We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Flosdorff

Flosdorff
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Monschau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic, good value”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Friendly and basic. We both ordered schnitzels, not beaten thin as we are accustomed to but nice, they came with chips and side salad. Background music was radio station which was odd but kind of added to the feeling you'd wandered into someone's home. The two ladies waiting on were lovely and friendly and service was prompt and food hot and tasty.

It wouldn't be my first choice if I went back to Monschau, but good value and as they say, you get what you pay for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    54
    20
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good price/quality”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Nice food, friendly service. Interior so ugly that you must see it. Price is rather ok taking into account the portions. The waffles are very good.

Helpful?
Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Looked promising, but failed to deliver”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The restaurant is in the heart of Monschau (one of my favorite small towns in Europe). When we went there for lunch, it was full of Germans and seemed like a good choice.

Unfortunately, the food failed to meet expectations. I ordered a pork loin, which was basically a thick cut of ham served with two packets of mustard and some mashed potatoes. Maybe that’s how they do it in Germany? I’m not sure, but I do know that goulash soup is a good indication of quality in any German restaurant and Flosdorff’s was bland.

The grilled sausage was slightly better, but was served to us without any sauce.

Service was surprisingly slow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Witness2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Service and value”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

This is a great choice for couples with dogs. The owners were extremely welcoming with our two dogs and spoke perfect English. They even went above and beyond and accomodating the menu to our fluten free diet. Prices were extremely reasonable and the food was great. There is an English version of the menu for travelers not yet fluent in German. There was also a offering of local wild game. My venison steak was superb. Overall a defininete recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsr0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
468 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great place for a good value German meal in the heart of Monschau”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Located in the center of this quant German river village. Restaurant Flosdorff provides indoor and outdoor seating. The food is typical German. Our party of five enjoyed the eisbein, bratwurst and Kasseler. They were accompanied by a salad bar, pommes frites and sauerkraut. Washing all the food down with some good German Zwickel-, Land-, and Weizenbier made it all that much better.

Service was friendly an very prompt.

Great place at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flosdorff also viewed

Monschau, North Rhine-Westphalia
Monschau, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Monschau, North Rhine-Westphalia
Monschau, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Flosdorff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing