We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, ... just”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal und Schloss-Cafe
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Monschau
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay, ... just”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Monschau is cute. It is mostly a homebase for walkers/hikers in the Naturpark. The walks are nice. However, the town was a bit of a disappointment because the shops were not open regularly, despite our visiting four days during the high season, inlcuding a weekend. The TI has lots of hiking/walking info, but nothing much on the history of the town nor info on buildings (which seem to be mostly of 1700s-1800s vintage), unlike even the nearby Belgian small towns. At the Hotel Royal, in one of the old buildings, our room was fairly clean and breakfast was good. However, our family room (on the top floor) had a sloping floor with very soft spots in places, and the did not have enough sleeping surface for everyone. The bed for the children could not sleep both because it was sloping, narrow, and had a hard surface exposed in the middle of the bed (it appeared to be a loveseat folded into a bed). One of our kids slept on the floor. We were a bit surprised, as we travel in Europe for about a month each summer and the sleeping accomodations we have encountered have typically been much better. Moreover, this was one olf the pricier family rooms we have rented at comparable hotels/guesthouses in Germany, Austria and France.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marina_delacotera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    24
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel offers rooms with full bathrooms and ones with the bathroom down the hall at 10 euros per person less. We chose the savings as the hotel wasn't very busy during our mid-week April stay. It's located right in the middle of the Alt Stadt just a couple doors down from the tourist info center. There is parking on either end of the old city. We chose the one at the glass factory and carried a small overnight bag - about 1/2 mile to the hotel. If you have more bags, cars are allowed in the old city so you can drive through, drop your bags, head through town and park at the lot on the other end of town.

The hotel was basic and clean with a great breakfast room with typical German hotel choices. If you are light sleepers ask for rooms off the street. The cobble stones and narrow path can be noisy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank touristtrekking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Today we just came back from our second visit to Monschau. This time we managed to book this hotel in the heart of this little town. We arrived after 18:00, but still we were immediately received by a staff next door (run by the same family) with a welcome letter full of practical information. Very thoughtful!

The room is spacious and tidy. Comfortable beds. Good lighting. Good heating. Good shower. The best thing is that we don't need to worry about the noise, even though our room is right above the street (1st floor)! This is a quiet village at night. We slept very well for all 4 nights.

Breakfast is the highlight of the stay. Classic room, plenty of tasty choices, warm service. On the Easter's morning, we each had a colored egg and a chocolate bunny on the plate... When we got back from hiking, we saw a big bunny-shaped cookie on the bed... And this morning, there was again a chocolate lady bug on my plate... Each time I had to smile. what a sweet gesture!

Monschau is a very genuine village unlike other touristy places. We've been to many different restaurants and cafe's in the area and we're 100% satisfied. They all provide high quality food and service with quite reasonable price. You can tell they do fair business and they truly welcome you!

Room Tip: We had no problem at all with our room right above the street. So I think they're all fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivanRoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend whilst touring this region on my Harley, the room stayed in was very comfortable with good en-suite facilities. The owners provided secure garaging for our motorcycle adjacent to the hotel.
Breakfast was provided in the cafe adjacent to the accommodation and was excellent, the staff were really friendly and happy to chat to you in English whenever they saw you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Recently visited the Royal on a motorcycle trip to Germany. We booked 4 en suite rooms but were advised, on arrival, that there was a problem with the showers in the main hotel and we were switched to 4 rooms with shared bathroom above the cafe. These proved to be adequate but I am inclined to believe that the main hotel was overbooked rather than having a shower problem as the breakfast room was set up to cater for all rooms.
I would recommend the hotel but if en suite is important make sure your booking specifies that an alternative is not acceptable. For us it was fine.
Excellent breakfast and superb location. No parking for cars but bikes can be secured in small garage (4 Bikes max).
Access is through a pedestrianised cobbled street and caused some confusion as there was apparently no vehicle access although residents at the hotel are OK to drive through.
Bedrooms were spacious and clean with views into the main street. 50 metres to the centre of Monschau with pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 4 above the cafe with shared bathroom was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeeBee_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Delightfully creaky old no-frills hotel in the middle of a pretty tourist village, although no adjacent parking. Welcoming staff spoke good English, nice breakfasts and clean rooms. Small lift in the hotel works well. Wonderful value for money even with a weak UK pound. Allow two or three days to wander around the picturesque village of Monschau, where mosts of the tourists shops are fairly similar.
Took Maestro at the end of our stay, but not credit cards at that time. Recommended for a getaway from the rat-race, about a three hour drive from Hoek van Holland-Harwich ferry.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueDiscoDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

We (a young couple from Belgium) recently spent a few days at the Hotel Royal in Monschau, which is an absolutely charming little town in a beautiful region of Germany, near the Belgian border. We chose this hotel because it seemed to offer good value for a low price, and
were not disappointed. We stayed in the cheapest room-type, which implied a shared bathroom. However, during the entirety of our stay there was never anyone else in the bathroom, so it was as good as having a private one. The rooms were large (although a bit outdated),
and the bathroom (with shower and toilet) was brand new. Nice breakfast (bread, ham and cheese, jams, coffee, juice, and a freshly boiled egg), very friendly owners, and a great location, right in the
center of town. (No other amenities, though - so don't come here if it's the Hilton you want.) The only thing we had some problems with is the parking policy in Monschau: as parking is not allowed in the town center, you have to use the parking lots (which are free overnight!) at the edge of town. These proved a bit hard to find by car, due to the abundance of one-way streets... But overall, a very good experience for us!

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — some parking difficulties
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamarinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monschau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horchem
Hotel Horchem
#3 of 18 in Monschau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vakantiehotel De Lange Man
0.0 mi away
Burghotel Monschau
Burghotel Monschau
#2 of 18 in Monschau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alt Montjoie
Hotel Alt Montjoie
#5 of 18 in Monschau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Graf Rolshausen
Hotel Graf Rolshausen
#6 of 18 in Monschau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carat Vitalhotel
Carat Vitalhotel
#7 of 18 in Monschau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal und Schloss-Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal und Schloss-Cafe

Property: Hotel Royal und Schloss-Cafe
Address: Stadtstr. 4-6, 52156 Monschau, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Monschau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Monschau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Royal und Schloss-Cafe 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal und Schloss-Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing