We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of Parkhotel Olsberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkhotel Olsberg
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Olsberg
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The receptionist was a bit harsh, maybe not on purpose, but just a bit deutsch. Not friendly and welcoming, more "you do this first and then you do that" kind of thing. Allright. We were allowed to park the bicycle inside, that's good. The room (220) was spacy, with a balcony and good view, but looked 30 years old, much like the rest of the hotel. No active air-pull for example in de shower, so lots of moisture. Anyway, beds were good, breakfast standard. Would I come back here? Not shure.

Terrace is fine.

Swimming pool is spacious and nice after a day on the bicycle.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sunside.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Parkhotel Olsberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

nice big rooms , where children are free of charge. reasonable wifi price and good all inclusive breakfast. Niceley located in the ceter oft the town. next to the tourist information and netx to a supermarket,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin_1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Winterberg and surroundings... well, not really my kind of thing, as I am not into wintersport, snow, cold, or frost. Nor into cross country walking or too much rough nature.
By coincidence we stayed near Winterberg in March, 2014 for two nights. If you have to be here, Olsberg (20 km to the north) is not such a bad idea. And if you have to stay in OIsberg, the Parkhotel is a serious option at least. Not expensive (we rented a room through a special site for 40 Eur p.p.p.d., with solid breakfast included), nothing special, but good value for money. Large swimming pool (15 mtrs!) and one good sauna are a definite bonus. All pretty well. However, 95% of the guests are Dutch, something which I did not appreciate too much (being Dutch myself).
But there is one major objection: SMOKE. With strict smoking regulations being applicable in NRW, there seems to be still much room for smoking anyhow. Some areas in the hotel have this awful tobacco stench through most of the day. Particularly the basement bar after 23.00 hrs with guests smoking anyway, regrdless of any prohibition signs, just plainly awful. We were asked by the staff if we objected. YES WE DID, of course. My God, it's 2014! The result? Guests smoking in the bar at 5 metres distance instead of under our noses.
And we woke up twice during the first night because of the fire alarm, presumably triggered by guests smoking in their rooms. Staff clearly incapable of handling the situation. Goodness me, why can't German hotel directions juist FORBID SMOKING in the entire building? It is so simple: go and see any hotel in Italy, Sweden, of, for that matter, Holland. It works, if you seriously want to. Here they clearly do not.
So I will not come back here because of the all pervading, awful stench of stale tobacco smoke. What a pity.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 4th floor, which seemed more quiet than 1st or 2ns floors.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VincenzoH1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Through Vakantieveilingen we won an auction for 2 nights including breakfast for 2 people at this hotel for 60 euro including administration fee, excluding 6 euro city tax.

Have to say it was very much worth the money. Staff is very friendly everywhere in the hotel. The setup of the hotel is perhaps a bit outdated and the rooms are a bit basic, though clean and everything you need is there (couch, 2 single very comfortable beds, good shower, blow dryer, safe). The breakfast is simply awesome. Good amount of breakfast items to choose from. Ranging from bread to yoghurt to boiled and stirred eggs and more. The ones complaining about the breakfast are absolutely spoiled brats.

Parking is free as well is public transportation using the card received by the hotel, although we didn't use that. The tourist information in front of the hotel is very helpful in explaining what there is to do in the vicinity.

The hotel swimming pool (free) was warm and clean, although it is a bit boring (just a large square pool with water). A few steps away is the public pool which is supposed to be a bit larger though does cost money. We haven't been there.

There is only paid WiFi available in the hotel. 12 hours for 2 euro, 24 hours for 3 euro. Speeds are very good. It allows for VoIP and TV streams. The TV in the room only has a few channels for which they pay a subscription fee so you can watch them. For Dutch speakers, there's only BVN that works.

A 30 minute drive away is Winterberg with some really nice skiing opportunities. Renting skies for one day varies between 10 and 15 euro. A one day ski pass will cost you around 29 euro and grants you access to all lifts in Winterberg. They also have discounts when taking half a day (i.e. 19 euro after 1 PM).

Dinner in the hotel itself costs around 18 euro / person for 3 courses. In the Olsberg town there are quite a few restaurants within walking distance with prices for main courses varying between 5 euro (the doner/pizza place) up to 30 euro (the more fancy places). There's also a supermarket across the street from the hotel.

Because of this Vakantieveilingen deal, do expect the hotel to be filled with Dutch people only.

All in all a very good deal and we sure enjoyed ourselves and I can highly recommend it!

Room Tip: A room facing the parking lot \ water stream on the front side is much more enjoyable than one on th...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NL_Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was staying for the Olsberg Music Festival, which goeas aling with a small motorcycle fair. Entrance is free and the band was very, very good. Never saw a band performing from 8:10 until late after midnight. Great!
Nice atmosphere.
Hotel with a lot of flair from the 70s! But room was very clean and - what a surprise - no noise from the Music-Festival. Receptionists very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was only average.
But be prepared: plenty of elderly dutch people. So there was plenty of noise when they entered the bus on sunday morning.

Room Tip: During music festivals (they have a few) you want a room at the back. Or in front, if you like to li...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The Parkhotel in Olsberg is a nice hotel with many facilities such sauna, indoor swimmingpool, spa, etc.. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is located in a city park with the river Ruhr flowing next to it. The breakfast is good and extensive with fresh rolls, eggs, cheese, ham and all you want for an extensive breakfast. They also have a dinner restaurant but we have not used that as we went mostly outside for dinner in Olsberg. Big parking facilities very nearby. Good price/quality ratio. The rooms are nice and clean with good beds and bathroom.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical but you might choose to have a view to the city park and river.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otten4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We took a special offer from a daily-offer site to see how this location is in winter, and combine this with some ski-fun. With Willingen at 15 minutes drive and Winterberg at 20 minutes, this place is ideal for this!

The rooms are OK, so is the hotel in general, the style the building is built in, is very clearly 1950's, but the rooms and hotel are clean and not overcrowded.

The swimmingpool was too cold for our likings, so we didn't try that.

Room Tip: 4th floor has the best view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wijzijnraar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olsberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bigger Hof
Hotel Bigger Hof
#5 of 11 in Olsberg
12 reviews
2.9 mi away
Familie Hotel Kameleon
Familie Hotel Kameleon
#6 of 11 in Olsberg
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dorfkammer
Hotel Dorfkammer
#2 of 11 in Olsberg
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aslan Kurpark Villa
Aslan Kurpark Villa
#4 of 11 in Olsberg
11 reviews
1.7 mi away
Scninkenwirt Waldhotel
Scninkenwirt Waldhotel
#1 of 11 in Olsberg
64 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haus am Kurpark
Haus am Kurpark
#1 of 9 in Brilon
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Olsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Olsberg

Address: Stehestr. 23, 59939 Olsberg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Olsberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Olsberg
Price Range: £81 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Olsberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Parkhotel Olsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing