We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Dinners!”
Review of Hotel Dehren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dehren
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and it was very nice. The room was clean and had enough room for me, myself and our 2 little kids on 2 double beds. Our own bathroom came with a standard toilet, sink and stand-up shower. Our room had a large wardrobe, small tv with minimal channels, and a couple of chairs and small table. The hotel also had a run bike, toy ride tractor and car that young kids could play in.
The hotel claims to have internet, but it didn't seem useable or it was too slow. They also turn off their heat/gas during the summertime so the towel warmers or radiators will not work.

Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of different cheeses, breads, eggs, cold cut meats, yogurt and fresh fruit: a pretty typical German breakfast. The breakfast is from 8am-9:30am, but after 9am, they will stop replenishing the hot items, so get there early. The evening meals were phenomenal and are highly recommended if you don't end up staying here. The young owner is a truly great chef and speaks English very well. I'm guessing the other people that work there do not speak any English.

As for the hotel, it is right across the street from the Mosel River. A very long and wide sidewalk parallel to the Mosel makes it a beautiful bike ride, run or walk. A pleasant enough stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travellingwithtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed there to find some relaxation after a very tiring and exhausting
Germany tour. The atmosphere is a little old-fashioned/traditional but very clean
and tidy. But there are also some modern rooms (that's what my friends had)
with a wonderful wooden floor.
The rooms are very spacious, clean and we had one overlooking the Mosel
river, the balcony was a true place of relaxation and quietness.
The rates for the hotel are very reasonable - especially as they include breakfast
with a good selection of fresh bread and rolls!

Location: Ideal for recreation and relaxation in the whole area, only a few minutes
away from main town of the area: Cochem, which is a little touristy, so being a little off-sight makes this hotel really quiet and secluded yet the ideal starting point for excursions on the area.

The food is not cheap, but it's worth its price (it seems the whole area doesn't have
rural prices, I figured then) - BUT it tasted delicious (the dishes of wild game are fantastic): fresh ingredients, good quality and they have a beautiful terrace for outdoor/patio seating - facing the little garden and some distant vine plants.
The owner is also the chef, he has spent time and worked in California, he speaks fluent, perfect English including some good jokes and as mentioned: cooks quite well...

We felt very welcome there and were surprised by its kind service
which is very personal, cordial, dedicated and even fulfills some special wishes
(He made us breakfast even before the buffet opened because
we had to break off to the airport in Frankfurt really early)

I will gladly stay there again when I am in the area.

Their own wine from their vineyards is served in the restaurant and can be bought there for take away,
it is very good and has a fantastic price value! Try some "Dornfelder & Spätburgunder"
if you like strong red wines and I am sure the whites are just as good.

Beware: It is really quiet there, from 10:30pm on you can hear nothing but
the Mosel river, and maybe a barking dog in the distance. And there are many
elderly people in general making vacation there in the area (this should not to be taken
offensive, but it must be remarked), but they say on their website that they are open for all generations - which I can totally assure is right!

Conclusion: If you want to chill out/recreate/enjoy the scenery and none of the above bothers you - this is your Mosel residence!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UnicornBavarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 782michaelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef D, Inhaber at Hotel Dehren, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Moezel zicht
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer in der 3. Etage mit tollem Blick auf die Mosel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank helenep824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Steeds kamer vragen met uitzicht op de Moezel want er zijn er ook andere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rosbant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellenz-Poltersdorf
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weinhaus Fuhrmann
Hotel Weinhaus Fuhrmann
#4 of 5 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ellenzer Goldbaumchen
Ellenzer Goldbaumchen
#5 of 5 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
59 reviews
16.4 mi away
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
#1 of 3 in Mulheim an der Mosel
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Panorama
2.7 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Kessler-Meyer
2.4 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dehren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dehren

Address: Kurfuerstenstr. 30, 56821 Ellenz-Poltersdorf, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Ellenz-Poltersdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
Price Range: £92 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dehren 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dehren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dehren Germany/Ellenz-Poltersdorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing