We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schinderhannes
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sohren
Airdrie, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm welcome as always”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have been here several times in recent years and always get a warm welcome from both the staff and owners alike. Food is great and rooms are perfectly comfortable. Great new showers etc. Great place to stay and enjoy the region. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobdalzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
11
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I spent one night in this hotel, where I have stayed quite often 12-13 years ago. It felt like going back in time, nothing has changed. Where this would have been a reasonable value/ price for what you would get, nowadays it needs improvement. The bed was bad, shower wasn't working properly, tiles broken and far from clean. The only positive was the meal I had in the restaurant. A reasonable meal for the price.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Curious how it would be after all those years, it felt disappointing on my last visit. My last visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70tons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kreimbach-Kaulbach
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I can't say enough good things about the restaurant that they have. It is very American friendly and just a short distance to the Hahn airport. It has a great reputation with American military spouses as the place to eat while shopping in Sohren. You can't go wrong with their gourmet salad, which changes seasonally. The staff is outstanding and friendly as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We chose Hotel Schinderhannes as it was only a 10 minute drive to Hahn Airport.

We were arriving late and leaving early so we just chose somewhere cheap and we weren't expecting much. But we were pleasantly surprised that there was a lovely pub attached to the hotel and it was a great place to have a few last German beers and reminisce about our fabulous trip.

Friendly staff, plenty of parking, wifi, great breakfast and clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmesAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Sohren, the village, is not exactly a tourist mecca. Wife and I visited over Easter weekend, April 2012, with the intention of spending a few nights in Zell (Mosel). Zell was covered in tourists and parking there is EXTREMELY difficult to almost impossible. We opted for Schinderhannes being nearby and familiar with it (having lived in Sohren in the late 1970s). Schinderhannes and the staff/food/service were predictably superb. The room in the "new" building was of comfortable size and impeccably clean. The beds were very good (beds across Europe can be 'iffy.') The price for food and room were competitive. Parking was ample and free. I suggest you ask for a room 'away from the street.'

Room Tip: The two-lane street nearby can be quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col_Tomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My son and I spent 3 days at the Schinderhannes. It was a visit to the town where he was born 37 years ago. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was great. We had excellent internet service the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

On a 2-week European business trip, we had one day with no meetings. It was therefore critical that we spend all day working with an internet connection to arrange bookings, catch up on email etc. This hotel promised internet, but the wifi did not work. They refused to accept that it was their connection failing and tried to blame our devices. When we pointed out we had three separate devices failing to connect to the internet, all of which had worked fine in many other locations, all they could so was say "it worked yesterday" and try to imply blame on us. When invited to take our devices and show us how to log in they would not even try. Very poor customer service, no trouble shooting skill and basis lack of intelligence when dealing with these problems.
However they did let us use the hotel reception customer. Probably they had the mentality that this would solve the problem as if we just wanted to quickly check our email when actually we needed to work all day and had specifically chosen this place because they allowed refreshingly late check out and had wifi. I spent a long time on the reception computer before they finally asked us to move to another computer which did not work either and they would not/could not fix. Possibly the fact that I spent a long time on the reception computer, rather than did a quick useage, might have explained why they were so rude to us and eventually just made short replies such as they had no time to help before walking off.
For me, this hotel was a total failure although we eventually found internet in a cafe in town.
Positive points: near to Frankfurt Hahn airport, easy free parking, nice (perhaps a bit overpriced) restaurant, good rooms, nice vibe in the rooms and outdoor court. I expect many people had better experiences and I think they had just transitioned to a new internet system.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sohren
1.9 mi away
Airport Hotel Fortuna
Airport Hotel Fortuna
#1 of 5 in Lautzenhausen
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Viktoria
Hotel Garni Viktoria
#3 of 5 in Sohren
46 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Frankfurt-Hahn Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Landhotel Airport-Inn
Landhotel Airport-Inn
#3 of 5 in Lautzenhausen
36 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Zur Morschbach
Hotel Zur Morschbach
#1 of 1 in Altlay
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Pizzeria VENEZIA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schinderhannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schinderhannes

Property: Hotel Schinderhannes
Address: Schlossstrasse 3, 55487 Sohren, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sohren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sohren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schinderhannes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schinderhannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schinderhannes Hotel Sohren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing