We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Clean, Modern Pension style hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Sommer

Hotel Villa Sommer
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sommer
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bad Doberan
Harrogate
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Modern Pension style hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. This is a small 'Pension' type hotel. There is no reception desk, arrival times are therefore restricted, however, the owners will do their best to accommodate. Breakfast is pre-ordered the evening before, you can request the usual meats, cheeses etc and the other items such as yoghurt and fruit and provided on a buffet bar.
Location is excellent, about 10 minutes walk from the town centre, either along the main road or across the park area at the site of Lidl. There is no restaurant at the hotel but there are plenty within 10 minutes walk. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balcony's available if booked at the right time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akirkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We're torn between keeping this hotel to ourselves and sharing our experience with the wider world, because it is fabulous if you like a hotel with style, individual character, high quality fittings, spacious rooms and a quiet but absolutely fascinating location! We arrived late at night and couldn't believe our eyes when we saw our room (no, suite, as we were lucky enough to be upgraded), to say nothing of the view in the morning.Our room overlooked the mainline station and the steam railway, but we were never disturbed by either; moreover,there's almost no passing traffic, unlike most of the other hotels in Bad Doberan. Everything exceeded our expectations and we had a fabulous stay. The fact that there are only 10 rooms makes it feel as though you are staying in someone's private residence rather than a hotel, and we felt truly at ease and at home at Villa Sommer.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view..if you're a railway enthusiast, don't hesitate to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefultraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafschaft
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Nice room (Nr 8) with view to the railway station. Good train connection to the old Hanse towns Wismar and Rostock. End station of narrow gauge steam railroad to the sea side location of Kühlungsborn. Im Season time, regualry traffic with steam engins. The rooms is large with good bed. Bath with shower. HD Flat screan TV. No reception, but staff is reachable via telephone. Breakfast with individual service. Some restaurants (Zicke, Molliblick) in the pedestrian zone in walking distance. You must see the cathedreal of the former monestry.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

This is a nice hotel created from a villa which had become tumble-down during the DDR era.

However, it is more like a Guest House than a hotel. There is no reception desk, so arrival was quite confusing, and the staff are not on site overnight. There is no evening meal. There is however a breakfast service in a little cafe section.

However the rooms are well kept with nice furnishings, and you can request a room that overlooks the narrow gauge steam railway station.

  • Liked — Station view and accesibility
  • Disliked — Reception
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WisetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Doberan hotels
0.4 mi away
Friedrich-Franz Palais Hotel
Friedrich-Franz Palais Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bad Doberan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Rostock Broderstorf
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinzenpalais
Hotel Prinzenpalais
#4 of 6 in Bad Doberan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Pension Bellevue
Hotel-Pension Bellevue
#2 of 6 in Bad Doberan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doberaner Hof
Doberaner Hof
#5 of 6 in Bad Doberan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus der Horizonte
Haus der Horizonte
#3 of 7 in Bad Doberan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sommer

Property: Hotel Villa Sommer
Address: Friedrich-Franz-Str. 23, 18209 Bad Doberan, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Bad Doberan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bad Doberan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Sommer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Sommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing