We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok - no Frills - Unfriendly Staff”
Review of Weiland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weiland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahnstein
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ok - no Frills - Unfriendly Staff”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Hotel is clean - no faults there. Most concerning was the breakfast - frugal to say the least. Bare minimum of everything. You have to request each cup of coffee / tea, juice comes in thimble size glasses and what surprised me most, is you're not even allowed a whole banana - they cut them into thirds! Spent a lot of money in the bar there and the staff couldn't see their way to offering tap water - instead claimed only to sell mineral water - (which was actually tap water in an old mineral bottle for €3!). Leaves a bad taste in your mouth - literally!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveManchester4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold W, Geschäftsführer at Weiland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank das Sie sich die Mühe gemacht unser Haus zu bewerten.
Wir freuen uns dass Sie sonst mit unseren Leistungen zufrieden waren.
Besuchen Sie uns bald mal wieder, bis dahin wünschen wir Ihnen weiterhin eine gute Zeit.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Reinhold Weiland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    37
    23
    7
    16
See reviews for
15
36
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on a newmarket coach holiday, paid £159 for the hotel travel and trips absolute bargain the hotel must make next to nothing, basic rooms but clean and tidy maid service every day, continental breakfast. option of 3 course evening meal for 15euros. train station opposite for those who want to go off and explore. pizza and kebab place round corner that other guests said was quite good. we tried the pinnochio italian paid 19 euros for 2 pizzas 2 beers and a fanta orange, food was lovely also tried the chinese round the corner they have a menu in english and the food was lovely also had several vegetarian dishes, the weiland is a great base for a trip to germany

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold W, Geschäftsführer at Weiland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank das Sie sich die Mühe gemacht unser Haus zu bewerten.
Wir freuen uns dass Sie sonst mit unseren Leistungen zufrieden waren.
Besuchen Sie uns bald mal wieder, bis dahin wünschen wir Ihnen weiterhin eine gute Zeit.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Reinhold Weiland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here recently for 4 nights on a Harry Shaw trip and found it to be very pleasant especially when you consider the price of the trip as a whole (the hotel must have been paid next to nothing per guest!). We upgraded our room having read some of the comments about small bathrooms and noisy trains and had a super room at the back, lovely big bathroom and we were able to leave the window open all night (train noise minimal and not disruptive) which was great as the weather was very warm. Beds comfy, free safe in wardrobe, wi-fi cost 3.5 euros per 24 hours, so we only had it once, but that was fine. Food was very good for a 3 star hotel, the staff worked very hard to make it a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a newer/bigger/quieter room is worth the investment (10 Euro pppp). We were in 201 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold W, Geschäftsführer at Weiland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank das Sie sich die Mühe gemacht unser Haus zu bewerten.
Wir freuen uns dass Sie sonst mit unseren Leistungen zufrieden waren.
Besuchen Sie uns bald mal wieder, bis dahin wünschen wir Ihnen weiterhin eine gute Zeit.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Reinhold Weiland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After reading some reviews I had worried that our 4 night trip would leave us more exhausted than on arrival, however this meticulously clean, friendly, family run hotel could not have been better. Trains do pass regularly but even having our room at the front of the hotel the noise caused minimal disturbance. The food catered to all members of the coach party needs and was of an excellent standard, portion sizes were great. I would highly recommend this hotel with the secret feature being the railway bridge entrance to the banks of the Rhine, just opposite the Hotel. Lovely !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matthewwinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold W, Geschäftsführer at Weiland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung, Sie sind uns immer herzlich willkommen.

mit freundlichen Grüßen
Reinhold Weiland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We went with Harry Shaw for 4 nights. We were put on the 3rd floor. The weather was warm, so this presented a conflict. We needed the window open every night but had to shut it or nearly shut it because of the regular cargo trains flying through. Very noisy but not the end of the world. The room was very clean and comfy. The shower room acceptable but small and basic. There was a safe in the room for valuables and easy to operate. When the rooms were cleaned during the day, I was very pleased and reassured to find that our personal stuff wasn't interfered with as this can be a worry no matter where you go. My one beef was that there were no tea and coffee making facilities. I think this is something that should be a given no matter where you stay. A TV in the room but no ability to change the settings for sound as the remote only went up to 80 - insufficient with the train noise and no subtitles available. At least you could get BBC world news. The evening meal was not a 'choice', but I was fine with that. One less thing to worry about and the food was excellent anyway. Breakfast was ok. A varied choice if you like toast that takes ages to toast. Meats and sausage with rolls and 3types of cereal with juice. Two types of yoghurt and various types of bread. Butter, Nutella and honey were available. Tea and coffee also, although the variety of tea is not pleasant. Alright for people who like weak lemony flavoured tea. I was pleased to see they had truvia sweetener though. The hotel owner and staff were absolutely lovely and service excellent. I would stay there again if I was ever that way again because what swung it for me was the evening meal. Wifi was available but I never bothered to ask for the password and iv read another review that states the owner didn't know it anyway. All in all though, it was good enough for the price we paid. I was very happy overall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsatrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold W, Geschäftsführer at Weiland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank das Sie sich die Mühe gemacht unser Haus zu bewerten.
Wir freuen uns dass Sie sonst mit unseren Leistungen zufrieden waren.
Besuchen Sie uns bald mal wieder, bis dahin wünschen wir Ihnen weiterhin eine gute Zeit.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Reinhold Weiland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

only stayed here for two nights,but was very pleased,the bar was shut when we arrived but it was very late which was fair enough, the owner was very pleasant and helpfull and went out of her way to make sure everyone was ok . Breakfast next morning was very good plenty of food and tea and coffee served at your table . We stayed again for one night on way back to uk , this time we arrived much earlier and booked dinnner which was lovely no complaints what so ever from anyone . The hotel itself is excellent it has been refurbished and a good job has been done our room was very very good on both occasions ,the bar is very modern and trendy and clean, the dining room too was excellent and spotless and the waitresses were pleasant and efficient.I couldnt pick any bones with this hotel they deserve to do well ,and some of the new rooms are awsome with fab views , GOOD CHOICE HARRY SHAW !

Room Tip: ask for a room at back of hotel or a quiet room if your a light sleeper ,we found the hotel very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold W, Geschäftsführer at Weiland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank das Sie sich die Mühe gemacht unser Haus zu bewerten.
Wir freuen uns dass Sie sonst mit unseren Leistungen zufrieden waren.
Besuchen Sie uns bald mal wieder, bis dahin wünschen wir Ihnen weiterhin eine gute Zeit.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Reinhold Weiland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed overnight en route to Prague, and on return. The first room was very tiny. The second room was of acceptable size. Hotel has been refurbished and public areas are very smart. Food was good. Location great, on the banks of the Rhine.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobSilvers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold W, Geschäftsführer at Weiland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank das Sie sich die Mühe gemacht unser Haus zu bewerten.
Wir freuen uns dass Sie sonst mit unseren Leistungen zufrieden waren.
Besuchen Sie uns bald mal wieder, bis dahin wünschen wir Ihnen weiterhin eine gute Zeit.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Reinhold Weiland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahnstein
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weisses Ross
Hotel Weisses Ross
#5 of 6 in Lahnstein
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Roter Ochse
Hotel Roter Ochse
#1 of 1 in Rhens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Garni Altes Haus
#4 of 6 in Lahnstein
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
4.0 mi away
Diehls Hotel
Diehls Hotel
#8 of 32 in Koblenz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weiland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weiland Hotel

Property: Weiland Hotel
Address: Buergerm.-Mueller-Str. 3-7, 56112 Lahnstein, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Lahnstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahnstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling at home, is a feeling you should not have to miss out on on trips - while enjoying the luxury of being spoiled ripe! In our HOTEL WEILAND, a family-run traditional hotel since 1851, you will find this comfortable atmosphere. The hotel is situated on the beautiful Rhine in the UNESCO World Heritage Site. It offers the best views of the beautiful Rhine valley, the white fleet on the river as well as the four castles from our exposed situation. Modern furnished single and double rooms in five equipment variants, a restaurant, a coffee bar, a rustic wine cellar and conference and multipurpose rooms are available for our guests. From our rooms, some with balconies or roof terraces, you can enjoy one of the best views of the romantic Middle Rhine Valley and Lahnstein with its historic buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Weiland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weiland Hotel Lahnstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing