We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location: but mold filled bathroom and cold breakfast eggs”
Review of Burghotel Monschau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burghotel Monschau
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Monschau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is a very beautiful small town of monschau, located in the narrow valley of Rur river. Old semi-timbered house, narrow streets, very beautiful town. But i got a feeling that the hotel owners have had one too many tourists their hospitality has run out. The bathroom tub and shower curtain is is run with mold,quiet unsightly sight. stained toilet too. Breakfast was served with cold hard boiled eggs, very tastless. I enjoyed the town but not my one night in burg hotel. They need to pick up the brush and scrub that bathroom!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Last minute getaway and the hotel is very central. Some call it rustic and perhaps it is a little basic and dated but it was warm and comfortable and very good value. A rather good breakfast of cheeses and cold meats, served with a boiled egg and plenty of tea. Good for one night and perfectly adequate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wanderingmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very basic room, but location couldn't be better. Except maybe for the neabry church bells that start at an ungodly time in the morning.

Very friendly reception, clean room, good beds, ample breakfast. No possible to eat there at night, but there are plenty of restaurant withing walking distance so there's really no need for this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed one night for the Christmas market and had a nice time at this hotel. It has a great location, smack in the middle of where you want to be. It is not luxurious but was very clean and had a great rate. The breakfast was good, the owner polite and the beds were pretty comfortable too! The heater worked perfectly and the shower water was hot. We stayed in a triple room which didn't have much of a view but had plenty of room for us to move about. The TV had lots of channels including English ones. We brought our small dog and did not have to pay a fee. Keep in mind that the stairs are steep. We had no issues with this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyKurland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

It is a cheap hotel so that needs to be taken into account. It's more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel, the owner also attends a shop and when we arrived at the hotel there was a sign indicating we should find him in the shop and we could not enter the so called 'hotel'... Upon entering the hotel, there was a strong and unpleasant musty smell. There is no lift, but we did not mind the steep and narrow stairs, it might be an issue for other travellers.
The room , which was supposed to be a double room, was a twin room, we did not get what we paid for and that was incorrect of the owner. The bathroom was tiny, and the shower water was cold to luke warm...in the middle of the winter. The room was small but the furniture was pleasant, it could be improved if the owner changed the awful aged linoleum floor.
The hotel for me had no charm whatsover, it did not strike me either as a typical German hotel, I would not return, despite its great location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Burghotel is right in the middle of Monschau and a short walk from the Burgau parking. The interior of the hotel is somewhere in between outdated and quaint, but (and this is most important) the hotel had great and comfy beds, it was quiet and had really friendly and helpful staff. And the breakfasts were divine. I would definitely reccommend this hotel. They also have good walking/hiking tips.

Room Tip: The suite on the top floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonja b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We spent two nights in the Burghotel, nice clean hotel and in an ideal spot, only five minutes walk from Burgau parking lot. The room and en-suite were basic but clean and warm, perfectly functional and well worth the price. The host 'Jimmy' was a lovely chap, made time for you and very welcoming. The Breakfast was great, meat, cheese, rolls, jam, orange juice, egg and bacon if wanted, and the mrs loved the coffee, nice and hot! Cannot fault it. Overall a lovely break away, we would highly recommend to anyone who does not expect the glam of a posh hotel, a lovely hotel in a lovely town. we will be visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monschau hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Horchem
Hotel Horchem
#1 of 18 in Monschau
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michel & Friends Hotel Monschau
2 mi away
Vakantiehotel De Lange Man
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Royal und Schloss-Cafe
0.1 mi away
Hotel Graf Rolshausen
Hotel Graf Rolshausen
#6 of 18 in Monschau
94 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Alt Montjoie
Hotel Alt Montjoie
#5 of 18 in Monschau
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel Monschau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel Monschau

Address: Laufenstr. 1, 52156 Monschau, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Monschau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Monschau
Price Range: £66 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burghotel Monschau 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burghotel Monschau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing