains a foreign language for us.

We would like to comment on the shuttle bus and the restaurants. Actually the shuttle bus is not complimentary. We charge a fee of 5 EUR per adult and stay once we will our guests, which can obviously only be done in the hotel and may appear as a charge for the transportation to the airport only.

Across the hotel are two restaurants serving German and Italian food. They can be reached by crossing a street with one lane each way, stopping at an isle in the middle in case there is much traffic.

We hope to be able to welcome you again to Holiday Inn Express in future!

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel locates just 10min drive away from the airport.
Airport offers shuttle bus every 30 min from the intl terminal at Frankfurt airport.

They offer small salad and some bottles of drinks but it is not very cheap.
There are two restaurant in front of hotel (just 1 min walk from the hotel)
And it tastes ok or good.
No bath tub , small breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiroko.holloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review. We are greatful to see that you liked staying with us and recommend the hotel.

Indeed Holiday Inn Express hotels in Europe, with the exception of Spain, do not offer bathtubs, but a shower. We understand that bathtubs are very common in Japan and get often asked for.

Regarding the food and drinks on offer in our "food to go" fridge at a price which appeared high to you, we would like to add that the sandwiches and salad are produced freshly by our supplier Nykke+Kokki and are fully organic ("Bio zertifiziert"). They are very tasteful and healthy.

Hope to be able to welcome you back again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

If what matters is that you spent the night before close to the airport at reasonable cost then this is a good pick.

10 min driving from the airport, it has shuttle for a 5 euro fee

Free breakfast, ok for one day, not many options for a long stay, clean rooms, space narrow same as traditional std on europe

Walking distance there is a german food restaurant, but there is a little town that is 5 min driving or by taxi were you can find at least 3-4 additional options to eat and walk, nothing to see outside or by walking around the hotel

Friendly staff

Free wifi at lobby, but only cable on rooms, this is a petty, wifi should be enabled hotel wide!!!! (only complain) the rest was fine

Price was ok, at 85 euros

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank okumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to see that you had a good stay with us.

Great that you also recommend to go downtown for several more food options than the German and Italian restaurant by the hotel.

Thank you also for your comment on WiFi. As mentioned in earlier comments, we hope to have it installed throughout 2014 in the guest rooms. It's quite a lot of work to do to get this delivered realiably.

Hope to have you back with Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Needed to layover one night in Frankfurt due to flight connections upon return from vacation and HIE is always a reliable option so we opted to try this instead of staying right at FRA Airport. Called the hotel upon arrival at FRA and shuttle picked us up right outside baggage claim. Booked return to airport upon check-in for the next day. Hotel is 15 minutes from FRA and appears to be in the middle of nowhere, but just across the street and down the lane is a german restaurant (didn't try) and an italian restaurant (did try) for dinner options. Breakfast was typical HIE cold options along with hard boiled eggs. The room was perfectly adequate for one night, the bed wasn't all that large and the room also compact in size but for overnight stay it worked. Internet in room DOES require Ethernet cable, wi-fi is in the lobby. Would stay again on a layover.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Anthony T,

Great to see that you enjoyed staying with us and that you have received a realiable service.

We hope to be able to welcome you again when having a lay-over in FRA.

Best regards

Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

As we were returning our lease car (hotel acts as a base for French car leasing companies, hence has large car parking facility which also accommodates hotel guests vehicles) and were flying out of Frankfurt the next day, we decided to spend the night at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport and had in advance reserved a Queen Room with sofa bed via Booking.com for a very good price of 43 Euros.

The room was modern (20sq m), satisfactorily clean, quiet and included a desk, satellite TV, air-conditioning and tea / coffee making facilities. Unfortunately, the Booking.com bed description was a bit of misnomer, as it promoted the room as having a large double bed, when in fact it had a standard double bed, with the quality of the mattress being poor, thereby, contributing to both a sub standards night’s sleep and also a sore back. Had we been aware of the bedding situation, we probably would have been better off to book a room with two single beds and hope for an improved quality of mattress.

At the time of checking in, the female receptionist advised us that the internet was accessible in the room but forgot to mention that one needed an Ethernet cable, as free Wi-Fi was only accessible within the public areas of the hotel, hence providing something of an inconvenience. In the circumstances, one would have thought staff would have been trained to fully explain the situation at time of check-in and if need be, provide customers with a cable, then and there?

On a positive side, Wi-Fi worked efficiently once connected and the hotel also was quite happy to provide a late check-out (2pm) at no extra cost. Whilst the hotel has a bar (6.30pm – 12pm), it should be noted that for late night arrivals, the purchase of food / snacks is somewhat limited.

The buffet breakfast primarily comprised cereal, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses and boiled eggs etc. and would be best described as adequate.

Whilst the hotel appears to be in the middle of nowhere (it does however have two restaurants within a couple of hundred metres), one of the best features about the hotel is that it is conveniently located within 15 minutes of the airport and a shuttle service operates from the hotel on a half hourly schedule, with bookings essential at reception. It also provides a pickup service at Frankfurt Airport for incoming guests.

In conclusion, Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport is best suited for persons simply requiring an overnight stay (with convenience to the airport) at a reasonably modern hotel which provides basic services / quality at appropriate prices

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking your time to submit this good review.
We are happy to see that you had a nice stay with us.

Thanks for your comments on internet. We hope to have WiFi throughout the hotel in 2014 to make it a much easier experience for our travellers.

All the best from Frankfurt airport area
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morfelden-Walldorf
0.4 mi away
NH Frankfurt Moerfelden Conference Center
NH Frankfurt Moerfelden Conferen...
#1 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
783 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#40 of 269 in Frankfurt
144 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
3.5 mi away
IntercityHotel Frankfurt Airport
5.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport
Address: Langener Str. 200, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Morfelden-Walldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Morfelden-Walldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport Hotel is conveniently located only 15 minutes from Frankfurt Airport. Getting to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport is easy. We are just off the A5 motorway and offer a regular shuttle service from Frankfurt Airport between 6am and 10:30 pm. Shuttle service (Euro 5.00) from and to Frankfurt Airport. Wake up to continental breakfast in our bright Great Room each morning and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel. You can host event in our 6 naturally lit meeting rooms and make use of the 24-hour self-service Business Centre. There is ample parking at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport. Mörfelden Business Park is just 600 metres from the hotel. Explore the attractions of Central Frankfurt just 25 km from Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport. Get your bearing from the crystalline Main Tower, then stroll through the cobbled Old Town to a cozy Ebbelwoi apple wine tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport Hotel Morfelden-Walldorf
Morfelden-Walldorf Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport Germany/Morfelden-Walldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing