We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Domane Walberberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domane Walberberg
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bornheim
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a seminar so I can not comment on prices (65 euro for a single I guess )
It is a former convent which became a hotel 2011. Because of its history it is an impressive
Location. The conversion into a hotel is not completed now.
Rooms are quite small, carpets covered with stains, sleeping quality poor because the curtains are not suitable to keep out the light. No cleaning up during the day. Breakfast was of poor quality as well (prebacked rolls from a discount supermarket no choice at all)
Meals are cooked at the hotel they were delivered by a ready made delivery service)
Service staff acting without having a clue.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaubererpferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel is just a better hostel. It is clean. People, if found, try to help and friendly. It was not expensive. But our bed was built out of two single beds with about 8 cm Gap in the middle. TV showed only one programm. Breakfast was rather pure. Would definitely recommend only for low budget- no expectations visitors.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ella150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Used this place for two reasons. One, as a stop off point en-route from Italy to Holland and two, to get the schloss experience.
Arrived late afternoon and the manager could not have been more welcoming. He told us the history of the place, recommended things to do locally and was a perfect host. He spoke better English than me as he said he once lived in Liverpool.
The room was a decent size. Great breakfast. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Schloss is very close to the local attraction but we did not intend to visit this and found the hotel quite easy. The staff (when located by telephone as reception closed) was very helpful and we found the room clean and tidy with excellent shower etc. A visit to the local town of Bruhl in the evening was very good for finding the local restuarants, and breakfast in the hotel was more than adequate.
A good stopover for travelling south to Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connorfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We chose this hotel for its location as it is only 2 minutes away by car to Phantasialand and it is much cheaper than the resort's hotels. You need a car if you are staying in this hotel. Parking is no problem. Although it is being refurbished at the moment, it was still good to stay there. Room quite big and a nice comfortable bathroom with shower. Free wifi very strong. Could use a safe in the room although the wardrobe could be locked so we left our things there. Very clean. Continental breakfast is great. Staff very helpful. Beds comfortable though the pillows are way too big. Would have appreciated tea and coffee making facilities in the room but when I complained about this while paying they told me that had I asked they would have given them to me. But there was nothing indicating this in the room. So if you go there, ask for them. Very quiet. If you want to eat and the restaurant is closed as was our case, there is a nice very cheap pizza take away in Haupstrasse, Walberberg - it tasted great too - we just took it up our room and ate there.

Room Tip: I booked on www.booking.com and it indicated that some rooms have wifi so I made sure to specify tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dimitry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ziege651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bornheim
0.9 mi away
Hotel Village Matamba
1.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Koeln Bruehl
1.4 mi away
Hotel Koln-Bonn
Hotel Koln-Bonn
#3 of 7 in Bornheim
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Schloss Gracht
Hotel Schloss Gracht
#1 of 4 in Erftstadt
13 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel am Stern
Hotel am Stern
#4 of 9 in Bruhl
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ling Bao
Hotel Ling Bao
#2 of 9 in Bruhl
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domane Walberberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domane Walberberg

Address: Rheindorfer-Burg-Weg 39, 53332 Bornheim, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bornheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bornheim
Price Range: £74 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Domane Walberberg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Domane Walberberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing