We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Prinzenpalais
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bad Doberan
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Very priceworthy hotel. Would be five star hotell if the had a spa/pool.
Room was fresh with a historical touch. Nothing at all to complain about.
The restaurant felt to classy for us at eveningtime so we went out for fast food instead.
The breakfast was very complete with a number of hot & cold dishes to choose between.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedelSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

Overall this is a great hotel. It is nicely situated at the entrance to Bad Doberan, which is a smallish nice town in Mecklenburg. We choose this hotel for three reasons: 1. Good ratings on Tripadvisor; 2. Free parking; 3. Free Wi-Fi. Sadly enough they failed to deliver both the parking and the Wi-Fi.
Reception: Very helpful and trying to accommodate every small wish you may have.
Lounge: Great for a drink and for resting between activities (also a small and nice outside sitting area).
Rooms: We got a big room on the second floor with two big windows. Very big bathroom but no window (room 125). Beds are hard.
Breakfast: Very nice! A lot to chose from: cereals, yoghurts, charcuteries, breads, fruit and vegetables, juices. They will bring the coffee or tea to your table. Very kind staff.
Restaurant: Not tried.
Internet: The Wi-Fi did not work for all we talked to at the hotel and at first they did not do anything about it. After some discussion they paid for the international roaming we used instead. Bad wit the Wi-Fi not working, but nicely solved at last.
Parking: They have to few parking spaces. We had to park a bit away on a public (free) parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerwithstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in Bad Doberan. It's a resort mainly for German tourists but we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel was lovely - very clear and comfortable, with helpful staff and a great breakfast every morning! My only small issue was with the room itself, which did get rather warm and stuffy in summer without fans or aircon. Otherwise, though, the stay was faultless.

Room Tip: avoid the top floor if you don't like the heat in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nell10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. You cannot miss the hotel as it is at the main junction in the town. It consists of the main house and a smaller version of the same a few feet behind and at a lower level. The Reception and Dining Room are both in the front section. Our room was in the back building on the ground floor and was very clean and well presented. The only problem was that if you wanted to walk around in your room naked you had to close the curtains! Blinds or a net would have helped a little. The curtains were blackout material - very lovely to have.

We ate in the restaurant both nights as there is a shortage of restuarants in the town. On both occasions the food was of good quality and the service was excellent. Breakfasts were spectacular with the largest selection we saw on our tour - including fishy things.

The staff all spoke enough English to get by and the chambermaid was the happiest person I have met for ages - always smiling and waving at guests. She did an excellent job, too.

There is a good car park and you are very close to the Molli train should you wish to ride on it - it goes right past the front of the hotel. You buy tickets in a shop a couple of hundred yards away.

The hotel was very quiet at night, the beds were comfy and we would stay there again without a second thought.

Room Tip: For privacy don`t take a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We took the boat from Helsinki to Rostock and as it was arriving after 21.00 or 9.00PM we had to book a room before continuing our trip to Brussels.

We decided not to stay in Rostock but outside the city. Again, after some research we opted for this hotel. We arrrived late and it was raining cats and dogs.

After a quick check-in (yet the receptionist did not speak a lot of English but we understood each other with my weak German) we got to our room which was big and tall in the ceiling with an excellent bathroom (this is one of our key criteria in the review of a room). We slept very well as no external noises.

The breakfast was an excellent one. High quality and it is included in the price of your room.

Free parking and free wifi.

Sorry no pictures this time as we wanted to head back to Brussels after having done over 6200km (we ended with 7101km) having been up to the North Cape.

Book a room here and you won't be disappointed. There are apparently a lot do see and do in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lov2travelww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank StefanSamuelsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uwe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Doberan
0.1 mi away
Friedrich-Franz Palais Hotel
Friedrich-Franz Palais Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bad Doberan
44 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Heiligendamm
Grand Hotel Heiligendamm
#1 of 1 in Ostseebad Heiligendamm
607 reviews
0 mi away
Doberaner Hof
Doberaner Hof
#1 of 5 in Bad Doberan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Sommer
Hotel Villa Sommer
#3 of 5 in Bad Doberan
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Pension Bellevue
Hotel-Pension Bellevue
#2 of 5 in Bad Doberan
16 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ostsee-Pension An der Lindenallee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinzenpalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinzenpalais

Address: Alexandrinenplatz 8, 18209 Bad Doberan, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Bad Doberan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bad Doberan
Price Range: £71 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Prinzenpalais 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Prinzenpalais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing